We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
332
315
118
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
315
118
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop icefields parkway pot pie log fire rocky mountain the ice fields parkway fine dining lake louise staff was very friendly and helpful remote location great restaurant one night stay a great place to stay breakfast and dinner little pricey canadian rockies black beans
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 832 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This was an excellent place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and the people very friendly and hospitable. They gave us detailed information about the surroundings and everything we could do from there to Jasper and they gave us a map!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dfscssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

HI dfscssmith!

Thanks so much for staying with us! We really appreciate that!

It's our pleasure to help our guests get out there and connect with nature. There is SOOO much to do and see and frankly it can be super overwhelming to figure out on your own. We have some great self-drive plans and easy to understand maps, but also our front desk team really takes time out to help people make custom daily plans! We act as ticketing agents for all the area activities so we can even help out with bookings for Icefields, Skywalk, Whitewater Rafting, Jasper Tramway, Maligne Lk Boat Cruise, Horseback Riding, Helitours, Guided fishing and more!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the stay here. We have replaced the majority of our beds in the past two years so they are all comfy

If you are considering booking with us, I highly recommend checking out our online booking directly on our website. We offer up to the LAST ROOM available there (and nowhere else). You will also find accurate descriptions, pictures and the best rates. If you have questions you would like answered we answer all of our own phones, emails and social messages! We don't farm it out so you are always getting the correct info, inside tips, and exclusive service:

Phone: 780-882-4852 / 888-828-5777
e: info@sunwapta.com
Facebook: @SunwaptaFalls
Chatbot: on our website!

Thanks again dfscssmith! We hope we can have you back again in the future!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

My family, my parents and my husband, spent 3 nights here. One of the main reasons I chose it was because of the location. It’s within walking distance to the the Sunwapta Falls.

When we checked in we were helped by a young lady named Amber who was a joy to speak and deal with. She told us all about the property and informed us about available activities as well as gave us an idea about driving times to places we intended to visit. Her friendly demeanor helped a lot.

My parents and I walked to the falls the same day/evening we arrived. What can I say? They’re beautiful and powerful. We went again before leaving.

As I mentioned, it’s a great location which meant we were also 25 kilos from Athabasca Falls and 53 from the town of Jasper.

The only negative was that there was zero phone reception. That being said, we did have WiFi which was good enough for what we needed.

We didn’t try dinner at the restaurant but did have breakfast there every morning. Breakfast was great.

If you’re headed up to Jasper National Park, this would be a great place to stay and get away from the hustle and bustle.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 337amali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi Amal!

Thanks so much for this great review. I can say Amber was especially excited to read it . All of our staff on the desk really enjoy being here and it shows in the care and attention they dedicate to everyone staying with us. I am so impressed with the front desk team and it's nice to see they're really helping people have fantastic experiences in the Park!

It's awesome to hear you were able to go to the falls a couple of times during your stay. So many times in life we end up rushing around and missing the beautiful things nearby. For those interested, we have a few small hikes right from any room. Outside of the main falls, there are the lower falls and for those interested in a longer hike or even bike, there's the 12km return trip to Big Bend. We also have an awesome viewpoint across the road we call 'the Bluff' which gives FANTASTIC views of the Catacomb mountains looking west and the Athabasca Valley.

On cell reception and internet! There is basically no cell reception for the 200km between Lake Louise and about 20km south of Jasper. We are hoping that changes sometime soon, but it's been this way since the dawn of cell phones :)

Our internet is provided by satellite and is not always reliable, and definitely NOT high speed. Feeling tense about that LOL! If you require high speed internet and connectivity for work or entertainment it’s best to choose another hotel located in the town of Jasper. For the rest of us that don't mind a little break once in a while to unplug, Sunwapta is just fine.

All your questions like these and MORE can be answered directly by the awesome front desk team! Just reach out however you prefer:

Ph: 780-852-4852 /888-828-5777
e: info@sunwapta.com
Facebook (for messenger): @SunwaptaFalls


Thanks again Amal!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Was a nice place to stay. Had a nice evening and good meal. Being able to buy off sales beer would have been nice though. Im running out of words to say to get to the 200 word minimum. So I'll just keep typing random thoughts.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dave!

I love this review you did well to hit the 200 word minimum

I'll be just as quick: The evening dining is awesome, and has won the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence several times (as has the hotel). WE DO allow guests to buy alcohol to take back to their room; we are not permitted to sell off sales to passers by.

If you want to dine with us in the evening, our first seating is at 6:30pm and you need reservations! You can make those, ask lots of questions, and get info on rooms with full access right to the last room available, just by contacting us. And we answer our own phones, emails, and social messages!

P: h: 780-852-4852 /888-828-5777
E: info@sunwapta.com
Facebook (for messenger): @SunwaptaFalls

I think I exceeded 200 words:) Thanks so much again Dave, super appreciate you chose us, and took time to leave a review!!!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Great place and helpful staff they gave us so many ideas i can not thank them enough.We travelled from Australia and had no idea until speaking to the Manager about what we wanted to do.It is a great place to stay on your way down from jasper or up from Lake Louise.

Room tip: we would have liked a bigger room for a family of 5.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenlorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi Karen!

It was a pleasure to have you stay, and Stewart sends his best regards. He's happy his advice helped you create great memories in Jasper!

We appreciate your endorsement, and also that you chose us of all the hotels to choose from in Jasper National Park

For the readers out there, you will find we answer all of our own phones, emails, and social messages. If you want to browse our rooms, the BEST place to do that is right from our own website as we have all room types available. If you have detailed questions, just reach out! We're here to help

Ph: 780-852-4852 /888-828-5777
e: info@sunwapta.com
Facebook (for messenger): @SunwaptaFalls

Thanks again Karen! If you have a chance to make it across the world again, we'd love to have you back!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Loved the location and friendly desk folks. Loved the falls. Close to Jasper and also Athabasca Glacier. Couldn't be a better location. Nice drive where we saw bear, elk and deer on road. Great staff.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johnbritt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi John!

That's so amazing you had the chance to see wildlife! Even a bear! Great!

Thanks so much for staying with us, we really appreciate that you chose us for your time in Jasper National Park. The front desk is incredible. I've been really impressed with their upbeat friendly attitudes and how much they've been enjoying helping visitors from all over the world experience the Park.

For the readers out there, we are located almost directly between the town of Jasper and the famous Columbia Icefields where there are the Snow Coach tours. There is a wonderful falls just a short walk from any room, and many other short, easy grade hikes right around us! Because of our location, it's super quiet here at night and with no cell phone reception and slow internet (it's the best we can get...but it's impossible to stream video for example), Sunwapta is a great location to unplug, connect with nature and enjoy the company of the people you are with.

If you have any questions about our location, activities, our rooms and restaurant (which is awesome!), don't hesitate to reach out. We answer our own phones right at the front desk, and also reply to all emails and social media messages! So you always get the best info:


Ph: 780-852-4852 /888-828-5777
e: info@sunwapta.com
Facebook (for messenger): @SunwaptaFalls

John, so glad you enjoyed the stay! Thanks again

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews