We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in downtown Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and cannot complain. The location is fantastic, great restaurants nearby. The room was quite comfortable. Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient. No problems at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I recently spent six nights at the Hyatt Hotel in Calgary.

The hotel is in an excellent location with good front desk and bell service.

They do not have much for a mini bar selection and the gift shop is never open so snacks are hard to come by at any time of the day. They do not have a coffee shop in the hotel so you do need to go out to get coffee.

One annoyance for me as a business traveller is the charge for wi-fi. $14.00/day is a bit steep when you can get free wi fi at every coffee shop in the city!

The last time I was in town on business I stayed at the Mariott and would have to say, that would be my preference.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The location is excellent and the rooms are comfortable, very! The staff were very kind and helpful. So what was lacking?...................somehow the hotel lacked warmth and charm. I would book there again, but perhaps after checking availability of one very close by, first..

Room Tip: Even though our room was very near the elevators, we truly never heard them. Do not hesitate if you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidmarian099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

from the moment I was greeted by the valet to the minute he brought my car up was great. The checkin gal greeted me warmly and offered an upgrade. The room was spacious, excellently appointed and a wonderful view of the city from the 21st floor. Room service was prompt with friendly staff. Short walk to many restaurants on 8th avenue and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was checked in this hotel four nights for the World Junior Hockey Tournament and stayed in a single King bed room. The room is quite large with all the comforts one would need, large ensuite, built in safes, flat large screen TV's. Coffee/tea maker in the room. paper delivered daily.
The room was well maintained and the housekeeping is friendly and rooms are kept clean.
The spa and fitness, pool, steam, sauna on the 18th are very nice and clean. I like to use these daily so was important to have this available, and well maintained. The Stephen Ave mall is just outside the door, so be sure and walk this no vehicle area for shops and restaurants. The inhouse restaurant is expensive as is the bar. I found the beds comfortable, for my back, and the only annoyance is their are no robes in the room, as well as they nickle and dime you for internet, local call fees. I just used my 3g Ipad and saved their outlandish charges. The lobby is very basic and non descript, something that surprises me for a Hyatt. Be open spaces with no appeal, and very few seats in the vicinity. The bell hop and concierge very good and helpful. The parking is atrocious, at $25.00 a night come and go as you like, but for Calgary I guess this rate is the norm. Location is the key, as it is in the heart of downtown and easy enough to walk anywhere including our daily back and forth walk to the Saddledome. Approx. 20 minutes

Room Tip: limited viewing from my room 703
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I just returned from Calgary after a week stay in Banff and two night stay at the Hyatt Regency. I was very happy to find such an excellent hotel right off the area I wanted to tour. I recommend not renting a car while you are in the city, it was 25.00 per night to park, same as any big city but the public transportation is so good a car is not necessary. The hotel is right in the heart of small cafes, shopping (Stevens Ave) and most other activites can be reached by public transport. The room was large, good bed, light on the towels (only two in bathroom), large windows with great veiw overlooking the city and two outstanding restaurants downstairs. The gym and pool are nice on the 18th floor, nice access in lobby for printing airline boarding pass. It has a feeling of an older hotel but well maintained. They offer a wonderful senior rate on the internet. The check in was prompt and the staff very efficient. Carlos was my waiter in Thompsons Restaurant and he was good helping me select the right items on the menu for a lighter meal. I would choose this hotel whenever staying downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I booked a room just prior to Christmas to do a shopping trip with my wife and children ages 5 and 7. Having done this via an online discount hotel provider the rate I got was exceptional...less then $100/night.
The Hyatt is located on the train line in the free-fare zone so we could take the kids all over downtown without burning them out.
While the Steam Room was out of order the pool is just the right size for early swimmers and a pleasent tempurature, and the chang rooms were clean and adequate for our needs.
Having booked this room thru an online discounter I did not expect much, however it was the same room I have paid well over $100 for at this hotel. The only difference was the view - of which he had none...overlooking the neighbouring roof.
I have stayed in most of the big hotels in downtown Calgary, and am always pleased with the Hyatt.
Just a note for those traveling with kids. Milestones in the Marriott (right across Stephen Avenue) was a great surprise...the food was okay to good, and they were very accomodating to the children.

Room Tip: Call ahead and make a request to with the front desk...they will accomodate you if they can
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 km away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,285 reviews
0.0 km away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.8 km away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
886 reviews
0.4 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.6 km away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $195 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing