We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
242
92
29
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
92
29
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews madison's grill contemporary wing wine and cheese boutique hotel heritage room a la carte breakfast downtown edmonton presidential suite gas fireplace next morning each evening romantic weekend great boutique front desk staff complimentary breakfast third floor rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 397 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Because of the favorable review the Union Bank Inn received from my son and daughter in-law I booked an overnight stay to celebrate a belated anniversary get away. Both my wife and I are pleased that we did. It is truly a boutique hotel--small with attention paid to the smallest detail. The staff greeted us warmly. Our room was well appointed, clean, and inviting complete with a fire place--electric but had the desired effect. Upon returning to our room after a short walk we were greeted with wine and cheese as well as chocolate covered cherries and card marking our anniversary. The odd shaped tub was perfectly designed for a relaxed soak. The bed was firm which we appreciated. The following morning we enjoyed breakfast at the attached restaurant--Madison's Grill. The breakfast--eggs Benedict for my wife and omelette for me were tasty and filling. In that the breakfast was included in the price was an added bonus. The only downside was the parking--the entrance to their lot is not obvious and inside parking is snug--valet parking would be a huge plus. The bottom line is, "Would I recommend this establishment to a friend?"--in a word, "absolutely."

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank timtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBI-Management, General Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear timtlc,

Congratulations on your Anniversary Celebration! We are honored to be your chosen destination! Thrilled to know your stay met your expectations. We appreciate your kind review of your stay at the UNION BANK INN, Alberta's Original 4 Star Boutique located in the heart of Downtown Edmonton. Very happy to know you enjoyed the level of service provided by our dedicated Staff, who truly are some of the industry's talented and committed to ensuring each occasion, is a memorable one. Especially Special Celebrations! We love to see our guests enjoy a pampering and all inclusive stay... Hoping to see you again soon, while we extend our greatest appreciation for the affirmation of recommending us to your friends and family!

Warm Regards,
Shelley Carrier & UBI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

The location, amenities, food at their first class restaurant could not have been better. A very gracious, luxurious feel through out. All of the hotel staff go above and beyond to fulfill your expectations.
I will definitely return !!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmoandchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBI-Management, General Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear gizmoandchase,
Thank you for your past visit to the UNION BANK INN located in the heart of downtown Edmonton, proudly catering to the discerning Business and Leisure traveler alike for over 21 years! We cannot thank you for your most appreciative perfect score and feedback. And most importantly that we will have future pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to Alberta's Original 4 Star Boutique hotel.

Warm Regards,
Shelley Carrier & UBI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

We were very impressed here. This was a nice boutique hotel, rooms are spacious - in the new side. The breakfast is a great touch as it is anything on the menu and is included in your room. It is centrally located to downtown. The prices we felt were good.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shazbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBI-Management, General Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Shazbut

Thank you for your recent stay and incredible review! All of us at the UNION BANK INN, Alberta's Original 4 Star Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown Edmonton look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Shelley Carrier
General Manager & UBI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We stayed at this hotel on September 1 & 2nd, 2018 while we were in town for a wedding. We were really looking forward to a great boutique experience based on all the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor & google reviews, but the hotel really didn't live up to our expectations. The room was nice and mostly clean but SO DARK! The only windows in the room looked out into another part of the building which was maybe four feet away and as a result there was very little natural light. We had to have all lamps in the hotel room on in the middle of the afternoon and it felt like late evening. The staff were nice but certainly not over the top amazing as described in other reviews. The breakfast was decent but some portions small and they don't tell you that you're only allowed to order one dish off the menu, all others are extra! We love wine and cheese (who doesn't) and it was nice to have that little snack waiting for us in the room. One thing I really found annoying was the amount of light coming in the room from around the door frame through the night. We ended up having to block it out with an assortment of towels and blankets. The hotel needs serious renovations or overall refreshing. Maybe we are particular, but when you're paying $469 for two nights + parking (call it $250/night), you expect a lot more!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Halley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBI-Management, General Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Halley S,
Thank you for your past visit at the UNION BANK, Alberta's Original 4 Star Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of downtown Edmonton. We are very sorry to hear, that your experience failed to live up to your expectations. It does appear that you were staying in one of our King Rooms, part of our business class - standard inventory. There are a few rooms in the hotel, that are without views, which I believe this would have been your room. Within our hotel, we have 40 guestrooms, two distinct Wings, and several room types. Including our very exclusive Luxury floor recently launched last fall....and has been very well received. We certainly wish for an opportunity to have you back again. Next time, perhaps one of our Designer Heritage Suites, or one of our incredibly pampering King Suites or why not one of our Exclusive Suites, such as the Giverny Suite or, truly impressive Presidential Suite! Feel free to contact us to explore all that the UNION BANK INN has to offer. A very unique property ,where each stay is very personalized, matching choice of accommodations to personal preference. Hope to see you again soon, while we invite a visit to our website where you can peruse our collection, at your leisure.

Warm Regards,
Shelley Carrier
General Manager & UBI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We rather enjoyed our over night stay in the Heritage Wing “Hepburn” room of this hotel. Just wanted to treat ourselves to a little alone time. We had sparkling wine and these adorable cheese and crackers trays and finished it off with delicious chocolate truffles. The room decor was elegant and clean. The bed was soft and comfy. Would have enjoyed the standard size jacuzzi tub a bit more if it worked (perhaps it was us just not being able to figure it out) but to be honest the nice warm bubble bath was wonderful as well. The complimentary breakfast at the Madison Grill restaurant downstairs was delicious and the service was top notch. We were so pleased with everything that we will be sure to “escape” there again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tammee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBI-Management, General Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Tammee T

Thank you for your wonderful review, and so pleased to know your stay was lovely! Important to take time just for yourselves, and escape the daily stresses... and we could not be happier to hear this is exactly what you were able to do! We cannot thank you enough and look forward to many future opportunities of welcoming you back again to the UNION BANK INN, Alberta's Original 4 Star Boutique Hotel, offering two Wings of distinctive Accommodation choices, All, offering pampering luxury, and service.

Hope to see you again soon,


Warm Regards,
Shelley Carrier
General Manager & UBI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews