We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Calgary on Friday night to attend his company Christmas party. Parking options are limited, with the Hyatt having a heated, underground lot for $25 or $35 for valet, a small outdoor lot across the street or at the convention centre down the street. If you aren't there early it's tough to find parking at this busy time of year. We have stayed here several times but this time found the Hyatt atmosphere & staff to be one notch above. The front desk staff very friendly, professional and in the lobby there were alot of staff visible, offering to assist you with parking, your bags or directions.

Our view was nice from the 8th floor but I did find the noise from the lrt train station noisy this time. If you are a light sleeper I would request a room higher up so you are further from the street noise. Our room was spotless, with a comfortable bed, flat screen television (no HD though), coffee maker and ice bucket (ice machine is by the elevators). There is an in room safe, wifi and mini bar. The bathroom was spacious, with granite counter, blow dryer & soft towels but I wish they had a make up mirror. The party itself was very well put together & the staff didn't seem to have a problem looking after 1500 guests.

Saturday morning we enjoyed buffet breakfast at Thomsons, which was delicious. One of the things we like the most about the Hyatt Regency Calgary is the decorating and artwork, especially at this time of year. We recommend you enjoy the atmosphere & spend some time in the beautiful sitting area on main level (past the check in area), with comfy couches , chairs. We also enjoyed the Sandstone Lounge with great service, snacks & atmosphere. The hotel is in a great location on Stephen Avenue, close to tourist attractions, shopping & dining. Highly recommend and we will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Request a room high up to avoid street noise if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbertaChristiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We were exhausted after a long flight and found the room very comfy. We were very impressed as they gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and gave us use of the lounge to help ourselves to drinks and snacks. Room service was good also. Friendly staff. Clean room. Comfy bed. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I spent last two days of Calgary visit at Hyatt. Unfortunately my morning itself wasnt that good when I couldn't turn off the shower. A call to housekeeping was enough to get the thing fixed. Room was good, window view was beautiful towards the river and Church. Internet was included in package. Housekeeping and reception staff were quite helpful and friendly. Couldn't visit the Spa, called to be one of the best in town. A short but calm stay I had... Again, cant speak about rent, as it was a business deal. Good was the placement of a Locker in the room. Also, the Hotel is located on the next corner to Calgary tower and near the Stephen Ave.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unplanned_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our first stay in downtown Calgary - and we were totally impressed! The Hyatt is within walking distance of great shopping and fab eateries. The Catch serves the best in seafood and is attached to the hotel - and don't miss the brunch downstairs either - reservations recommended. The room and staff? Top notch - from the moment we drove up we were welcomed like family. The room was super clean and quiet which are in the top 3 on our checklist. Booking on line and prepaid is a great deal for this property.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havanna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Calgary to celebrate a 'special birthday' I was having. We reserved the AAA Breakfast rate and arrived Friday afternoon. The more than pleasant receptionist quickly and efficiently checked us in. She said there would be something extra in our room for my B'day. We had a corner room, and thought that was it.

After going out to look around downtown Calgary and have our traditional Friday afternoon drinks, we returned to our room. There was a bottle of wine, two wine glasses and an opener, chocolate covered cookies wrapped in a bow, and a bottle of local honey with a little wooden honey server. WOW! What a 'classy' extra touch for my birthday!

As their in-room TV ad says "...you'll understand the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt".
Everything about the Calgary Hyatt is 1st class, from check-in, (and self check-out using the bar code they email us while there), to the friendly helpful staff, all the amenities of the hotel itself including the bars, restaurant, pool gym and spa areas, the wonderful paintings throughout (especially around the convention / ball room area) to the rooms themselves...very nicely appointed (and well kept) throughout. And the 'special rates' at this time of year are an added incentive to stay at the hotel.

Breakfast in Thomsons Restaurant the next morning was absolutely 2nd to none.

Well done Calgary Hyatt!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed with them for 4 days, and it was definitely one of my top hotel of choice! The people there are friendly, had no problems telling us what to do, very knowledgeable. Really understanding when we explain to them we needed late check out with no issues at all. Cleaned our rooms everyday and had excellent turndown service as well for the rooms. The rooms are nice and spacious with great view of the city. It is located in a very convenient location for people who like to shop or sightseeing. The restaurant's steak were amazing too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mzjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Located right in the center of the city. Walking distances to great restaurants, shops and tourist attractions. I was there with my 2 children and they were totally enjoyed their stay. They were specially excited about the Calgary Tower which is just steps away.
Front desk staff were friendly and professional. The concierge was so informative when I asked them question and always answer with a smile.
This hotel is very up to date. Lobby, ballrooms, swimming pool, fitness center.......
Room was very spacious. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Room service was excellent too.
The Thomson Restaurant was great, food was delicious. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely going back again.
Wifi with a fee, parking $25 self park and $35 valet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 km away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
2,292 reviews
0.0 km away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.8 km away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
888 reviews
0.4 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.6 km away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $188 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing