We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel & Great service”
Review of Union Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Bank Inn
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed here in May for two nights on business and loved this place. The staff was very friendly. The room was attractively decorated and also had an electric fireplace that I used often. The room was also clean and quiet. They brought wine and cheese every afternoon which was a nice touch. Also, complimentary breakfast in their restaurant was very good. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Union Bank Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a good, well located small downtown hotel in Edmonton. It has two wings, one older than the other. It is traditional in its interior design, pleasant if nothing special. I was impressed by the overall level of customer service. I always request a "quiet room" at any hotel, and the front-desk staff found a good one for me. Breakfasts were excellent. It would not be my first choice for a business trip in future - the desk and chair in the room weren't great, and power was inconveniently located. The fitness room is tiny, and only has two machines. Other than that, it is a good choice.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Architectandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at the Union bank inn with a Livingsocial deal, and had a very nice time. I stayed in a Heritage room and the decore was interesting! We liked the black and red, and the bed was excellent, very comfortable. The tub in the bathroom was very nice and we loved the restaurant. I wish it had been made clear that to get the 25 off my meal there we had to bill it to our room, though. Oh well, c'est la vie! The location in the downtown was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AriaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We got married at the Union Bank Inn last summer. (Yes, the review is late!) The hotel was pleasant to work with and super helpful to everyone. They delivered a few treats to rooms of out of town guests, made sure we had everything we needed in the Presidential suite to get ready prior to the wedding and even cleaned it during our ceremony in the afternoon so as not in inconvenience us. Our room was tastefully decorated and large enough for 5 people to get ready for hair and make up. The catering manager Christa was helpful with all of our questions and concerns and the event (ceremony and reception) went off with no problems. The entire banquet staff was kind and helpful. One of the staffers even made sure to straighten my train before I entered the room!
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful to all of our guests who stayed at the hotel and we have heard no complaints about the stays; only raves. Thank you UBI for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We held our wedding reception at the Giverny ballroom of the Union Bank Inn on April 21, 2012. And it was perfect: the service was amazing and the food fantastic! Christa, the catering manager, was invaluable. She made everything easy for us. We can not thank her enough. We also stayed at the Presidential suite the night of the wedding, and again everything was great. I honestly don't have one negative thing to say about our experience with Union Bank. If you are looking for a venue to hold a smaller wedding (we had 40 guests), you can't go wrong with this choice. Best of luck with your planning!

Victoria and Philippe

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vict0ria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Was in Edmonton in February for business and my colleague had stayed here before so I happily agreed to stay as she had nothing but good things to say about it. It didn't disappoint. Smaller hotel, food was great, and staff went out of their way to be helpful. Gym is very small but did the job for us. I would recommend to any female business traveler as it is very central.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Enjoyed the stay - nice decorative room with fireplace in the heritage (historic) side of the hotel. Service was good and complimentary breakfast at the Madison Cafe downstairs was really good. We parked on street with meter and were there after 6PM gone by 9AM so parking was free. No view from the room and downtown Edmonton is a little desolate, at least on a weekday night, but found a good pub (Red Star?) nearby for good food and drinks. People were very friendly. Hotel was a little pricey, but the free internet, great breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese, and for us free parking made up the difference in what appear to be mostly generic chain hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTChimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,043 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,657 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#19 of 93 in Edmonton
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bank Inn

Address: 10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#17 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $197 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier 4 Star Boutique Hotel! ALL Guestrooms have Fireplaces. FREE delivery of evening Wine & Cheese. FREE a la carte Breakfast. FREE WiFi. As one of Edmonton's finest Hotels in Downtown Edmonton this historic landmark boasts private meeting/banquet rooms and Edmonton's Award Winning Madison's Grill. NEWLY RELEASED KING SUITES! now available for booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Union Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bank Hotel Edmonton
Union Bank Edmonton
Union Bank Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing