We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good except parking...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel was our base camp for enjoying the Calgary comic expo which was only a quick 10 minute walk to the BMO Center. The accommodations were clean and well appointed and the bed were comfortable. The washrooms were your standard hotel washrooms with nothing really fancy.

Now the one thing I absolutely hated was the horrendous parking fees. and the fact they kept pushing the valet because they kept saying the self park was full yet, people were still going in and finding spots.

All in all, some advice would be to try the self park yourself and if that doesn't work out, find some alternate parking somewhere else.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better as the Ctrain is quite close to the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EtownTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

I slept at this hotel last week, prior to July 1st week-end.
I had a hotwire rate. As always, I was suspicious. The reason being that I'm always given problematic rooms when i use hotwire for booking. At first, the room looked ok. I did not think that this useless door in the middle would cause much problems. It is in fact a cardboard door leading to next doors conversation. That night, nextdoor was a group of foreign tourists, slamming doors, shouting, drinking. I called security at 23:30, and again at around 2:00. The noise stopped at around 3. The person at the switchboard told me that the people were being evicted. They were not. And they started their noise again at 7:00. I slept about 4 hours that night. Even with a hotwire rate, its a lot to pay for such a short and bad sleep.
There needs to be stricter rules about noise at that hotel, and maybe the staff should be less thinking about calling me by my last name every 2 seconds and being so polite. I don't care about polite, i go to a hotel to sleep. This hotel, never again. And therefore, hotwire rates for Calgary, never again. I am sure there are a lot of 3 stars out there much better runned and much quieter.

Room Tip: If assigned a room with a connecting room, ask to be changed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Jeeceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Loved staying at the Hyatt. My first time staying there in Calgary, and it has been updated and renovated recently. Upgraded us to a King sized bed (complementary), which was much appreciated. The hotel lobby is beautiful, with an upside-down canoe in the ceiling. Tip: for Sunday brunch lovers, I had one of the best brunches of my life at Thompson's, located on the main floor of the hotel. It is *definitely* worth the $30/person as a special treat -- and we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. Love the Hyatt -- we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear WesternTravelGal,

Thank you for leaving the fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recent lobby renovations, as well as the brunch in Thomsons. I will pass along your feedback to our employees as they truly enjoy hearing such great stories.

Thanks again and come back soon!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here with our young kids and elderly parents before heading off to Banff. The hotel is clean,comfortable beds,etc as expected at a Hyatt. Located conveniently near a lot of restaurants. Very kid friendly-kid check-in and appreciate Hyatt policy of connecting room for your kids at a reduced rate. Customer service at this hotel really sets it apart. We asked someone in the lobby where we could find some yogurt for our child to take medicine with and a few minutes later he reappeared with several individual yogurt cartons for us to choose from and refused to take any money for it. Really impressed by the staff and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Spent one night here after long-haul flight, before going off to the rockies. Lovely staff. Warm welcome. Given free upgrade. Room clean, big with comfy bed. Free internet and in-room coffee, unlike some of the posher hotels! Underground car park, but we were so exhausted we took advantage of the valet parking. Decor a little tired, but still smart. Overall very good. They have 'tripadvisor' logo key cards, but the design is poor - very indistinct arrows, so it is difficult to know which way to insert the card (especially when you're jet-lagged!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our Girls Weekend for shopping to Calgary and the Hyatt was outstanding. Although they were doing renos before the Stampede Rush, they were still attentive, competent, happy and friendly. We had a condensation issue in the washroom that dripped water while I was blow-drying my hair, but engineering checked it all out and made sure we were fine to stay in the room. Even a late night call to mention we found broken glass in the hallway when we came back after a night of fun was taken care of with ease and no noise...so stealth! Everything is close to this hotel, inlcuding going for a nice 5K walk! Room was clean, staff was so courteous. Service in the restaurant was so-so. We had a great time, Thank-you!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong, for 3 adults we had a king size room with a rollaway bed, ever...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luna8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Spent 5 days with the granddaughters in Calgary for the World Jr. Hockey. The hotel is downtown, a couple of blocks from Calgary Tower. Handy to anything downtown. Had a great breakfast buffet each morning and the serving staff treated the girls like little princesses. They were very impressed. We only ate our breakfasts at the hotel so can't comment on the rest of the menu. Lots of restaurants and coffee shops in the vicinity at all price points to choose from. While primarily a business hotel, they knew how to spoil kids too. (LOL) No problem recommending this hotel to friends or family;

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winter_TexanMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 km away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,289 reviews
0.0 km away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.8 km away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
887 reviews
0.4 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.6 km away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $189 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing