We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, friendly and accommodating staff!”
Review of Szechuan Castle

Szechuan Castle
Ranked #564 of 2,637 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We are located in Edmonton.We have been voted # 1 by Edmontonians for over the past 28 years. After your first bite! You'll know why. Our customer's have said..."Szechuan Castle has the tastiest Chinese food in Edmonton". In business since 1989,Szechuan Castle is fully licensed. Szechuan Castle is dedicated to providing the best Szechuan style cuisine experience in Edmonton. We want to share the rich flavors and culture of china through our food.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We decided to check this place out on a whim and I'm glad we did. Even though we arrived 10 mins prior to the dinner buffet, we were welcomed in by friendly staff who greeted us in a courteous manner and got us our drinks. We had one party who wasn't able to eat certain things due to a medical condition. The staff didn't hesitate to step in and offer alternatives at no additional cost. The food was fresh 4pm and amazing. I've been to 4 different Chinese restaurants in Alberta since I arrived here from Ontario in a little over 3 years and this is the place to go. Nice clean facility, great food and friendly staff. That's all you can ask for. The price was really good as well 19.99 for a dinner buffet. Options: chicken balls, rice, chow mien, sweet and sour spare ribs, mussels, veggie options, dessert bar and salad bar. They also have a big gluten free selection on their menu. Highly recommended.

Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Hi Ashley S.,

We are pleased that your group decided to dine at #szechuancastle yesterday.

Our staff prides it self on being friendly,helpful and courteous,we appreciate
you mentioning this to the chinese food lovers around the world. Happy to hear that
we are your...New Go to chinese restaurant since moving here from Ontario. Also,it's
so nice of you to Highly Recommend Szechuan Castle to people in search of tasty
chinese food in Edmonton. Thanks for your fantastic review of Szechuan Castle.
Have a good day!,see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2016

A limited terrible buffet. This restaurant is designed for white people who do not want Chinese food, but want to eat in a Chinese themed local.

Thank bryanharnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

You said..."A limited terrible buffet. This restaurant is designed for white people".

I'm sorry! we didn't 'live up to your expectations.Your statements just are not
True...And here's why...

The truth is we wouldn't have been able to stay in business
for the past 27 years if our buffet was limited;I'm just wondering how much more
variation were you looking for? Our buffet has 26 items,Salad bar has 5
items,Desert bar has 7 items,that's 38 items to choose from,for less than $ 0.50
cents per item. No other Chinese food buffet in Edmonton offers as much of a
variation of selections as we do at Szechuan castle.

And last of all we wouldn't know how to design as You stated...a restaurant for just white people.

Szechuan Castle is for everyone regardless of race. Hope you have a better day!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend introduced me to this place and we've been there a handful of times over the last year. We absolutely love the food and have agreed that it's the best Chinese food we've ever had. The Chinese food I was accustomed to growing up was Bings and I always found their food to be too greasy and I always felt sick after eating there. At Szechuan Castle the food isn't like that, there are plenty of selections, the restaurant is clean and the staff is very attentive and friendly.

To the other reviewers who are not a fan of the food and have called it tasteless, I would genuinely like to know what restaurant in Edmonton has better Chinese food because I would like to check it out!

Thank stefaniemb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2016

Hi stefaniemb24,

Your review is like a breath of fresh air...It's simply fantastic and to the point.

We have always tried to provide The Tastiest Chinese Food In Edmonton for our customers;and you have validated this statement. We look forward to seeing You and your boyfriend again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with all the chinese food lovers around the world. Have a good day!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Very good selections & was very tasty. Service was very attentive, and caring. Buffet was very well laid out.

Thank ronar600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Hi ronar600,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience at
szechuan castle. Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice
review on TripAdvisor. Have a good day!. See you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Excellent selection of different kinds of very tasty entries. Not as many as some have, but what is available is very good and way more than is required. Friendly and fast service. Discount for seniors for supper. Will continue to keep going back!

Thank 55,255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Hello Reunion!,
We are pleased to hear that you had a enjoyable dining experience at Szechuan Castle in Edmonton. Glad you appreciate the senior discount; and we will continue to provide friendly fast service. See you again soon. Thanks for the TripAdvisor Szechuan Castle Review. Have a good day!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Szechuan Castle also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing