We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Linens” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Linens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The hotel is obviously going through a renovation period, but the rooms are clean and the linens are white and crisp. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and the location is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolCalgaryCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    20
    16
    15
See reviews for
2
6
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a few times for business and the first time my room was right by the elevator. This was great if I wanted to hear conversations in the middle of the night of intoxicated people. For my next stay, I asked if they could put me in a room not close to the elevator and they put me in a room at the end of the hall by the stairs which again is great if you want to hear people talking. The staff try their best but you definitely see the difference in quality compared to other larger chain hotels. I did appreicate the restaurant in the hotel and I had good meals. The casino is across the parking lot and just be cautious when making the short walk.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonebridgeFM, Director of Sales at Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
With recent new ownership we are now continuing the renovations throughout the rest of the hotel in order to fix the issues you have brought up. We have also recently purchased 46" LED HD TVs for each room in the hotel, and have already installed over half of them, with the remianing to be completed shortly.
Please check back with us next time you are up in Fort McMurray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

It's a cheap hotel in price and in quality. The Tv was horrible, the carpets in our non-smoking room were very old and had cigarette burns. The bed was not very comfortable. But if you just need a place to lay your head it works.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodymae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonebridgeFM, Director of Sales at Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
The new ownership group is dedicated to enhancing the stay for all our guests. We are in the beginning of a major re-investment into the hotel to fix the issues which you have brought up.
The first major investment which we have understaken is to update all TVs in the rooms with 46" LED HD TVs (so far 75% of the hotel rooms have been udpated), top of the line and best in any hotel you will find in Fort McMurray. In addition to the TVs will be full HD programming available in all rooms as well. Please check back in with us soon to see the new TVs.
We are a hotel with great value, and want all our guests to have a great stay with us at a low price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort McMurray hotels

Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The lobby of this hotel and some of the room have been renovated but the elevator was not working and the stairs and hallways were completely outdated. The friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel more than made up for the lack of continuity in decor. This hotel is in a great location and well worth the value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracioushost234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonebridgeFM, Director of Sales at Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
The elevator is now working fine and with new ownership the rest of the hotel is going to be renovated including stairwells and rooms. Rooms now have an updated 46" LED HD TV and HD programming available with them. Soon their will be additional face lifts done to the rest of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We have just returned from Fort McMurray, and a stay at the Stonebridge...all I have to say is looks can be deceiving. From the pictures on the website, it looks like a very nice, and updated hotel. Upon arrival, we saw that the website didn't lie...we were located downtown...across from a little spot where the homeless people like to spend their time. There is very minimal parking in the front, and the rear has parking, that shares a parking lot with the local mall, Tim Hortons, Wendy's and Montans (just to name a few). The hotel also houses a dance club which is on the lower level (this is home to quite a few teenagers who seemed rather "stoned" for lack of better words). The staff at the front desk were very nice, and the check in went smoothly. When we got to our room, which was on the 3rd floor, we exited the elevators, to find 2 chairs for people to sit in, that were about as old as the hotel itself (we were told that the Stonebridge is one of the oldest hotels). The chairs had rather large stains on the seats, of what, I'm not quite sure, and the carpets were very old looking in the hallway. We got to our room and put the key in the swipe box and the door "opened" about an inch (This is the same with the bathroom door in the room). Inside the room, we had a queen bed, fridge, microwave, TV, and work desk. The bathroom has a very odd layout. The bathroom counter, was about 3 feet off of the floor, with minimal counter space and a sink that was beside the toilet on an angle. The taps on the sink, were ancient, and the same goes for the shower.
The carpet in the room, even though we had a non-smoking, had cigarette burns in it everywhere. The bed was actualy comfortable enough, but that is about the only good thing about this room. We paid $119 for the room, which was a special rate they had on. I guess te saying is true; you get what you pay for! There was also a resturant attached, but I believe that Tim Hortons would be the right choice! I think that when they upgraded the outside of this hotel, the inside should have been done as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffles_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Okay so I get the jacuzzi room with a king size bed for me and my boyfriend because we havent seen each other in over 2 months. First I notice some little flies but kill them, then I go to have a shower and the shower is either really hot or really cold with no pressure at all so i kept having to turn the water from hot to cold, and cold to hot every 30 seconds to get a good temp. Then I notice more flies. So I asked to move rooms, There are no more jacuzzi rooms available so I take a king suite. OMG soon as i walked into the door it was like some ghetto 70's fun down hotel that you see people renting on movies when they are poor and have no money. So I check out right away and didnt even stay a night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilg5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

nice front desk staff, and great housekeepers everything you need in a hotel.
Thanks guys

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secord16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
2.2 km away
Merit Hotel & Suites
Merit Hotel & Suites
#3 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 km away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Clearwater Suite Hotel
#5 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 km away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#6 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 km away
Nomad Hotel and Suites
Nomad Hotel and Suites
#9 of 19 in Fort McMurray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray

Property: Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray
Address: 9713 Hardin Street, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H1L2, Canada (Formerly Travelodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Fort McMurray, the Stonebridge Hotel is in the ideal location and the place to stay for the best service and absolute value. All our rooms feature fridges and microwaves, brand new 2011 internet enabled 46" LED HD TVs, free local calls and complimentary high speed internet. Enjoy our free fitness room, free business centre and free energized parking. We have a Smitty's restaurant and Bailey's Pub inside the hotel for your convenience with available room service. Stay at Stonebridge and experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonebridge Hotel Fort McMurray Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing