We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Location with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Marriot Courtyard is right downtown in Edmonton so you get really good access to downtown offerrings like shopping, restauraunts, delis and boutiques. It is on the river valley and if you get a room on the river side the view is excellent. The lounge has big windows on the river side but you may have to ask the bartender to turn down the lights so you get the 'sparkle' at night. Our price was good as it was not a busy week. the hotel looks to have been redone recently and is simple but very nicely decorated. The bathtubs are very deep and long making them perfect for a long soak. This is a mid range hotel with tasteful rooms with modern decorating and colors. The beds are comfy with crisp sheets and lots of pillows. It has a fitness center, lounge small restaraunt and an interesting area that offers packaged foods and microwave if you arrive late and need a snack. I think this is a nice little extra for hungry, tired travellers. There is lots of parking but it is a pay lot right in front of the hotel and someone was being towed away in the morning so make sure you pay for your parking. As it is downtown I would not leave anything valuable in the vehicle. We did not see any security watching over the parking lot at night. come into Edmonton Marriot via Jasper Avenue - quite easy to find.

Room Tip: room with a view on river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    146
    62
    29
    19
See reviews for
45
76
27
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Marriot Courtyard in Edmonton and had a wonderfull stay.
I was a little weary of choosing to stay at the Courtyard in Edmonton because of the rating on tripadvisor but we were really pleasantly suprised. The hotels reception desk, foyer, dinning room and bar area has recently had a facelift and has been really well done. It's modern and inviting and has a wonderfull view of the river. We hadn't booked before we arrived and the gentlemen at the desk were helpfull and friendly and we ended up with a great room. We got a twin queen room on the corner of the building which was huge and even had a extra window in the bathroom which looked further down river which was an extra great view. Make sure you ask for a riverside room, its a really nice view. The rooms aren't ultra modern but are styled well and the beds are comfortable. The location of the hotel is great for downtown lot's of shopping and places to eat just a short walk away. The underground parking is a bit expensive and there is a public carpark right outside the building - I didn't check the prices because I was told straight away at check-in that parking with the hotel works out cheaper. We ate at the restaurant our first night and had wonderfull, friendly service from a great gentlemen that we chatted with eveytime we saw him. The food was good and my husband loved his pulled pork sandwich. The only not so good thing about our stay was the confusion and sometimes flustered looking reception desk. The front desk thought we were checking out before we actually were and I had to go down to fix it up with them. I had also arranged to pay with a different card upon checkout and even as I was standing at the front desk different card in hand the guy put our payment through on the wrong card. Needless to stay I was most upset because the card he had charged had not been set up with foreign currency which incurs extra exchange fees with our bank. But, the best bit was this guy was on the phone trying to get help to fix a printer the ENTIRE time he was dealing with me. It was a shame really becuase some of the staff were really excellent and loved chatting to our son and were great and then there was this sort of thing. Other than that, this a really well priced hotel in downtown Edmonton and I would recommend it to anyone looking for value for money just double and triple check everything with reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This property has a central downtown location across the street from the World Trade Centre and close to shopping and business in downtown Edmonton...

I think the property has recently been refreshed and looks very nice. I thought the room was average and that the pillows could be upgraded..an oppportunity there...the bathrooms are small and for a woman travelling there isnt much space to put your essentials - but that is just the was it is...also bathtubs are older - but in okay condition for a bather...nothing interesting about that experience.

Their is very limited room service which I was disappointed in...I really wanted room service for breakfast - not an option...and under staffed during breakfast and lunch..so took a bit of time with a limited menu for breakfast - no omelettes...etc..mediocre on the food taste and quality...so some opportunities their as well.

Well trained and personable front desk staff...a nice extra is the market where you can grab some items - items are limited and could be expanded there as well with more healthy snack options from local businesses rather than just super market choices...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks MarinaWinnipeg for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

last time I stayed in edmonton I stayed at the Fairmont next door, very expensive.
The Marriot was perfect for the price, rooms much larger,riverfront view from rooms excellent,clean and comfortable. The only negative was parking (20-30 dollars per nite).
Food was good nothing fancy. I would stay there again

Room Tip: get a room up as high as possible with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thanks so very much HughyN for writing a review and recommendation! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area!

Best regards,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Nb
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

A recent trip for surgery in Edmonton brought us to the Courtyard in downtown Edmonton. The hotel is very clean and modern. The location was excellent, within a few blocks of anything you could ever need. We had asked for an early check in due to a hospital discharge but this was not accomodated, which was fine but I just wanted to give a heads up in case others find themselves with a similar need. The staff were friendly and efficient but there was no "wow" factor at this particular Courtyard. We found the room to be spacious and well kept with clean and comfortable beds with a great size bathroom. The hotel was fairly priced for the area.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoLittletime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Best Regards,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at the Marriot downtown due to the perfect location it was in. It was my first time staying at a Marriot and I was really impressed with the rooms. Our room had a big comfy King sized bed and although the room was kind of small the bathroom was larger than most hotel bathrooms now a days, which was nice. The room was bright and clean with nice decor and it came with a fridge without us having to ask for one. We luckily got a room facing the river and it was nice to look out over Edmonton in the mornings. I travel alot and really focus on the service aspect when staying at different hotels. The check in staff didn't make eye contact or even smile at us once.. I even tried to make conversation and neither of them seemed interested in talking. I think that if the staff seemed more interested and happy while working this would have been a perfect stay. Regardless we will be staying here each time we come to Edmonton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darienalyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear darienalyssa,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay. I am pleased that you found your room to be enjoyable. However, I would like to offer my apologies for the service you experienced as it does not meet the high standards of Marriott . Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations the Courtyard Edmonton has to offer.

Best Regards,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed there on 26th dec,2011. Overall its a nice hotel. It modern and cozy. Beds and pillows are really comfy.
There is no swimming pool/hot tub, although it was my mistake for not checking before booking the room.
Gym was updated recently. Its nice.
Staff at the hotel is friendly. I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: parking is $22. On evening 6pm-9am, parking is free on roads. Sunday and stat holidays parking are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thanks very much for your review Pathfinderfan! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad you had a great stay with us – we look forward to seeing you next time you’re in town!

Truly yours,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Property: Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Address: 99th Street & Jasper Avenue 1 Thornton Crt NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Edmonton Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Edmonton hotel is conveniently located next to Shaw Conference Centre and other Edmonton attractions. Experience the new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown hotel, Edmonton's foremost business-class hotel, specializing in casual riverside luxury. This Edmonton Downtown hotel features 177 tastefully appointed guestrooms with free WiFi and a mini-fridge for your convenience. Panoramic views of the river valley and our downtown business district add to the excitement of this magnificent Edmonton hotel. An excellent choice among Edmonton restaurants, our Riverside Bistro serves delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Meeting Rooms offer a spectacular view of the river valley with floor-to-ceiling windows. Facilitating groups of 2 - 100 people, our Meeting Rooms are designed to ensure that every need is met. Among Edmonton hotels and meeting facilities the Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Courtyard
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing