We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
40
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lasagna cinnamon buns wood stove horse trip bucket list wilderness experience grizzly bear home baked bread mid september amazing scenery no electricity once in a lifetime day hike hot shower our night stay sara horseback
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 47 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Kabel, Sarah, their staff and their horses make this gorgeous back country trip unforgettable. We spent 5 days and 4 nights at their heavenly lodge - it's something out of Narnia. Go on horseback so you can relax and take in the amazing scenery. The horses are sure footed and trained for the journey. We loved the food, the lodge, the hot shower and amazing staff. We brought in wine in bladders. We saw a grizzly bear but never felt unsafe.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

If you want to get away from the commercialized, almost county fair feel of the Ice fields parkway, this is your spot. Slow and relaxed. Simple and natural. The value of this trip is in the authentic mountain experience and hospitality. The route to the lodge is a rugged 23 kilometer mountain trail crossing rockslides, creeks, MacCaribe pass, and boardwalks over glacial bogs. Only horses trained for this terrain can make the trip. And Kable's horses fit the bill. Riders must be patient and somewhat skilled. If you want to hike in, plan on 6 - 7 hrs and pay the hosts to take your gear on Horseback.

The Lodge itself is simple, but the hospitality inside is second to none. Fresh cookies, bread and muffins are on the lazy Susan all day, and the dinners are generous and tasty. The cabins are cozy and comfy. Great beds and small wood-burning stove keep you warm. We caught huge Rainbow and Brook Trout in Amethyst lake, saw Caribou, bears and took two day trips on Horseback to ridges high above the valley and amazing views. This trip is not for everyone - but for those wanting a quiet, slow paced, unplugged wilderness refreshment. We were told that less than 1000 people venture into this valley each year, but if you're willing to live without modern amenities for a few days and venture into the good old days of mountain living - this trip is for you!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgjacksonmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

A group of 6 of us stayed in the cabin over the Sept long weekend. We hiked in via Maccarib through snow and rain to be greeted with hot drinks, a wood stove, and cinnamon buns. The hospitality was incredible. The beds were so comfortable. And even with the clouds and mist, the views were breathtaking. We rowed across the lake and saw caribou. The family dining aspect was very nice although would have loved to have staff join us too. Tip: Read the email Sara sends you and don't take the horse trail in!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank calgarytravellers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Our extended family of nine just spent 4 nights, five days with Sara, Kable and their team in their beautiful backcountry 'home' and it's a trip we won't soon forget. Very clean, cozy cabins with wonderful duvets, soft flannel sheets and a wood stove with views that take your breath away. We started each day listening for the clanging of the meal bell, with breakfast at 8 am. The meal portions were generous and varied - breakfast was hot including eggs, French toast, pancakes, fresh baked scones, homemade jams and dinners were just as good - not gourmet but plentiful and tasty. Considering there is no electricity and water is pumped in, it's amazing to see a fully roasted 25 lb turkey hit the table! Our group also had 3 Gluten free folks and Sara was able to accommodate them with their own fresh baked goods and meal choices. Lunches were packed for each day with your name on it. We pre ordered wine in as you only get 25lbs per person limit for luggage. A glass of wine on the deck looking at the Ramparts..heaven. We rode the horses in - saw a Grizzly bear, caribou, Whiski Jacks playing.. amazing scenery. Horses are so well behaved that you don't need to be an expert rider but it's definitely a mountain climb and the first day is long - about 6 hours in with a 30 minute stop for lunch. I wouldn't want to be completely out of shape and do this trip, tho I was the least in shape of the group but managed fine and surprisingly not as sore as I thought I would be. Fresh baked cinnamon buns greeted us day 1. We were off to a good start! There are canoes and boats to take fishing (with a days notice, they will cook the fish for you!) and it's so fun to walk out to the pasture to see the horses and roam free with them. There is a Fire Pit for the evenings, horse shoe pit and a guitar if someone can play. We brought board games too and met other folks that were there and hiked in. Sara is probably the happiest person I have ever met and her infectious smile radiates to her team and provides a warm and welcoming stay. If you want to see the Rockies as they have been for centuries, do this trip and buy the fridge magnet at the airport on the way home. I feel like I saw a part of the Rockies untouched by time. PS don't forget your headlamp - comes in handy at nights looking for the outhouse! And even in August with good weather, it was cool at night - bring warm clothes.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

It's been just over a week now since visiting Tonquin Valley Backcountry Lodge with my sister and cousin and I'm doing everything I can to convince my husband that we need to return soon! The lodge and ladies specializing in feeding, lodging, advising and listening to us are beyond imagination for comfort, and care in a backcountry environment. I have never experienced such luxury for so reasonable a price in one of the world's most beautiful places. I left feeling renewed and humbled by the magic in the valley. Thank you for the most amazing experience. I hope to return someday soon!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews