We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
199
18
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
18
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning gorgeous views bob wildlife mountains drive jasper recliner bear cook
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 223 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Stayed in the Pocohantas Room for 6 nights. Largest room of the B&B, jacuzzi, access from our room to the shared deck for watching sunsets. Glenda and Bob are very accommodating hosts and Bob's breakfasts will keep you going throughout the day. Each morning we sat down to freshly baked pastries, fruit and yogurt and a cooked breakfast.
As mentioned on the website the drive to Windswept is a good 35 - 40 minutes from Jasper village so if you are planning most of your activities close in you may want to consider staying closer in as you will spend a lot of time in your car going and coming. Having said that, we enjoyed our room, the bountiful breakfasts and the hospitality of our hosts. We also enjoyed 2 very good meals the Poco Cafe at the Pocohantas Bungalows just down the road from Wyndswept.

Room Tip: Pocohantas, definitely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for the great review and for taking time to sit and write it.

Yes everyone tells us after breakfast they don't need to eat again till dinner! Good thing most people walk all day
Glad you got to enjoy some of our famous sunsets!

Again, thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We stayed 3 nights in the Chickadee Suite. I normally don’t like surprises on my vacations, but we booked Wyndswept based on TripAdvisor reviews and weren’t sure what to make of some reviewers’ comments about “the rules.” However, upon our arrival any doubts we may have had were completely gone and we were pleasantly surprised at how amazing everything was. Glenda was extremely nice and even did some laundry for us! Her dinner recommendations were helpful and we wound up having a lovely dinner at the Overlander Lodge. The room was much larger than we were anticipating and it truly felt like a suite. The separate TV room with recliners was just what we needed after a long day of hiking. Breakfast by Bob was so hearty that it filled us up well into lunch each day! We enjoyed listening to his stories and seeing his photos of the local wildlife.

We were a little worried that we might have picked a place too far outside of Jasper, but our fears were unfounded. We wound up very much enjoying the drive both into and out of the park because each time we saw so much wildlife (e.g., elk, big horn sheep). The list that Glenda and Bob provided us of suggested activities was great, as it gave us additional items to add to our “must do” list. We’re glad we did them, especially the Moose Lake walk (saw a moose) and the Pyramid Lake walk (saw a grizzly and black bear)! Jasper National Park was our favorite park we visited on our two-week Canadian hiking trip and we very much enjoyed our stay at Wyndswept.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EZGlobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerworld, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Hey folks, that's funny you mention the moose at Moose Lake as so many people have said that this summer. Today his picture was on the front page of the local newspaper.

Yes, its a very hard job to determine how much information to give people ahead of time about what to expect but when we travel we don't like surprises so we treat our guests the same way and give them all the information they require to make a good decision. It just makes for a more seamless arrival and stay.
Any suggestions to improve our delivery are happily listened too.

I am glad you liked JNP. More and more over the years guests are telling us that.

Thank you so so much for taking the time out of your day to do a review. We greatly appreciate that.

Our rainy weather of this summer has disappeared and so far all of Sept has been warm and dry making for a gorgeous drive with brilliant yellow leaves. I was over in Jasper today and had to keep stopping to take pictures of the beauty around me.

Thanks again for choosing us and thanks for taking the time to review us. Appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Bob and Glenda are simply wonderful and have a comfortable B&B! The hospitality was superb! Very comfortable bed, the room was terrific with lots of added touches that made it special. We stayed in the Pocohantas room which had the best views of the mountains. Bob's breakfasts in the morning are some of the best I have ever had.
Thank you to both of them for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: The Pocohantas room has wonderful views!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerworld, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you so much folks for taking the time to do a review.
That's important to us.

Guests have been raving to me about Bob's breakfasts and started calling him Marty Stewart.

We appreciate you choosing Wyndswept!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Location was perfect, Bob so knowledgeable on what to do and see in area ...wish we had been staying longer. Bob definitely made us want to come back in the future. Breakfast was great. Lovely restaurant for dinner close by which was nice after long day of driving.

Room Tip: recommend mountain view room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerworld, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Well you will be happy to be back in Ontario enjoying the warm weather as we are now definitely fall.

Despite the cooler temps the leaves are just gorgeous and the big trophy elks are blocking traffic on the highway.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

If you do come back in the future you will be able to experience some new dishes as he is taking another class this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016

There are lot's of positives and negatives about this place, and as Glenda will surely say she lets guests know ahead of time of all the rules and expectations. First the pluses - the drive along the Yellowhead highway is beautiful, everyday we saw wildlife on the side of the road - elk and goats. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the touch of having a coffee maker, cups etc in the room. The negatives for us ( maybe not you) were that the breakfast time was so strictly enforced. The first day we were there right at 8:30 we got a heavy knock on the door letting us know we were late, a minute later another knock. We were literally 5 minutes late the first day, definitely didn't make that mistake the next 2 days. Felt like a child being scolded, which I didn't need on vacation. We really enjoyed talking to the other guests every morning, just wish it was a bit more relaxed. Also, it is at least 55km from Jasper, and takes more like 45min as it is a bit slower of a highway with all the wildlife, and RV's on the road. Don't rely on Google maps to get there, as it took us another 20km to the town of Hinton. Our fault for not pulling over and phoning Glenda sooner.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank souschef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerworld, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you folks for taking the time to do a review.

I recall the day of your arrival as you asked to have a very late check in. We were very accommodating to your special request. We cancelled our plans to be here and be by the phone as it was storming and we wanted to ensure your safe arrival.

I don't know why but unfortunately, you didn't use the confirmation I sent you at the time of booking. The last paragraph has specific easy directions to find us.

I do recall Mr's anger in the background on the phone when you called a few times due to being lost. So we knew prior to your arrival there was an issue so decided to wait up for you rather than go to bed. You had also missed our big Alberta Government signs on the highway so we knew you were frustrated.

We still have to get up early and serve other guests despite your choice to arrive very late. We were not told by you that you wanted to sleep in rather than have breakfast thus when guests don't show up we knock on the door to inform them breakfast is being served. If there is no answer we have no way of knowing if you heard us so we knock again as history has taught us guests do not like missing breakkie.... so we do our part.
I guess we expect guests to do their part too. If we didn't knock or try to rouse you....you can just guess the fallout effects.

Yes, we are 50 km east of Jasper townsite and that is 5 km from Jasper East gate. That too is well spelled out in your confirmation that you are asked to read prior to accepting the booking, we don't know what further to do to educate guests ahead of time.
Any suggestions would be wonderful!

The wildlife are more abundant on the east side of the park due to the montane range. Most our guests love that.

I am sorry you felt slighted somehow and wish you would have informed us while here rather waiting till you got to TA. You already experienced Bob's kindness and patience as a caretaker waiting up for you, carrying your bags in the dark night as it was raining.

Glenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews