We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still impressed”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My son and I recently stayed again at Days Inn Downtown Edmonton and we were as impressed as the first time we stayed there. My son (8 years old) said he liked the breakfasts at Albert's, the in house restaurant, it feels like home at the hotel and he hopes to stay there again. The very first time I stayed there, I was surprised that the restaurant closed at 3 pm but I'm sure they did that as there are other more supper-ish type restaurants near by such as Boston Pizza and The Old Spaghetti Factory and I'm not adverse to walking a block or two to get supper. I agree with another review that the hotel could use a wee bit of updating especially in the halls but the lobby is very nice, the rooms are very nice for the cost and how much time does a person spend in the halls anyways? Staff (front desk, housekeeping and restaurant) are fantastic. My son and I are not fans of swimming so we don't mind that there is no pool. We love how close it is to an LRT station and other amenities so we don't have to do much driving. Plus, we feel safe there which means a lot to me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank-you very much for your kind words in regards our property. It has always been our most importat goal to make sure we can satisfy our guests' needs. We can asure you that our staff will know of your kind comments. Words of appreciation like these can only inspire us to do even better. We are happy to know that we contributed to your and your son's pleasant stay in Edmonton. We hope we can accomodate you again on your next visit, our staff will be more than happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    81
    83
    34
    23
See reviews for
45
55
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here one night for business. The rooms are getting old and the hotel has a dated feel. It was clean and the staff were quite friendly. Good parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests.

Our great location and parking facilities are some of our best features and our friendly staff is always ready to assist you, thank you for the recognition. We would be more than happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The recent stay at this hotel was pleasant, if you are there for work or a short period. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant, which was very refreshing ! The hotel has covered parking with a restriction of 6'3 and a parking lot across the street for pay and park, there are also metered parking spots across the street. The elevator is somewhat creepy and the door jerks while opening. The corridors are narrow, the walls textured and pale orange and red are screaming the 60's. The rooms are clean and basic, you are able to open the windows which cooled off the room, which even with thermostat down was too warm. My room did not come with a fridge or microwave which would have been very handy as the hotel restaurant Alberts, is only open from 0700-3 pm ! There food was good but expensive for some reason ? The fitness room had a elliptical, recumbent bike and a treadmill that's belt slips occasionally, you have to get the tv remote from reception, it was awesome to have this fitness room that was key locked and front desk observable so that you could just enjoy your workout without worrying as much about your personal safety. There is a Boston pizza across the street, Tim Hortons is on Jasper ave to the left 2mins down and there was fresh Mexican restaurants, subways, second cups and a ricki's. I enjoyed the walk to and from my destination daily. The ice machine is on the third level, the pop is on the fifth ( didn't use ? ). I paid about a hundred dollars a night plus additional taxes, good bang for your buck, downtown. I would stay here again, no problem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such as detailed review here! I really appreciate your kind words about our staff members: they work very hard to exceed our guests’ expectations, and it was very nice of you to acknowledge their efforts!
Some guest find our color scheme a bit dated, while others think of it as very cozy. Please note that both fridges and microwaves can be put in your room, and they are available at the front desk upon request. But, as you have rightly noted, most of our guest prefer to go out to eat, as we are located within walking distance from various restaurants.
Hope to see you here again soon and that you for choosing our property for your recent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a hotel with a good location downtown Edmonton and we paid just under $100/nt. My brother and I stayed for three nights to attend the Edmonton Indy races. Safe location and close to many downtown attractions. Hotel itself is average but is very clean. Ideal if you just need a place to rest your head and stay central.
Area amenities:
Many restaurants in the area to choose from. A few blocks away is a grocery store. Only a couple blocks from 109th street and Jasper Ave, both are main artery roads. Close to transit, bus and rail. Short walk to downtown mall. Would take about 15-20 minutes to walk across the high level bridge to the Kinsmen sports centre and another 10minutes to get to Whyte Ave for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneortwoweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review here! We really appreciate your comment about the cleanliness of our property: our staff works very hard to keep guest rooms in the immaculate condition, and it is always nice when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Special thanks for such a detailed and accurate description of area amenities: I can only add that no matter where you need to go, our front desk staff will be more than happy to provide directions. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will give us yet another chance to extend our usual hospitality in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I live in Edmonton but we stayed downtown New Year's eve so we could join the fun but not have to worry about the blocked traffic and crowded (free) buses after the fireworks. The whole hotel is 100% smoke free and, by the smell of it they enforce that well. Clean, unsmelly room, comfortable beds - as someone says the decor is a bit 'tired' but who cares?

We only stayed one night so didn't test things like room service or maid service but I'll assume all is well. Alberts restaurant on premesis was nice and the buses and LRT isn't far away. It's convenient to Jasper Avenue but not noisy.

The only thing I noticed was the walls were rather thin because I could hear peoples' TVs.

As ever, ALL hotels in this day and age could benefit from a fridge and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: There are no 'rooms with a view' in this hotel, it's downtown but you've got a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property! You are absolutely right, our hotel is 100% smoke-free property and we invest much effort into keeping it that way. Our color-scheme might appear a bit dated to some quests, while others find very cozy. As to the refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms, I am happy to report that we are in the process of upgrading all of our room with these amenities and will offer them soon. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Edmonton probably was a disapointment to us as we stayed there two days, the hotel was clean good value, and free parking and close walking distance to restruants. The carpet was very 60's and would have loved to open the window to retrieve the bible that has been left there for a very long time. No free breakfast, but we travelled with plastic plates and bowels and with cornflakes some mornings this was ok, no fridge but thanks for the ice machine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellejeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback here. Sorry to hear about your disappointing trip to our city. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping department to ensure that they are more thorough in the future. That you very much for choosing our hotel and we hope to be a part of your travel needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I had a really good four-day stay. Price is good, parking is convenient & free for guests, staff is helpful, the small gym is convenient since I was the only person ever there, & the location is great. Problems are only with the bathroom: it's difficult to set the proper temperature & there is even a notice letting you know to be careful not to scald yourself. The shower curtain should be changed as well, & paint can do wonders. While I was there, however, they were working on changing some pipes, so hopefully by now (or soon) these issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualDebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our property! We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here. You are absolutely right: we have just recently upgraded all of our equipment in the boiler room and hope not to have any issues with water temperature in the future. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
274 reviews
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
948 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Edmonton Downtown

Property: Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10041 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown Edmonton hotel delivers on the Days Inn slogan of offering "The Best Value Under the Sun." We certainly offer the best value in Edmonton. Inside our award-winning Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel, our ambiance will help you relax from the mayhem of business and travel. Our enthusiastic and friendly staff is eager to make your visit to Edmonton, Alberta a success. ***Please Note : Our Parking lot is undergoing renovations to improve our guest experience. We thank you for you understanding.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown Alberta
Edmonton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing