We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
331
315
118
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
315
118
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop icefields parkway pot pie log fire rocky mountain the ice fields parkway fine dining lake louise staff was very friendly and helpful remote location great restaurant one night stay a great place to stay breakfast and dinner little pricey canadian rockies black beans
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 831 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 5 just stayed at Sunwapta Falls Lodge for a couple nights while we explored the area. We booked the Sunwapta Suite which consisted of 2 adjoining rooms (one with queen bed, bathroom, and fireplace and one with 2 full beds/bathroom). While it was nothing overly fancy, it was very clean, comfortable and cozy! Our porch faced Icefields Parkway but was still very quiet. They had free Wifi but was somewhat spotty, but to be expected for the remote location. Check in was easy and informative. All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. We had someone come to our room one night to light a fire in our beautiful stone fireplace and they also delivered a microwave to us by request. The gift shop had some cute items and we had dinner in the restaurant one night (made reservations in the morning)—we split a few entrees amongst the 5 of us and it was plenty and all delicious—especially the Hunters Pot Pie! It was my daughter’s 13th birthday and our server treated her to a delicious warm brownie with ice cream—so nice! We enjoyed the easy hike down to the gorgeous falls and loved the easy access to jump on Icefields Parkway to head to other sites in the area. (Athabasca Falls, 5 Lakes, Jasper (40 minute drive, but very scenic —saw elk and a black bear!), Maligne Canyon, etc.). We’re so glad we discovered this little place!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank TexasSunBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Excellent friendly staff bought in for season as the Lodge is closed down in winter. The facility is totaly self sufficient due to its location but all that you need is available. The breakfasts were good, sandwiches to take out were excellent and the pino collado muffins - awsome. Staff helped with suggestions of what to see- Athabasca and Sunwapta falls - stunning surrounding mountains glaciers are a walkers paradise and Jasper is not to far away (30 mins) where a cyber internet Laundrette is available along with all other town facilities

Room Tip: Could do with freshen up but not a real issue
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rgrain734506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and allocated a lodge at the back of the premises.
Basic room but satisfactory.
Someone comes to your lodge to build a fire upon your request but this can be s long wait. We asked for a fire about 9.30 pm one night but man did not call til gone 10.20 - cancelled it...... because it was too late.
Had a nice meal in the restaurant the first night ( as the premises are about 45 mins away from Jasper - there is nowhere else to eat. )
The meal was really expensive.
Breakfast was a similar visit and expensive.
Did not eat there again !
Good location and different.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Plodder588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as an alternative to staying in Jasper where everything was booked.
Whilst the staff was super friendly, the lodges are really dated. I felt uncomfortable walking around on the carpet and there was a strong sewage smell outside of our bungalow. I had high expectations given the good reviews but this was simply too much 70s style for me.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank barbaradelputte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Wonderful staff means I will return to Sunwapta. Don't expect cell coverage or great TV reception, go for the Rockies, the Falls and the people. Good quality food in the restaurant, and decent prices in botrh the restaurant and gift shop.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vicdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews