We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sawridge Inn was everything we needed and more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We called in to the Sawridge after 9 longs days driving through The Rockies. We were greeted by Holly at the front desk who was so helpful and friendly. We asked to look at a few of the rooms as we hadn't been able to check out the hotel via the web. All of there rooms were excellent and we decided straight away to stay there. We booked the 1 bedroom deluxe suite for 6 nites and the master 1 bedroom suite for our last nite. We loved the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to be of service to you.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
Vice President Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Arrive late check-in was good. Room was large with two complete bedrooms. The hotel is quiet and clean. My only complaint is with the breakfast staff. We waited 20-30 minutes to get menu, by that time we had to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

On behalf of all of us in the food and beverage division of the hotel I apologize for what you experienced at breakfast. I can offer no excuses. We pride ourselves on fast and efficient service of creative and quality food and beverage products. Obviously, this was not the case with you and for this I am truly sorry.
I was pleased that you found the rest of your stay to be comfortable.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again when you are next in Edmonton. I am certain that we can regain your confidence in our service.
Thank you for taking the time to submit the review.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
Vice President Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We booked this hotel on a recommendation from someone who lives in Edmonton, but had never stayed there. When we drove up and saw that it was situated basically on top of the railroad tracks, we were a little concerned. However, the ambiance of the reception area started to soothe our nerves. The room was great. Everything was so clean (and not in that way that some hotels smell like fabric softener). The beds were so comfortable that we all slept wonderfully. We also had dinner at the restaurant, and experienced our first ever Poutine, an interesting Canadian treat. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind. And, amazingly, the trains that went by all night long didn't bother us at all, but provided that background lulling noise that I think contributed to our amazing nights' sleeps.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear DrCari2,
We're delighted that the sight of the tracks didn't scare you off. The hotel is quite soundproof and the vast majority of our rooms are not close to the tracks.
Your wonderful comments about our hotel and our people are much appreciated. We too love the ambience of our atrium, restaurant and art gallery; and our people, we think they're the best.
And, if you like our poutine, you should try our parsnip fries. Our main restaurant, Creations, and our culinary team are renowned for putting a special spin on much of the food we serve.
Thank you so much for staying with us and for telling us about your experience.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
Vice President Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Room was very nice, very clean. Staff was very friendly. I was a bit surprised there wasn't a little fridge. However, no sign saying the gym was closed for renos. Breakfast buffet was beautiful!! But, only tea and coffee was complimentary - would make more sense if a beverage was included, not just tea or coffee. Lounge area was beautiful as well, good service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.
Our fourth floor rooms do have small refrigerators in them. We should have advised you that if you call down and ask for a refrigeraator for any other room we will be very happy to deliver it.

We are currently doubing the size of our fitness facility and will be adding more equipment. I just walked down the hall to check it out and the sign that we had advising guests that the facility is under renovation is gone. Sorry about that. That being said, as of today we have been able to re-open half of the facility.

We have talked about including juices as well as coffee/tea as part of the breakfast buffet, but this would mean that we would be raising the price of the buffet for everyone. If anyone out there has input on this we'd appreciate the feedback. Right now our buffet is $12.00 plus tax and gratuity and it includes a good selection of hot and cold items. Should we charge a little more and include a choice of juice?

We are pleased that you found your room to be nice and very clean and that the lounge and atrium are beautiful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It almost reminded me of my mothers house, the linens smelled so fresh! The staff was very courteous. Very nice restaurant/bar, love the artwork displayed throughout the main floor! One of the best hotels in Edmonton for sure. Will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: I forgot to request a balcony suite as not all rooms have them :)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

We're honoured that we would make your mother proud. Our housekeeping and laundry teams take great pride in their product.
We too love the art.in our Gallery. It's always Canadian, and we change it out four times a year.
As for balconies, we have a few. If you're asking for one please specify interior or exterior as we have six of them that are interior overlooking the atrium, art gallery, restaurant and lounge.
Thank you so much and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality for the Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed as part of a working session group and we had quite an exceptional stay. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. As a previous reviewer commented Rolf is such an asset to their team and goes above and beyond every time without question. The restaurant was very good and their staff was very accommodating when we needed an impromptu meeting spot even though they were closed at the time. Bathroom amenities are great. If you are a light sleeper ask for a highway facing room as the train may be bothersome for you but I only heard it one night of the 4 we were there. The Sawridge First Nations group has done a very good job with the decor on the property and they should be well proud. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a highway facing room and not on the end as the train may bother a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Obviously we are very very proud and delighted that you were pleased with your stay. As for Rolf, we're going to have to make him ambassador of the year or something :-) We too think he's great. Thank you as well for your other kind comments. Please be advised that we are expanding the dinner menu in Creations to provide a wider choice for our guests. Also, very good advice on the trains. The vast majority of our rooms are not close to the tracks, but lighter sleepers should request a west facing room.
Thanks again and we hope to see you at a Sawridge again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Hill
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was in Edmonton for a conference, I stayed and the Sawridge Hotel, the staff was AMAZING!!!
I can never and will never forget my stay! RULF most helpful concierge! Room was very nice and clean. Food was awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthialeon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our hotel and our people. We have shared them with the rest of our team and Rolf is very proud to have been mentioned in person. We look forward to serving you again when business or pleasure next brings you to Edmonton or to any of our other Sawridge locations.
Sincerely,
Jim Hil
VP Hospitality
Sawridge Group of Companies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
827 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South

Address: 4235 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#22 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $114 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn - Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Sawridge Hotel Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing