We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend time with friends”
Review of Escape Capers YYC

Escape Capers YYC
Ranked #6 of 94 Fun & Games in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You and your friends are trapped in a mysterious room... You'll need to find clues and codes, solve puzzles, and work together to escape! Escape Capers YYC is Calgary's most immersive escape room experience! We're doing a whole bunch of things to stand out from the crowd, including offering Calgary's only hosted escape rooms. Visit our website to learn why we're the best escape rooms in town and to book your first adventure. Escape Capers is suitable for those aged 12 and up, and offers both public bookings and private team-building events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 March 2017

As someone who had no previous experience with escape rooms and is in general pretty bad with puzzles, I had a wonderful time here, and highly recommend it as the room is decorated amazingly and the puzzles are well thought out! the ladies at reception were extremely friendly and helped us get excited for the room, and the host for the room was very good as well ! He acted the part and kept in character the whole time and struck a great balance in letting us struggle and guiding us along the right path! When the room was over, the host was also very friendly and funny ! Definitely will be returning to try other rooms !

Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Escape Capers YYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

Great experience. There were lots of puzzles that were challenging but doable. Eric, the owner, is very friendly and responsive. We had so much fun and would definitely return.

Thank Milo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeCapers, Owner at Escape Capers YYC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hi Milo,

Thanks for the feedback. We do strive to make our rooms both filled with puzzles to solve and "challenging but doable" as you mentioned (or "hard but fair" as other guests have commented). We look forward to having you down again sometime soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We took our parents as first timers to Escape Capers with hopes that it would be a little easier for us since there is a hostess right in the room with us. I was promised that she would pay close attention and not let us fall too far behind. The room set up and props were really great, but the room was so hard. THe hostess just sat and pretended to read a book the whole time and didn't seem to be paying too much attention to us at all. We didn't seem to try very hard to keep us on the right track at all. We didn't even come close to making to the end and came away feeling kind of stressed from the experience.

Thank TheLittleUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeCapers, Owner at Escape Capers YYC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hello TheLittleUnicorn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and give us this feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that your group only had a so-so experience on your first visit to Escape Capers, and I would certainly love to hear from you personally to find out which day and time you visited so I can check with the host to see if any additional training is needed.

Of course, not being in the room with your group, it's hard to say any of this with certainty, but it sounds like your host was playing her character properly, as in Dick Dickerson: Private Eye we like to have her character "reading" a book in the corner both to stay out of the way of your group and so that you don't ever feel like you are being watched. Her role is to be as unobtrusive as possible, pretending to not pay attention at all, but still indeed being aware of how your are doing so that she can jump in and give your group a small nudge here and there as needed. Or so that she can answer any questions you have in case your group feels like they need a nudge any sooner. It sounds like you would have liked a little more help than was offered, and either you did not realize you could also ask her for assistance, or if you did, that the assistance provided was too vague for your group.

Our games are indeed challenging but the feedback is that they are also fair, and that the puzzles make sense once you've solved them (players really appreciate this, especially after going to an escape room where they don't make sense). I will say that we do train our staff to always give groups a legitimate chance to solve the puzzles on their own, and if they do need help, to always give the smallest nudge possible, as one of the funnest moments in an escape room is getting that "AHA" moment when you've figured it out. So our hosts will tend to err on the side of caution, and hold back from offering advice until it is clear the group is stuck or getting behind. And when they do offer a nudge, it's never telling you exactly what to do, but still hinting at it, so you can figure it out on your own. We will of course, hint more clearly in time if your group did not figure out the first, vaguer hint.

I'm surprised and sorry to hear that you felt like you weren't even close to making it to the end of the game. Though in Dick Dickerson: Private Eye only about 25% of groups will escape, we do strive to give every group at least a chance at it, by helping them to reach the 70-75% mark of the game with enough time left so that they can work on the final puzzles, if not ultimately solve them. Again, this is where I would really appreciate hearing from you personally, to find out if you were indeed further behind than usual, or if it just seemed that way because you didn't get to the very last puzzle. (Occasionally we've had customers comment that there was still so much to do because they had 2-4 steps remaining, though really these steps could be completed in 10 minutes or less if you were just to get the right "AHA" in time.)

In any case, we do strive to provide a five star evening out, regardless of your team's ability or experience, so if you see this reply, do get in touch with us. We're definitely not the place to go for teams who want the simplest of puzzles or for players who need to escape every single time, but we are the place to go for teams who want a top notch escape room event. 99% of the time. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We did the dinner party room today with a group of 5 people, and were matched with another group of 3. We decided on this room as it had a success rate of 35% which is fairly high, and we had a few people who had never done a locked room before.

There are a few differences with Escape Capers vs other locked rooms in Calgary - the biggest draw is that the puzzles don't have to be completed in order, so if we got stuck on one, we didn't get bottle-necked and were able to move on to something else. It also allowed us to spread out in the room and work on multiple puzzles at once, so nobody was left out at any point.

Escape Capers' rooms are also hosted rooms. We had two actors in the room with us, in character, that we could speak to to gain more information, or to give us hints, without having to knock on the door or talk through a speaker. This kept us more immersed in the story. Truthfully, the hosts spent the majority of the time standing against the wall to stay out of our way, but it was nice to have them there.

Overall, I would definitely try Escape Capers again, and for those that are interested, we did escape the room, with a time of 45min. :)

Thank Kukua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeCapers, Owner at Escape Capers YYC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Congrats Kukua on your escape and top 10 escape time in Maxim's Dinner Party! When we built our rooms we really wanted to make sure that there were sufficient tasks to keep a full group of 8 entertained, and it sounds like you appreciated the non-linear aspect of the room. Well done again on solving the mystery! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We did Maxim's Dinner Party room as a team building exercise. This was a great day for our whole team. Eric was fantastic; started us out with a game called Anomia; really great game. Then off to the room; was the first time for 8 of the 10 in our group. All team members said they would be booking and doing a room again.

Thank Doc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeCapers, Owner at Escape Capers YYC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Doc S,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit including the warm up game we played with your group beforehand. Next time you book, show up 5-10 minutes early and we'll show you another one of our favourites. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Capers YYC also viewed

 

Been to Escape Capers YYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing