We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
199
18
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
18
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning gorgeous views bob wildlife mountains drive jasper recliner bear cook
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 223 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We were greeted on our arrival (when we eventually found Wyndswept) by Dan, Bob and Glenda's son. We had an enjoyable 3 night stay once we had got accustomed to the Wyndswept environment and we were given lots of helpful information on places to visit where we could walk/hike. Unfortunately there are extensive roadworks on the road into Jasper which will go into next year to complete and as Wyndswept is just outside the National Park it took us almost an hour and a half to reach Jasper each morning. Our journeys to places past Jasper were therefore long.
Our time there was enjoyable - if you don't mind bottles of shower gel, shampoo and handsoap secured to the wall and enjoy hand painted bird pictures on the wall (albeit skillfully done) with bird boxes as part of the decor and a large bear occupying a chair in the lounge area etc. then this is the place for you.
If you like modern, minimalist design/surroundings as we do then we'd suggest you perhaps consider other places to stay.

Room Tip: Only one room has a mountain view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. You were our first guests of 2017 so we appreciate that

We are a rural country B&B thus our home, decor and furniture reflect that.
Sorry, we don't decorate according to what our guests like in their home, that's humanly impossible....guests typically are looking for an experience different from home.

Most ( probably 95%) the construction on the highway has been completed. Due to safety the Cdn government has been doing big time construction and bridge work in almost all the national parks so that's great.

The trips to Jasper are taking people an extra 4-11 minutes, I've been timing it and we ask guests. No one else took as long as your trip so thinking it might have been on a day they were moving big bridge parts. That was a complicated move in the mountains. But it's done now so it's good for decades. That's a good thing!

Yes, we do have a green policy, for over 20 + yrs, we purposely chose to use environmentally friendly methods of delivering soap and shampoo rather than abuse our landfill with thousands of packages. That was a planned purposeful move as part of our plan "For a greener tomorrow."

Wyndy, our stuffed bear has had his picture taken with guests thousands of times. Guests even have made videos with him. Most guests love him and have fun with him. He has even received Christmas cards!

Our bird house was given to us by a guest who saw it in USA at a farmers market. It made them remember me and my joy in chickadees. So they purchased it specifically for this room, wrapped it up carefully and shipped it to me to put in that room. I greatly appreciated their kind attitude, the efforts they made to send it to me and when I dust it down I always recall them fondly.

The directions for Wyndswept are on the confirmation so when guests travel with their confirmation they find us easyily. The big directional signs on the highway also direct people to us.

Again thank you for taking time to do a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017

We decided on the spur of the moment to drive to Jasper and since we had been there a few times, were looking for a nice quiet place to stay. We were a bit surprised that the B&B was really close to other houses on a residential street, but it was quiet.

Bob was very helpful with tips on wildlife viewing and his breakfasts were excellent.

The "rules" of the house were not difficult to accept, other than the breakfast schedule being at 8:30 AM.

Our room was well appointed with all we needed. Loved the reclining chairs!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Hi there, thank you for the 5 star rating.
Yes Our village has homes on half an acreage each so it's not crowded and very pretty. To ensure we didn't disturb a lot of the surrounding forrest it was decided one road in with a cul du sac at the top of the hill. That's where we've been located for 27 yrs.At the top of the hill with the million dollar view!

I've no idea how guests presumed we were in a remote location all alone.
Actually many Europeans say..."oh you are so remote".... so I guess it's all in the eye of the beholder.

Yes, to serve at hot cooked breakfast we have to follow the Public Health Act and need to serve food while it's hot, we cannot use warmers or reheat food. We cannot have guests eat then leave a mess on the table for the next guest sitting down. There are many policies we have to follow and we're inspected regularly without warning

Some B&B's serving just a continetial self serve breakfast can do say from 7:30-9:30... unfortunately for us it doesn't work.Sorry but thanks for coming and thanks for your time in doing a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We loved our two night stay in this particular B&B as part of our anniversary trip across the Canadian Rockies. Our hosts were wonderful in making everything perfect for our special time. We stayed in the Pocohontas Room which was very comfortable and well equipped with beautiful views. Bob's bespoke mega breakfasts were hearty and set us up for the days ahead. Our vegetarian needs were well catered for.

Apart from the wonderful scenery, there isn't a huge amount going on in the environment of the B&B and when we visited (early May 2016) the few local attractions were still closed from the Winter season. Nevertheless, for what we were looking for (a comfy bolt-hole from which to sight-see), it was great. We loved the experience of staying in someone's home too.

Thank you Bob and Glenda.

Room Tip: The Pocahontas views were spectacular
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WildRover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to do a review.

I am happy we met your needs to celebrate your anniversary.

It's great you enjoyed your breakfasts. That's what we strive for

Thanks again for the nice review and your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

This B and B is on the outskirts of Jasper National Park and with the name 'Wyndswept' we expected it to be set on its own surrounded by the wilds of nature. As we pulled into the driveway at the end of a cul-de-sac , we thought surely the sat nav must be wrong??? But no, this was Wyndswept B and B! We were very happy with our room and we had a pleasant stay in spite of the weather being a bit wet. Bob and Glenda have been doing this B and B business for a long time - make sure you read all their conditions and are happy to abide by them before you agree to stay! It's their home and you stay very much on their terms, which i guess is fair enough. If we were planning our trip again we would probably stay closer to Jasper as we spent more time than we would have liked in the car - although the drive was pleasant and scenic.

Room Tip: Pocahontus room is the best.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyChat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We appreciate that.

We inform all of our guests at the time of making their booking as to our location. We have "terms" for exactly this reason. It's so people are aware and can make an informed decision. We ask you to read, review and accept the info prior to the booking so you are informed and aware. I am sorry you didn't get that and made the wrong decision. We try hard to spell things out clearly for guests to avoid these exact situations.

Again, thanks for taking time out to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Stayed in the Pocohantas Room for 6 nights. Largest room of the B&B, jacuzzi, access from our room to the shared deck for watching sunsets. Glenda and Bob are very accommodating hosts and Bob's breakfasts will keep you going throughout the day. Each morning we sat down to freshly baked pastries, fruit and yogurt and a cooked breakfast.
As mentioned on the website the drive to Windswept is a good 35 - 40 minutes from Jasper village so if you are planning most of your activities close in you may want to consider staying closer in as you will spend a lot of time in your car going and coming. Having said that, we enjoyed our room, the bountiful breakfasts and the hospitality of our hosts. We also enjoyed 2 very good meals the Poco Cafe at the Pocohantas Bungalows just down the road from Wyndswept.

Room Tip: Pocohantas, definitely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for the great review and for taking time to sit and write it.

Yes everyone tells us after breakfast they don't need to eat again till dinner! Good thing most people walk all day
Glad you got to enjoy some of our famous sunsets!

Again, thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews