We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Great Calgary Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still a Great Calgary Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Thought it worth recording that this is still a great place to stay in Calgary (first reviewed last year).

Good friendly service and comfortable, spacious, rooms. I still enjoy the buffet breakfast and meals in the bar. Lots of character and a great location.

But sadly the price has gone up (now over $300 a night!) so still can't give 5 stars as this isn't fair value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBaggieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Sales and Marketing at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post another review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our buffet breakfast in the Rimrock Restaurant and meal service in the Oak Room Lounge. We are also delighted to hear that you found our guest rooms to be comfortable and spacious. We truly value your feedback and thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

David Woodward
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    606
    229
    97
    53
See reviews for
321
792
112
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The staff at this hotel make you feel as though you have come home after a long absence. The rooms were immaculate and the food superb! What a treat. Highly recommend this property if you are in Calgary. They took care of every detail and assisted us with every need. Awesome experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxlife2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are honoured that our colleagues make you feel like you are home. We are also delighted to hear that you found our rooms to be immaculate and the food superb! We sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to welcoming you home again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few days whilst in Calgary on business. Excellent service, beautiful hotel. Would highly recommend it. Right in the centre of town, near everything. One tip. If you want free wifi, sign up to the presidents club. It's free to join and hey free wifi. I only found that out after I have paid $13 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, which has obviously been done up recently. My colleagues were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Fairmont President’s Club Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you found the service at The Fairmont Palliser to be excellent and that you would highly recommend our hotel. We are delighted to welcome you as a new member of our Fairmont President’s Club and are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of the many initial benefits.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to Calgary and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Jaryd Manastyrski
Fairmont President’s Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

whatit's hat can I say, we love this Fairmont and the gold level is upper great. it s the place o be!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Fairmont President’s Club Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for posting such kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Gold very soon!

Kind Regards,

Jaryd Manastyrski
Fairmont President’s Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have been very fortunate to be able to stay at a number of Fairmont properties and we are never disappointed. Our last stay here was over 5 years ago and we were pleased that the rooms had been tastefully upgraded. Service was top-notch, room service food was great. Cleaner than clean. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meggsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to complete such a wonderful, candid review! We are very happy to learn that you have had the opportunity to take pleasure in a number of Fairmont properties and that you have never been disappointed. We are also delighted that you were so impressed by The Fairmont Palliser's newly renovated guest rooms and our colleague’s signature guest service. Thank you again for your gift of feedback. We look forward to your family’s next visit!

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Absolutely love this historic magnificent hotel in Calgary - I live here but wanted to spend a special New Year's in the City core - no question the The Fairmont Palliser - as a great Canadian hotel and historical landmark, as well as a divine experience. Totally in the middle of everything downtown, parking, shopping walking sites, culture all at the doorstep -- as a local and a tourist its a great spot when wanting to be in an exceptional place in Calgary.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VistadeckTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Weekends are a great time to stay at the Fairmont Palliser in Calgary. It is fairly quiet on the weekends and the rates are usually better than anything around it.

Unfortunately this time our housekeeping staff left quite a lot to be desired. I would definitely call the front desk immediately next time rather than waiting until check out to let them know what was happening.

Don't stay nex to the ice machines on the weekends if you want any sleep!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay and that you had the opportunity to visit Calgary with your friends. Again, we appreciate you bringing your guest room concerns to our attention and sincerely value your feedback. As a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser very soon.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Paré, MBA
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels and Priceline so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont
The Fairmont Palliser Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing