We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb in everything, as usual!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ox Inn

Red Ox Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Ox Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 2,377 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 95 Ave.
Istria, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb in everything, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is our favourite place to eat in Edmonton for several reasons. The staff is absolutely top notch and could not be improved upon whatsoever. They are discreet, incredibly knowledgable and genuinely care about you, the customer. The food is remarkable. Each time we do not want our dish to end as they are so wonderful. It is THE place to go for a special occasion or just because. Kudos to the staff! We left very satisfied and happy. Thank you for treating us so well!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chefathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    40
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great special occasion restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Tucked away in an small neighbourhood shopping area, this restaurant serves a reliably great but limited menu. It's small and intimate and expensive. We've gone there for years for spcial occasions, such as Valentine's Day, birthdays, and anniversaries. The service is excellent.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Binderr_Dundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Too salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I've been here multiple times and in general it's great food, all my friends rave about it. BUT....my problem is that for fine dining, I find the food way over seasoned and salty.
A good chef should be able to prepare meals and bring out flavours of the choice meats, not drench it with salts and sauces.

On the flip side, the goat cheese salad is to die for....

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Nicely Presented, Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have been to this restaurant many times for dinner meetings and every single time, I walk away feeling satisfied - having had fresh, deliciously prepared food that's always a little different than the usual. Last night was no different. I had a light beet salad to start, followed by Atlantic cod that was so fresh, the meat melted in my mouth. The cod was very tasty and done just right, accompanied by the most interesting and tasty crab cake I have ever had. The root vegetables that came with the meal was also very tasty. The white chocolate bread pudding was yummy! I have never had anything there that I did not like in the many times that I've been there.

The service is consistently good as well.

Book at least a week in advance if you want to go there as it is a rather small restaurant so it books up fast. Definitely would go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice gourmet meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Red dy for more, oxsollent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Hello old friend I missed you but was reminded why you are so good. A menu with tuna ahi to start, beef tartare that melts in your mouth and wow! A great wine list and service second to none. For main the duck was done perfectly and the cod was wonderful with a great broth and crab nest . Dessert was a bread pudding that went so well with a port . A great lil place that is what dining is all about

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snipersdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Ox Inn also viewed

 

Been to Red Ox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing