We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable, but not truly "Great"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but not truly "Great"”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I just recently stayed at the hotel for business. Based on the reviews, I expected so much more...

A few quick thoughts come to mind:
> The hotel was loud, there was a disturbance on the floor during the night where security had to "exit" people - swearing and yelling. (I was on 6th floor which is supposedly secure). This was at 4:30/5:00am
> This is one of the few hotels I've been to in the past year where Internet costs $15/day... This is shocking as most hotels in this price range are FREE.
> The linens in the bathroom are TERRIBLE - once again, not aligned with the the Marriott chain (which I enjoy and am an Elite member) nor are the linens aligned with the price. They're thin and rough and I would throw them out ASAP.
> Everything has that "casino" smell. Even the bed. I HATE smoky air freshened smell when I'm travelling on business and not in Las Vegas...
> The room had two doubles... who does doubles any more? Why not queens? or... where's my KING?

All the above aside, the room was comfortable if not a bit small, but the view was terrible - expanse of parking lot and the city in the far, far distance. I didn't bother with the food as most of the choices were located in the casino. Also, the ever present security guards and video cameras make it so very difficult to relax when in the public spaces.

There's also little in terms of ammenities nearby. Everything is a car drive.

One bright spot - the Front desk staff and the hotel "At your service" operators were GREAT and very friendly. Always great to run into friendly folks who are there to help!

I've stayed at Marriotts elsewhere... This one just doesn't measure up.

IMHO, there are better choices in Edmonton.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Also, try to get a higher room # - further away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    148
    85
    29
    22
See reviews for
80
133
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at the River Cree resort for a dance competition, and were very happy with the room and the banquet facilities. The staff was friendly and helpful, and everything met our expectations. And for a bonus, we enjoyed a "guest" front-of-the-line reservation at the Friday night all-you-could-eat seafood buffet! Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My mother and I recently stayed at the Cree Marriott, and we had a wonderful time. The pool was very pleasant with a nice hot tub and the casino was a lot of fun. We had a wonderful view of the city from our room. The breakfast buffet was very good and I particularly loved the smoked salmon. All in all, I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponoka, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great hotel with caring employees who take the e xtra time to make our stay more special. The upgrade was exceptional. The view is beautiful of city centre. The extra touches (birthday card, birthday wishes from employees) thank you. Staff is always there to help when needed and very pleasant. Thank you for making my husbands 55th birthday unforgettable. Great time and we'll see you on our next special occasion. Your hotel has it all-casino, resturants, view, spacious clean rooms, caring staff, and close to shopping. Keep up the great work. Marriot should be very proud of this hotel in Enoch.

Room Tip: rooms on 8 and 9th are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Love this hotel, the staff is super helpful, the pool is amazing, so close to great shopping and the food is excellent! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and even though the hotel is busy it still feels like your the only one there. The casino is fun but there is so much more to it... Will be the choice place to stay for our families stays in Edmonton !!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel_up_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just got back from this hotel and if you are traveling with kids this is not the place for you. There is limited food choices for families as the resteraunt is in the casino and the staff is not knowledgeable nor helpful when it comes to questions about making your stay a pleasant one. Also it is quite far to get to any amenities you may want to visit. We also felt a bit unsafe as security felt the need to be constantly patrolling hallways of the hotel, although we did see questionable people in the lobby so it was a bit comforting that they kept an eye in things
Unless you are gamblers without kids I would not reccomend this hotel if you are visiting the Edmonton area

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a large hotel on the far western edge of town, with a casino accessible from the lobby. The rooms are reasonably nice, and the hotel has a nice first nations decor theme with teepees lining the approach. The buffet restaurant is good. As other reviewers have mentioned, the cigarette smoke from the casino contaminates the lobby, but not the upper floors. You should know that you can't walk anywhere from here, it is to the west of the major ring road around Edmonton. The views are of windswept fields, and Edmonton in the distance. The long, long corridors can be noisy. If you are passing through town and want to stay on the ring road with a little touch of rural Alberta's imitation of Vegas, this is a good place. Avoid it if you are trying to stop smoking or gambling!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryfamily65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
616 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing