We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice room, OK location, wierd building and parking lot.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice room, OK location, wierd building and parking lot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a seemingly older hotel / motel close to a mall and the city centre airport. I Thought the room was nice as it looked like it had been renovated. There is a pool and hot tub near the lobby that was nice as well. My only beef with the hotel is that you may have an outside motel style room facing a parking lot. It didn't bother me, but if you were a lady etc, you may feel a bit uneasy about walking across a big parking lot at night if you want to get to your room. The property is like a giant "U" and you may get an inside room like a regular hotel, or one of the parking lot ones, luck of the draw I guess? No free breakfast, but there is a Tim Hortons and bar/restaurant on site. I found the mall across the street very nice. If I were to stay here again, I'd ask for an inside room near the lobby. Oh yeah - Nice big TVs in rooms. that was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Family Guy

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. We are glad you enjoyed many of the amenities our hotel has to offer as well as Kingsway Mall right across the street. The benefit of having both Motel and Hotel style rooms is that our guests can place a request for the type of room they would prefer. We have found throughout our years of being in the hospitality industry that there are as many preferences as we have guests and we enjoy being able to accommodate as many as possible.

Thanks again and Happy Travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    155
    66
    13
    11
See reviews for
154
64
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I love this hotel, my friends and I stayed at it this past weekend while we were attending a consert in Edmonton. The cab ride over to Rexall Place was only around $13.
Our room was awsome. When we walked in there was a bed, then another door so that one bed was private from the rest of the room and it even had its own tv( GREAT IF YOU HAVE KIDS). the bathroom sink had mirrors all around it and the toilet and bathtub were in a room of there own,(which made it nice when getting ready to go out didn't have to wait for the bathroom just to do your hair, someone could shower while the other put on makeup ect) the other room with bed #2 in it had an 3 or 4 drawer cabinet with a mini fridge enclosed and large tv, a table and 2 sitting chairs. The room tempuratue was perfect no adjusting needed. The beds where so COMFORTABLE, and each had 4 fluffy pillow, the downstairs furniture was so comfortable also.
The Pool (which I regretablely didn't have the opportunity to try out) was clean and towels where availible right beside the pool and many people were taking advantage of the WATERSLIDE and HOT TUB.
The lounge upstairs had really nice decore, and good drinks, the food for the most part was good, they even have breakfast in the morning and can come and eat until 10am i believe since it is a lounge. Downstairs there is a 24 hr Tim Hortons great if you need a midight snack or food, or a coffee to keep you going.
And right across the street (a 2 minute walk) is KIngsway Garden Mall, for all your shopping needs. and there are alot of restaurants in and around the mall to. The $141 we paid for the room was affordable and excellent for what the hotel had to offer and I HIGHLY RECOMEND this hotel to anyone. And the Staff were Awsome and so HELPFUL. Thank you for the wonderful stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderfull review of the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. It sounds like you had a great time in Edmonton and I believe your review will assist many travellers making their choice of where to stay in Edmonton.

I hope that next time you’re in Edmonton you will chose to stay with us again. We will be very happy to see you.

Thank you again and safe travels to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Nb
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I love it when a hotel has great service from start to finish and when they deliver exactly what they promised. I was looking for a medical rate to attempt to keep costs down while a loved one was having surgery in Edmonton. There was a conference in the downtown the same week so our first pick was sold out. We had to scramble a bit to find a second location and we ended up with this hotel. The service at the 1-800 number was excellent, efficient and accurate. But the hotel service itself was great. The night clerk was friendly, efficient and able and most importantly he was enthusiastic to help and that was terrific. Upon arrival at the hotel in the wee hours of the morning following a long day of travel, check in was error-free, quick and friendly. Before too long it was a head on a clean pillow, body on a comfortable bed in a well appointed, quiet room, it was perfect. The location was very convenient within easy walking distance of anything you could ever need. With the stress of impending surgery it sure was wonderful to have everything exactly the way you asked and to have everything advertised on the web about this hotel actually turn out to be TRUE for a change! BTW the hot tub is great, the pool is lots of fun. Kudos to the staff and management at this location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoLittletime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Rebecca Kira and Hannah,

Not sure if that's three people or one, but nonetheless I would like to say thank you for your review of our hotel. The Best Western Plus City Centre Inn is a fun family style place to work with lots of laughs and good times. It looks like some of the fun and compassion transfers to our guests, which is exactly what we want. When you stay with us we hope you feel like you've come home.

Safe travels and thank you again

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

One of the most convenient places to stay in Edmonton. Very close to downtown, free parking, walking distance to most amenities. Even a Tim Hortons in the lobby. Plus a new and very nice facility. My only complaint is the wireless is slow.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginagoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear Ginagoldie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Your comments also help other travellers to pick a hotel that fits their needs.

We have a brand new modem and wireless routers and have purchased the highest speed posible from Shaw cable for our wireless network. One of my colleagues was recording download speeds of 5 to 11 Mbps on his phone. If you are not getting close to these speeds we have an 800 number that may assist in getting you the highest speeds possible, it maybe our system needed resetting or that Shaw was experiencing difficulties at the time you were using the internet. We also have a business center with two computers that are free for our hotel guests.

Thank you again for taking the time as Tripadvisor is a valuble tool for todays traveller. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and the Best Western brand.


Sincerely,

Customer Service Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Level, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Clean and quiet, great service. Walking distance of the Kingsway Garden mall. Great coffee shop on premisis. The resto-bar overlooks the runway of the nearby airport and the bartenders are friendly and really hot. This hotel is on my return to list.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fssts444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear Fun in the snow,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. All the reviews are important in helping your fellow traveller find a good place to stay and play while visiting Edmonton.

Glad you will be comming back to see us again.

Stay safe and warm,

Martin
Customer Service Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were in Edmonton for specialized medical treatment. The BW Plus City Centre was located closest to the Royal Alexandra Hosital where we were required to be. It was a safe and short walk (15 mins) for my wife to visit me in hospital. They offered us a special and low "medical rate" which saved us $ hundreds over our 9-day stay. The staff were quite helpful, supportive and friendly. The room was large, clearly updated and more than adequate in decor and amenities. This older property is being upgraded now and the attention shows well. If it were to get a star rating, we would probably give it 3-stars 'plus'. We're not sure what the 'Plus' in the Best Western chain means, as we had friends stay in one in Arizona which was clearly superior to this property, but the Edsmonton BW Plus City Centre was ceratinly at the top end of the BW chain as we understand it. If we were going to Edmonton in the future, we would choose to stay here again unless we wanted to be in the dead centre of the city. This hotel is lcoated somewhat north of the true commercial district, but you get free parking and more space that would be available in the 'downtown' hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had a death in the family and had to stay for a week at the Best Western Plus city Centre Inn. The manager was exceptional, the rate was reduced and we really appreciated the consideration at this time. The accomadation was what you expect at a Best Western, clean, quiet and friendly staff. It is close to the Royal Alexandra Hospital, approx. 13 minutes walking. The Kingsway Mall is just across the street. I hope I never have to stay under these circustances again but I would certainly return for better times.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#16 of 95 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn
Address: 11310-109 Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 2T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#24 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus City Centre Inn is family owned and operated two story Hotel/Motel. This Hotel has completed numerous upgrades and is enjoyed by both families and business people alike. Our Hotel is located just five minutes from the downtown core, across the street from Kingsway Mall, within a few city blocks of NAIT, RCMP K-division, AMA travel, the Royal Alex and Glenrose Hospitals and the Alberta Aviation museum. Come take a splash in our pool, Hot tub and 30 foot waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre Hotel Edmonton
Best Western Edmonton
Edmonton Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing