We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Room was very nice, very clean. Staff was very friendly. I was a bit surprised there wasn't a little fridge. However, no sign saying the gym was closed for renos. Breakfast buffet was beautiful!! But, only tea and coffee was complimentary - would make more sense if a beverage was included, not just tea or coffee. Lounge area was beautiful as well, good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.
Our fourth floor rooms do have small refrigerators in them. We should have advised you that if you call down and ask for a refrigeraator for any other room we will be very happy to deliver it.

We are currently doubing the size of our fitness facility and will be adding more equipment. I just walked down the hall to check it out and the sign that we had advising guests that the facility is under renovation is gone. Sorry about that. That being said, as of today we have been able to re-open half of the facility.

We have talked about including juices as well as coffee/tea as part of the breakfast buffet, but this would mean that we would be raising the price of the buffet for everyone. If anyone out there has input on this we'd appreciate the feedback. Right now our buffet is $12.00 plus tax and gratuity and it includes a good selection of hot and cold items. Should we charge a little more and include a choice of juice?

We are pleased that you found your room to be nice and very clean and that the lounge and atrium are beautiful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    132
    52
    36
    21
See reviews for
96
82
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It almost reminded me of my mothers house, the linens smelled so fresh! The staff was very courteous. Very nice restaurant/bar, love the artwork displayed throughout the main floor! One of the best hotels in Edmonton for sure. Will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: I forgot to request a balcony suite as not all rooms have them :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We're honoured that we would make your mother proud. Our housekeeping and laundry teams take great pride in their product.
We too love the art.in our Gallery. It's always Canadian, and we change it out four times a year.
As for balconies, we have a few. If you're asking for one please specify interior or exterior as we have six of them that are interior overlooking the atrium, art gallery, restaurant and lounge.
Thank you so much and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality for the Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed as part of a working session group and we had quite an exceptional stay. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. As a previous reviewer commented Rolf is such an asset to their team and goes above and beyond every time without question. The restaurant was very good and their staff was very accommodating when we needed an impromptu meeting spot even though they were closed at the time. Bathroom amenities are great. If you are a light sleeper ask for a highway facing room as the train may be bothersome for you but I only heard it one night of the 4 we were there. The Sawridge First Nations group has done a very good job with the decor on the property and they should be well proud. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a highway facing room and not on the end as the train may bother a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Obviously we are very very proud and delighted that you were pleased with your stay. As for Rolf, we're going to have to make him ambassador of the year or something :-) We too think he's great. Thank you as well for your other kind comments. Please be advised that we are expanding the dinner menu in Creations to provide a wider choice for our guests. Also, very good advice on the trains. The vast majority of our rooms are not close to the tracks, but lighter sleepers should request a west facing room.
Thanks again and we hope to see you at a Sawridge again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was in Edmonton for a conference, I stayed and the Sawridge Hotel, the staff was AMAZING!!!
I can never and will never forget my stay! RULF most helpful concierge! Room was very nice and clean. Food was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthialeon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our hotel and our people. We have shared them with the rest of our team and Rolf is very proud to have been mentioned in person. We look forward to serving you again when business or pleasure next brings you to Edmonton or to any of our other Sawridge locations.
Sincerely,
Jim Hil
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed at this property with my husband and 2 toy poodles March 25 to 30th. Great location with easy access in and out of city. Lots of restaurants and shops close by. Spacious guest room. Very nice bar and restaurant. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and my husband has already returned for another visit. Excellent customer service at front desk, bar and housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Wow, we are always delighted when we are able to make our guests so happy, and having you return is the most satisfying vote of support. Rest assured that we will continue to strive for excellence in service to you and all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing Sawridge Inns and Conference Centres.
Jim Hill
Vice President Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 6 nights here and overall were very satisfied. The train tracks are right behind the hotel so the noise may bother some guests. We only heard them on 2 early morning occasions.
Housekeeping staff were excellent and very accommodating, as was the front desk.
We had a king size bed which was very comfortable; room was dated( not an issue for us ) but also noticed that they are obviously redoing rooms since there was room furniture in the dumpster.

Room Tip: King size rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlsonvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, and I apologize for the noise from the trains. Yes, it can be bothersome for light sleepers. However, I am pleased to say that the majority of our rooms are not near the tracks.
We will continue to work on improving our hotel.
Thank you for choosing Sawridge Inns and Conference Centres.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
Vice President Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We enjoy staying at the sawridge mainly because it allows pets for a fee of $10 a night. The price is usually good. The parking is free and they have a free complimentary breakfast.(which is so good!) Service is usually great! They sent us to 3rd floor to the wrong room and because of the inconvience of having to lug our bags all the way back downstairs with a dog they upgraded us to a suite for the 2 nights! Also the resturant Creatons has amazing food and service! The only negative thing i have to say is at times I've noticed the front desk girls to have a bit of attitude and not be super friendly. But other than that it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Jim Hill
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Address: 4235 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn - Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Sawridge Hotel Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing