We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
133
192
127
86
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
192
127
86
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concierge floor la ronde revolving restaurant city view river valley downtown location renovated room continental breakfast bit dated decent hotel yogurt lounge laronde valet canada rogers convention
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 594 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

I like others am not a fan of negative press through social media but feel strongly about informing future guests of what to expect here at the Chateau Lacombe.

I booked the room directly with their reservation desk over the phone and booked into the Executive rooms. Upon arrival the young man who spoke very fast and not very clearly quickly gave me my room key and floor information and nothing else. I asked about the access to the executive lounge and he apologized for not including this on my room key and did not see if in his end. When I walked into my 13th floor room I was so very disappointed as I did not get what I had paid for. When I returned to the front desk the same young man proceeded to say I was incorrect and did not reserve an executive room but my email confirmation clearly stated so. Not a great start to a working weekend. The young manager was quick to make things right. Thank you.

The street noise is extremely loud not sure if there are motor cycle races occurring nightly on this street each not but that what it sounds like.

I agree the staffing is not trained nor are they very helpful. Each time I ask a question about dining at the hotel I feel as though I am disrupting them. Sorry just never visited your beautiful city before and have no idea where to go. Patience and kindness goes a long way to making a guest feel at home.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkeJ31, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Tammy U,
Thabnk you for your comments following your recent stay at our Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the missteps which occurred. At the same time, rest assured your observations will be used in our Manager and Departmental meetings to address the shortcomings in our service levels. I do hope you will give us an opportunity to show you we did take your concerns seriously. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We stayed for 5 nights this past week for our wedding. The first night we stayed in a regular king room, it was very spacious and clean.

The next four nights we stayed in one of the executive suites, it was gorgeous and very spacious, it was great to have the room for friends and family who were visiting from out of town. Having the cocktail hour and continental breakfast are great features. The hotel also brought us a dessert and sparkling wine to celebrate our wedding. The only thing that could be improved upon was having a king sized bed in the bedroom of the suite.

I highly recommend the Chateau Lacombe fro a stay and as a wedding hotel location. Looking forward to staying again.

Room tip: Concierge floors offer a free cocktail hour and Continental breakfast
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JillS205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkeJ31, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hello Jill S and thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to read that we contributed to a wonderful wedding experience and look forward to your return visit. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We have been going to Chateau Lacombe brunch for the past 25 years

Always a treat to eat while enjoying Edmonton’s river valley
The food is always outstanding and the service is second to none

It’s takes about an hour to complete the full circle in the revolving reastraunt

Always leave very satisfied and relaxed

I would recommend this to anyone that wants a taste of the best kept secret

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sidsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkeJ31, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear sidsally,
Please accept our Thank You for your most kind words following your Brunch in La Ronde Restaurant recently. It is very pleasing to read that even after being around for 25+ years, the people of Edmonton still appreciate the restaurant and come dine with us on a regular basis. We look forward to your future visits! Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Stayed 3 nights recently on a trip with my family (3 kids).

Check in was fairly straight forward and overall, any dealings with front desk, servers at breakfast, etc was generally very acceptable and friendly.

Stayed on the 11th floor, which I am going to assume has NOT be renovated, as the room is quite dated (bathroom especially). The cot that was provided for the 3rd child might have been the worst cot from a hotel I have seen in awhile, just a bunch of big springs covered by a flimsy piece of material, not recommended. If you are sleeping 2 adults in one of the beds, you will be stuck to each other in the middle of the bed because of the amount of sag in the mattress, after 3 nights sleeping here you may want to book a massage back home :) The TV was fairly small, and the picture would come in and out, was quite fuzzy at times. The bathroom was dirty when we arrived and although we requested it be cleaned, there was no change after leaving for the day and returning later in the evening, unacceptable to find hair on the floor from previous guests.

I understand there is a "concierge" floor at this hotel, which is for adults only and perhaps this is where the priority of this property is being given, but our room certain could have used some TLC and should be fairly high on the list for those eligible to be renovated as soon as possible. I would advise anyone staying at this location to ask the reservation team whether you room has been renovated or not.

While staying, we ate breakfast multiple times in the Bellamy Cafe. The offerings rotated slightly each day but were fairly consistent with a cooked egg dish, sausages, bacon, potatoes, waffles (not recommended, very hard after sitting for quite some time), fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, small selection of meats and cheeses, cereals and a choice of coffee, tea or juice. Breakfast was around $20/pp.

Overall, I don't think I would return to the hotel, without being assured I was in a renovated room. The location of the hotel is convenient to access downtown via foot, and parking is on site as well.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountainAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkeJ31, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear RockyMountainAnt,
thank you for your honest comments following your August stay at our Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the shortcomings you and your family experienced. You will be pleased to note that we are currently in the process of developing a 5 year total renovation plan for all of our 307 rooms. I have also discussed the housekeeping concerns with those involved and steps have been taken to prevent a re-occurrence. We are also negotiating a switch in the supplier of our cable signal, something we are aiming to achieve within the next few months as the current contract comes up for renewal. Again, please accept my sincere apologies and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you, and your family, back to our Hotel in the future. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

1. Tv was broken
2. No fridge when theres supposed to be and had to call to get them to bring it
3. To have a microwave was extra
4. You can't have delivery come up to your room, BUT they won't bring it up either. BUT you can have guests..JUST NOT FOOD DELIVERY.
5. When you call to fix something, they don't follow up and you have to call every 15-20 mins to make sure
6. barely any outlets.
7. ugly view, room needs renovations for the price

Room tip: e.g. Pick the room with one king bed not double. its cheaper and nicer.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkeJ31, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Brianna L,
Thank you for your observations following your August stay at our Hotel. I am sorry that the experience was not up to what you had every right to expect. Please contact me through the Hotel website so that we may make this right. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews