We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for West Edmonton Mall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location for West Edmonton Mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Good location if you're going to the West Edmonton Mall, but the beds were hard and uncomfortable. People not the friendliest and hard to understand. Self parking, neighborhood seemed safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundNAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    256
    70
    13
    10
See reviews for
246
186
38
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Often travelling to Edmonton with the family, we stay here over 10 nights a year, we tried other hotels but we always come back. The staff treat you like family, the facility is great, clean room, lots of room in all the room and the restaurant although not cheap serves good food when you are tired and just want to have a quick bite before crawling into bed. The location is excellent, you are within 20 minutes drive from anything on the North and West side of Edmonton. The one thing we do not like, is the three bath towels in the bathroom, I always forget at checkin and always have to call housekeeping to get the fourth four the fourth member of our family. And if you stay there, check the bed firmness setting, if you do not set the bed to your preference you might not enjoy your night sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughintheFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Hugh,

I want to thank you for your comments and for making our property your "Home away from Home" when visiting Edmonton. We welcome your return and will add a 4th pillow!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I would like to start off by saying this hotel is great. We had a suite on the 3rd floor, the room was very clean, well appointed and exactly what we expected. The double sided fireplace was a nice touch. The staff were great. The front desk staff were great checking in, the kitchen and serving staff were wonderful, both for breakfast and room service. The food was excellent. The cleaning staff did a excellent job.
The hotel itself is easily acessable and conveniently located. There are many dining choices nearby and it's easy to get to the Anthony Henday freeway which is the ring road for the city and will take you anywhere you need to go. The west edmonton mall is also only 10 minutes or less away.
But our experience was ruined by wild out of control children. A big selling point was the pool, which was fun until a large group of 10-13 year olds showed up and started to dive in and make a racket. Totally unsupervised, when the sign clearly says 14 and under need supervision. It was impossible to swim with my 4 year old. We complained to the front desk and they did try to kick them out of the pool, tried to go back the next day but there was lots of them in their literally screaming and yelling like banshees totally wild and out of control. We didn't even bother, we went to world waterpark costing me around 100 bucks for the family.
Then in the evenings it got worse. The front desk explained that it was a team of hockey kids and siblings causing the riot. I explained that i had been on many a team in my day and being on a team is no excuse to act like a savage. They were running around the hotel throwing ice everywhere, knocking on doors. screaming. The parents either condoned this or encouraged it. They didn't seem to care as they roamed the hallways and elevators drinking so didn't expect much better from these seemingly unsupervised children. The front desk was called several times both Friday and Saturday, which only seemed to encourage them as they knew it was our room calling as we seemed to be the only non member of this exclusively out of control and disrespectful group.
Even at the breakfast buffet, lack of order ruled the day. These disrespectful little hooligans cut in line, didn't even seem to know what a lineup was. They almost knocked my 4 year old daughter down several times as she waited with me, it was a long wait as several children and parents darted in front of us to grab whatever they could.
The behavior of this team truly shocked me. I've never been so astonished in my life to see this kind of behavior in a hotel. I felt bad for the staff who did do their best to keep things uinder control but you can't exactly kick out half the hotel. But as the sunday checkouts began i could see a common theme in front as every guest who wasn't from these hockey teams had similar complaints to mine. The hotel was good enough to refund 80 dollars of my money.
The hotel is great the staff did well but i will not stay here again unless they stop booking teams or the hotel somehow assures me that this level of wildness will never happen again.
It was truly mind boggling, i likely would have had a better stay at the yellowhead inn or a similar fleabag motel then the hilton garden inn edmonton west.

Room Tip: Pick a suite, the extra room is wonderful and the jacuzzi tub in the ensuite was relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilfielddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to take this time to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a trip advisor review. We strive to make each and every stay with us a memorable experience for our guests. On the odd occasion we do not meet even our own standards. In reviewing your comments of us, I agree fully that the group in question was a challenge for us. This unique experience has resulted in policy changes that I am confident will have a positive effect. Having recently joined this property as its new General Manager I value your detailed comments that have been most helpful and thank you for your patience.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel again on work/weekend get-away with my wife & 2 children. I didn't know but their pool was closed for maintenance but they gave us 2 passes to West Edmonton Mall Waterpark. The kids & my wife had a blast for almost free at the wterpark (unfortunately I had a tradeshow). The food at the restaurantwas excellent particularly the 5 mushroom soup which is now a permanent on th menu. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area as I have stayed here regularly for a few years now it's consistently top notch in all aspects.

Room Tip: Get a room facing south for agreatview of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of us, we strive to make each and every visit to us a positive experience. We have completed work on our pool, however It sounds like the indoor waterpark suited your family just fine. Thank you for being patient with us during our pool closure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is in easy drive to the WEM and several places to eat and shop. There is a great chinese restaurant next door. The hotel was quiet evan though I think the hotel was fully booked up. The pool was small but not too many people were in it so the kids had a great time. Over all the place worked great for a family getaway to the WEM.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khyron1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for staying with us and for choosing Edmonton for your familiies weekend away from Saskatooon.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Enjoyed my stay here this week.

The checkin was quick, and the housekeeping consistent. No problems with the room.

I met the new manager at the Reception last night - very nice, hospitable, and he seemed genuinely interested in our feedback.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure meeting you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We rented 4 rooms for a staff weekend and were very happy. The rooms are comfortable, affordable and the front desk staff very accommodating even when you ask for extras!

Room Tip: We had 3 regular rooms and a suite. The suite was absolutely beautiful and allowed us a place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkers765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad your group from Edson enjoyed their stay with us, I will share your positive feedback with my team.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing