We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for the night back in November It was very nice, has a good breakfast and good customer service. The pool does need Work, but when I emailed the manager he told me they were planning rents right away. This is a very good value hotel, close to the mall and easy drive to the recall centre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your kind thoughts on your recent stay at the Wingate in Edmonton. We certainly pride ourself in the service delivery you mention as well receive many positive comments on our complimentary hot breakfast. In respect to the Pool and Spa reno's, they are complete which brings our waterpark standards to be amongst the best in West Edmonton. Again, sincere thanks for sharing your positive experience at the Wingate Inn West Edmonton.

Jim Wirun CHA
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I (and extended family in another room) stayed at the Wingate by Wynham for one night this first week in January. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive to West Edmonton Mall.The hotel was exceptionally clean, the front desk staff were polite, helpful and friendly! The rate came with free HOT breakfast, free wifi, free parking, pool and hottub. Our room had a microwave and small fridge. I had trouble with the wifi and printing my document, and the desk clerk helped me right away. It really was a great stay despite the fact we in Edmonton for a family funeral. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone any time. Thank you, Leslie

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review on the Wingate Inn West Edmonton. We pride ourselves in the hotel cleanlinss as well as in the courteous and helpfulness of our associates as you mentioned. We know there is choice in accommodation and pleased that you chose us. Again, thank you and we look forward to host you perhaps under better circumstances on your next visit to Edmonton.

Jim Wirun CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Pool was ice cold...A/C was on in Pool area...Hot tub was smoking hot. We have 2 small kids so the pool was very important. Staff was decent and breakfast was great but the Native American theme was evident in the paintings and guests...Prepare to sleep on a rock hard bed as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

We appreciate your comments and be asssured that action is taken in all areas of concern that may be noted. Our goal is not to meet but rather exceed all guest expectations and in your instance we failed to do so. In respect to the pool and indoor waterpark air temperature, we have corrected the problem and have since enjoyed many positive comments.

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your complimetary hot breakfast. This is a standard that appears to be liked by virtually all of our guests.

Regards,

Jim Wirun CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I hosted a 3-day workshop at the Wingate and also stayed at the hotel. The meeting facility was very comfortable, bright, well serviced and the staff in that department could not do enough to help .. at least 5 different staff stopped in to check that we had everything we needed and the temperature was comfortable. Among the best I've encountered in over 25 years of doing this.

As for the guest accommodations, they are very spacious and clean. My room had a small fridge, microwave, and single serve coffee maker, which were all very handy. The bathroom is a little smallish, but spotless and a great shower, and has Neutrogena products.

The breakfast has a lot of variety including hot and cold foods, fresh fruit and lots of coffee, tea, juices, yoghurt. The staff kept it well stocked, even on the first day when I arrived at 9:30. They do not close the room itself during the day, and it seemed that a number of people used it for small one on one meetings which would be pretty convenient.

The restaurant is not part of the hotel, but about 50 yards from the main entrance..the Homefire Bar & Grill. Food is really good and has Aboriginal dishes such as bison and bannock in addition to a good variety of Canadian foods and a pretty good wine list. The hotel gives you a coupon for a complimentary appetizer.

The only drawback was that I did not have a vehicle and it is a bit of a walk to places like the West Ed. Mall, etc. which wouldn't be bad in the summer but not so nice in the colder months.

We will definitely use this facility again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Thank you Miramichi !! It is our goal to exceed customer expectations and it appears that we did just that! Your comments in reference to the Homefire Grill are much appreciated - sometimes overlooked as a seperate building to the hotel - we consider to be one of the best restaurants in the area. We know you have choice in selecting your accommodations and are pleased you chose us!! Best wishes for a happy holiday season!

Jim Wirun CHA
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were here in July 2011 when we got a call to return home as a disaster had happened in our community. Packed up 4 small children and returned home the very night we got there. The hotel management sent us coupons for free nights for the ones we didnt use. The rooms were large enough for 4 adults and 4 children. The fridge /microwave in each room is an asset. The staff at the front desk are honestly some of the BEST I have ever come across. They really treated us with smiles/respect and seemed genuine happy that we were there.When we asked for anything they all went out of their way to get what we needed. (Traveling with 4 small children means we usually forget stuff)
The breakfast was a huge hit with 8 people all wanting something a little different than the next one. The dining area was spotless.... the food was hot and replenished as needed. They had a very nice selection of breakfast items to suit any appetite. The dining room was also cleaned quickly when people were finished to accommodate the new ones coming in. Close to the WEM with a lot of places to eat close by. Very Family Friendly!!! Thanks to the staff and management for a great hotel stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Comments such as your makes our daily efforts to be number 1 in West Edmonton that much more satisfying!! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Best Regards,

Jim Wirun GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel was very average. Some of the staff are really nice, but other look like they hate their job and would not even give you a smile.
The room was spacious, mostly clean (I was not too impressed with my bed sheets), the bathroom is basic but I like all the Neutrogena products they had.
The breakfast is good if you go early (around 7 a.m.) because if you go later you might not find as much food and besides by then people would have made a mess of things.
This hotel is very family friendly, which is not necessarily a good thing if you are single and traveling alone and like to enjoy some quiet time. Even at 10 p.m. there were kids running up and down the hallway.
If you are staying here, you could try the restaurant right in the parking lot, called the Firehouse, the food was very delicious and the prices are reasonable. Also, this hotel is about a half hour walk from West Edmonton Mall (WEM) or about 5 mins by car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Jim Wirun GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This Wingatte Hotel has services that are second to none. Location and the rooms were great. Will be staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Looking forward to your return!! Agreed... great location, our guests really love the oversized rooms as you mention. See you soon!

Jim Wirun GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 91 in Edmonton
282 reviews
Ramada Edmonton West
#58 of 91 in Edmonton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 91 in Edmonton
755 reviews
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Address: 18220 100 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#23 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $126 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Wingate Inn Edmonton West offers 105 guestrooms and suites. Renovated in 2010, guest amenities include an indoor waterpark featuring a pool, hot tub, waterslide, mushroom and fitness centre. For the business traveller we have a 24/7 business centre, free wireless internet, large writing desk in all rooms, and catered meeting rooms. All guests receive free parking, in-room safe, microwave and fridge, as well as a FREE deluxe hot breakfast for each night of their stay. Relax, it's included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing