We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it seems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edmonton East
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Upon arriving with my cousin. I must say I was a little undesired to stay in what I thought was or had read "ghetto hotel" HOWEVER! I must say although there is some activity outside I believe what was called "the games pub" it wasn't all of what some made it out to be. The 2 ladies at the clerks desk were friendly, cheerful and a pleasure to chat with. The room wasn't to bad. It had wood floor and a nice comfy duvet on it but still the room could use a little more TLC. I suggested to the checkout lady that maybe a fresh coat of paint, new furniture because it's seen better days would help. Over all our stay was lovely and look forward to coming back to see the staff and changes next year.

Room Tip: Ask for wooden floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2015

Avoid this house of bed bugs I only spent a night but I regret staying. I dint get much sleep coz of the noise and bed bugs. It was itching so bad I had to go th the closest Walmart at 7am to buy a new set of clothes coz mine get blood stains on it

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Chrisfab360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rinnexpress, General Manager at Travelodge Edmonton East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

I regret that your stay was not satisfactory. However, a thorough check of your room shown no evidence of any bed bugs. I do hope your next stay will be a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Wouldn't stay here again unless the alternative was sleeping next to a dumpster and a nest of troublesome raccoons.
The counter clerk was frazzled and dealing with an irritated customer ahead of me. When it was our turn, it seemed as though I was being punished for booking with Expedia. Not only did I have to pay a damage deposit up-front, but a photocopy was made of both my and my roommate's photo ID. Maybe this is something this particular hotel does because they are in an awful neighborhood, but I've never seen this before. Rough neighborhoods don't bother you? BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE! The restaurant staff tried to refuse my friends from using the washroom because we weren't customers. When I used it (and this is because we were arriving from a 5 hour drive and were waiting ages to check in), the restaurant staff were arguing loudly. We aren't even in our rooms yet.
The rooms were run down, showers barely intact, dirty walls, uncomfortable beds. Our friends staying across the hall got the nicer room (didn't book w/ Expedia) with laminate floors and nicer bedding. But one of them slipped and almost fell on the laminate.
We came back after our concert and were hassled by the clerk (a different one) and had to give all our names again. Probably the rough neighborhood again, I guess.The walls are virtually paper-thin. Carpet is thin and worn. I hate this place. I desperately hope there isn't some twist of fate where I end up having to stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Upon arriving at this hotel, we realized it was in the ghetto of Edmonton! We checked in, very nice lady at the desk. After checking in I went to take a shower and realized there were no towels in the room, no face clothes or even a floor mat! I phoned housekeeping several times, no answer. Then I tried the front desk and after being on hold for 5 mins she picked up and advised housekeeping had gone home and she would run some towels to the room when she had a minute. She finally brought 2 towels for 4 women. She said could see if she had 1 more. So we had 3 towels and 5 face cloths now. In the shower there was a vent that had a cigarette smell coming through so it was like being in a smoking room even though it was a non smoking room. The shower had a high pitched sound every time it was on and there was no vent for the steam except the smoke hole in the wall in the shower. Room was hot but the ac worked and we had a fan that was plugged into several other things. Huge fire hazard I'm surprised there wasn't one. The bed had a long black hair in it not ours as I just pulled the sheet back and the mattresses were as hard as boards. The pillows were tiny kids pillows. I did check for bed bugs but did not see any. I wore shoes in the room as the carpet was gross. I would have left but we were there to have some fun and just needed a place for my head to rest for a few hours. We saw the same guy on the bike every time we came back, looked as though he was dealing drugs.
We did not eat the continental breakfast as I was to scared I might get sick. The wifi was good.
This place needs a complete makeover or be torn down. The title of the hotel should have a warning about where it's located. The one good thing was there was a Tim Hortons 1 min walk away.
Beware of this hotel, unless your looking for something cheap with no standards!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 October 2015

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Puppies2227
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 October 2015

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank ironmatewiens
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edmonton
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#50 of 93 in Edmonton
427 reviews
Eastglen Inn
#75 of 93 in Edmonton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Argyll Plaza Hotel
#66 of 93 in Edmonton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edmonton East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edmonton East

Address: 3414 118 Ave NW | Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta T5W 0Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: C$68 - C$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edmonton East 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ten minutes east of Northlands Place, and the Expo Centre. Direct access off of Highway, and fifteen minutes to downtown. Minutes from Rundle Park Golf course. Walking distance to restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping. Business center available off of lobby. Free continental breakfast, Wi-Fi internet, and parking. Non-smoking and smoking rooms are available. Onsite restaurant/buffet (available in summer 2017). Ample, rear truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Edmonton East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edmonton East Hotel Edmonton
Travel Lodge Edmonton
Edmonton Travelodge
Edmonton Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edmonton East Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing