We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
295
300
115
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
300
115
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsicefields parkwaygift shoppot piecabin stylelog firerooms are basicrocky mountainlake louisefine diningremote locationstayed here for one nightbreakfast and dinnerlittle priceya great place to staycanadian rockiestour busesblack beans
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 777 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Stayed there for one night in unit 2A, for the price, expected something more than the cracked glass in the window and uncomfortable, squeaky bed. Dinner at the restaurant was very good; however, breakfast was mediocre at best.... even after sending eggs back because they were overcooked, the same result.... Overall, my impression is that it is an average, adequate place to stay, would not spend the $ to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

My partner and I stayed at this property in July 2018 in order to be close to the athabasca glacier so that we would not have to drive all the way from Banff the day of our tour. We checked in at night, and appreciated that there was a friendly face at the check in desk to help us at 10pm. She told us about the area and showed us to our room quickly so that we were able to catch the Sunwapta Falls before darkness set in. The room was clean and comfortable. I was a bit disappointed that we were put into the wrong type of room (different from what I had booked), but after discussions with the manager this issue was managed effectively and I would highly recommend this lodge for your upcoming vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Very cozy room and the staff are top notch! We had a little computer glitch on our hotel stay when we arrived and the staff helped us out and made sure our stay was taken care of. We really appreciated the hospitality. The rooms were very well cleaned and equipped with the basics we needed. We dined in the restaurant (be sure to make reservations) and really enjoyed our meals and shopped at the gift shop (purchased an Inukshuk). We had one of the staff come to our room and start a fire (in July) which was really nice. The lodge is right down the street from the Sunwapta Falls, which is wonderful. The front desk gave us the best ideas for hikes and scenery. Loved the suggestions! Thanks Sunwapta! I hope to be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: King cabins with back porch are great!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 5 just stayed at Sunwapta Falls Lodge for a couple nights while we explored the area. We booked the Sunwapta Suite which consisted of 2 adjoining rooms (one with queen bed, bathroom, and fireplace and one with 2 full beds/bathroom). While it was nothing overly fancy, it was very clean, comfortable and cozy! Our porch faced Icefields Parkway but was still very quiet. They had free Wifi but was somewhat spotty, but to be expected for the remote location. Check in was easy and informative. All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. We had someone come to our room one night to light a fire in our beautiful stone fireplace and they also delivered a microwave to us by request. The gift shop had some cute items and we had dinner in the restaurant one night (made reservations in the morning)—we split a few entrees amongst the 5 of us and it was plenty and all delicious—especially the Hunters Pot Pie! It was my daughter’s 13th birthday and our server treated her to a delicious warm brownie with ice cream—so nice! We enjoyed the easy hike down to the gorgeous falls and loved the easy access to jump on Icefields Parkway to head to other sites in the area. (Athabasca Falls, 5 Lakes, Jasper (40 minute drive, but very scenic —saw elk and a black bear!), Maligne Canyon, etc.). We’re so glad we discovered this little place!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank TexasSunBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Excellent friendly staff bought in for season as the Lodge is closed down in winter. The facility is totaly self sufficient due to its location but all that you need is available. The breakfasts were good, sandwiches to take out were excellent and the pino collado muffins - awsome. Staff helped with suggestions of what to see- Athabasca and Sunwapta falls - stunning surrounding mountains glaciers are a walkers paradise and Jasper is not to far away (30 mins) where a cyber internet Laundrette is available along with all other town facilities

Room Tip: Could do with freshen up but not a real issue
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rgrain734506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews