We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient...but rooms are quite old” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Convenient...but rooms are quite old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a day (Thursday) in March. I chose this location because it's close to the LRT stations and in the downtown area. The entrance of the hotel is in the downtown mall. The front desk staffs are courteous during my entire stay there.

I got a king-sized bedroom on the 5th floor right by the elevator and the window faces the mall. It was obvious that the room was quite old and hasn't been furnished for a while (or at least it doesn't look like it had been renovated...). Basically, other than the bathroom counter in the room, everything looks really old. The chair by the desk had lots of stains in it, so I didn't even bother sitting in it. I spotted a few stains (hopefully they are just coffee stains) on the bedsheets. The plug to the bathroom tub didn't work so wasn't able to check out the jet tub. But to be honest, I wasn't sure if I even wanted to use it since the tub looks so old and I'm a bit skeptical about it. The water pressure and the temperature of the water were all good, so I did get a decent shower after a long day.

Unfortunately on the night that I was there, they had issues with the TV channels (was told due to Shaw Cable) after 8:45pm...I was stuck with having nothing to do when I waited till 9:15pm (and the mall was already closed)...so I headed straight to bed. The bed was really comfortable though. I had a bit of noise issue...at around midnight, or may be it was 11pm, people must have just gotten out of the movie theatre just 2 floors below my room in the hoel...there were a few rowdy groups that woke me up...then around 1am, I had a group of people chatting outside my room that woke me once again...I guess you can't really control the people coming out of the theatre, but getting a room farther away from the elevators is always a much better idea to avoid having noise issues.

So overall...
PROS : Convenient location (mall access, LRT stations, coffee shops - Starbucks, Second Cup, Tim Hortons are all within 5 min walk from hotel), Comfortable beds, Courteous staffs

CONS: Stained chairs, carpets & bedsheets, old bathtub, unstable TV connections (can't really blame the hotel if it's really Shaw Cable's fault), noise issue from movie theatre in the mall if room faces the inside.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiedoughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We were glad to hear that you were happy with our location, comfortable beds and our courteous staff. We do receive a lot of compliments in this regard. I was also sorry to hear that you did not get the good night sleep you were looking for due to noise coming from the adjacent theatre. I also wanted to advise that carpet and chair stains are being addressed with our regular deep cleaning schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    145
    131
    92
    37
See reviews for
79
110
42
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

I have stayed in this hotel three times before, both for very good rates.
I booked a suite as there were 3 adults staying in the room, but wasn't overly impressed. There was a large pillar in the middle of the room, which seemed odd. Also, the room just seemed a little old and dated.
Service is excellent at this hotel. Front desk staff is so nice! We were informed that parking in the garage is cheaper when you don't do it through the hotel.. I think it is about $20 if you pay Delta and $10-$15 if you just park it yourself.
I like the location, the mall is actually a very good mall.. good for when you don't want to deal with the West Edmonton Mall.. lots of shopping without so many people around.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCanadaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
Thank you for sharing you comments on your recent stay with us. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location with great shopping and that you received excellent customer service. I did want to mention when parking is purchased through the Hotel, it does provide you with in and out privileges, when purchased through the parkade it does not.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

We regulary fly into Edmton for the Oilers games and have stayed at a few hotels in the downtown area. However, we have officially come back to the Delta and will continue to do so. The rates are reasonable and the rooms are very large, well decorated and kept maintained. It is attached to the mall which is very convenient for shopping, movies and food. It is so easy to catch the LRT that you really don't need a jacket, except for the walk from the stop to the stadium. Best of all, the front desk staff at the Delta are absolutely amazing. They are helpful, courteous, happy and excellent employees. They great you like you are long lost family. If you are looking for a hotel in the downtown area for leisure, I highly highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Dave, Director of Sales and Marketing at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
My name is Dave, I am the Director of Sales & Marketing at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel. Thank you for sharing you comments on your recent stay with us. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and easy access to the LRT. It is quick to get to the game. I have taken the LRT from the Hotel several times to go and see the Oilers.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Wonderful little hotel in a fantastic location downtown, close to everything, and best of all, located adjacent (essentially within) a great little mall just steps from a movie theater and a splendid little restaurant (Lazia). Front staff was excellent, the atmosphere is calm, quiet, the hotel is clean and inviting. Free high speed internet was a nice touch. The rooms are very large yet still comfortable and cozy. The king bed was incredibly comfortable and offered an amazing sleep. And the price was very reasonable (although one would expect free guest parking yet it was quite expensive if purchased through the hotel). If you want a good night's sleep and a pleasant stay in a fine location in Edmonton, Delta Edmonton Centre is a great choice!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGetAway-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales and Marketing at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
My name is Dave, I am the Director of Sales & Marketing at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel. Thank you for sharing you comments on your recent stay with us. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you found our rooms large and comfortable. We hear that a lot form our return guests.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We spent a Family weekend in Edmonton recently and stayed one night at the Delta Centre Suite Hotel as a "treat" - having heard a lot of good things about the location. We got a pretty good rate on a 1 Bedroom King Suite through the Delta website using AMA (CAA).

For a first time visitor, the initial experience can be confusing - starting right from "where to park the car" to unload. There is no valet parking and very minimal unloading area (3 vehicles filled the area when we drove up). There is a designated parking area (parkade) to the NW of the hotel which is run by a separate company (CASH ONLY). We parked there and dragged our luggage to the hotel 1/2 block away.

The hotel as mentioned is located IN a mall but is easily accessable from outside. The Lobby is very pleasant and nicely appointed with lots of wood, glass and brass and a cozy fireplace in the registration area - complimentary local newspapers are available to guests in the lobby. Check in was quick and courteous. I wanted to compare my CAA rate with a promotion I saw on their website for "Bed & Parking", but was told that those prices were only available from the central Delta Booking - all that was available via the check in desk was the rack rate which in the words of the desk person was "quite HIGH". I heard a number of comments from staff that it was cheaper to pay the parkade directly rather than to try and buy a "parking package" rate through the hotel. I was happy with the CAA rate and so I didn't pursue the rate issue any further.

We got a room on the 4th floor looking toward the south (read the FAR end of the hallway from the single bank of elevators in the hotel). The first thing to greet our eye when we walked into the room was a HUGE pillar in the middle of the "living" area of the room. The room was very bland, poorly laid out and, although the furniture was in good condition, it had no style to it. The room had a sink and fridge but no microwave. There was a work area with a pull out desk for placing a laptop onto. The large pillar blocked the view of the flatscreen TV from the easy chair (okay to watch from the couch though).

A narrow hallway led to the washroom which was nicely appointed as was up to expectations - although there were only towels provided for 2 people :-) Cost saving measure, I guess. The bedroom area was small (when filled with the kingsize bed), with a large closet containing an ironing board and extra pillow and blanket. The television in the bedroom amoir did not work properly - just kept cycling through all the channels :-( Great for us guys but the ladies found it annoying ;-) Both the bed and the double pullout were quite comfortable and the room was nice and quiet.

The housekeeping standards at the hotel seemed to need a boost. There were a couple of wine glasses out side our door from previous guests that were still there when we left the next day. Supply carts seemed to be permanently stationed/abandoned at a number of locations along the hallway instead of tucked away in the housekeeping areas that we saw with the doors open. Although the main carpet area was clean, the corners revealed that the floor had not been "deep cleaned" in quite a while as the corners were white with dust and clutter.

The hotel rate included "Continental Breakfast" which we found out amounted to a $14/person credit (max 2 credits per room) toward breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel. It was also noted at check in that the "Sunday Brunch" was $23//person - so breakfast for 4 was still going to cost $64 + Tip + GST. We opted to walk a block down the street to Tim Hortons and spend SUBSTANTIALLY LESS on breakfast - although I am sure that the atmosphere was not nearly as relaxing as at the hotel restaurant!!!.

Overall, the hotel was a disappointment - The beds were comfortable and the staff were very helpful and professional - but I am glad we didn't pay more that $20 above the price of a room at Super 8. We were verbally offered their "best" room on a return stay based on my discussion with the desk staff. To give the hotel a break, I will assume that our "Unique" room was the structural "oops" in the architects design of the hotel. I would think that most architects would incorprate the large, structurally necessary pillars into walls where possible - this room missed out on that courtesy.

Would I return for another stay? . . . Probably not, given the other options available in downtown Edmonton that give more value for the $$.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PencilPusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We are platinum members with Delta and this location is their worst one. The rooms are spacious and nice but they need to change the jet tubs as they are decades old. Ther service needs work, and language is a barrier at times so it can be hard to order room service. They do not have a full kitchen right now so you cannot order a full breakfast, but you pay full prices. Very nice people and great location.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Good clean rooms.Fairly good location for a downtown facility.Staff very friendly.Gym not too bad for a hotel gym,not fully equipped but enough for a reasonable workout.The hotel is connected or I shopuld say basically in a mall which can be conveniant for various reasons,shopping,movies,restaurants etc.Over I was satisfied with the hotel and the experiance

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales and Marketing at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
My name is Dave; I am the Director of Sales & Marketing at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel. Thank you for sharing you comments on your recent stay with us. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and hope you had a good workout in the Fitness room. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
Address: 10222-102 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 4C5, Canada (Formerly Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 7 minutes from everything…The Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Edmonton within the City Centre Shopping Mall. Featuring pedway connections to the subway, 2 other shopping centres, the Shaw Conference Centre and 17 office towers the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel is just 7 minutes from everything. Just steps away from Sir Winston Churchill Square, City Hall and the heart of the Arts District we are right next door to internationally recognized festivals such as the Edmonton Folk Music Festival, Jazz Festival, Street Performers Festival, and Taste of Edmonton. If festivals are not your thing, the same area boasts cultural locations such as the Alberta Art Gallery, Winspear Theatre and Citadel Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Edmonton Centre Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Delta
Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing