We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
40
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon buns wood stove lasagna bucket list wilderness experience grizzly bear horse trip amazing scenery no electricity once in a lifetime day hike hot shower our night stay sara horseback riders horses
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Kable and Sara Kongsrud offer quality 4 and 5 day Horse Trips to their Tonquin Valley Backcountry Lodge in the amazing Tonquin Valley in Jasper National Park. The comfortable, individual cabins at the lodge are also available to hikers who wish to stay overnight(s) in the valley.
My husband and I took the first 5 day horse trip of the 2018 season with Kable and Sara in July. Everything about the trip was quality- the willing, well cared for horses, nice tack, great food, comfortable cabins and hospitality of the staff. Kable and Sara care about the horses and the place and do it right. The Tonquin Valley is a truly special place with the long range of snow covered mountains called the Ramparts, beautiful lakes and flower filled meadows.
On each of our two day rides once we reached the lodge, we rode even higher to stunning viewpoints over the Tonquin Valley. On the rest day for the horses, we took a 4 hour canoe trip on Amethyst Lake under the glaciers.
The food was very well done-we couldn’t ask for better. The communal hot breakfasts and dinners were delicious, plentiful and fun. Each day, they provided a nice, packed lunch. Showers were hot and welcome. Our cabin had a comfortable queen bed on a bunk bed frame with a single above. A wood stove was provided to take the coolness off the morning, although we didn’t need to use it.
We really enjoyed the company of Sara, Kable and staff Rosy, Jessica and Hannah. This is really a once in a lifetime trip—although we do plan to go back.

Room Tip: There are larger cabins for families.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Taste_f0r_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

We also booked for mid September and were fully aware that this was the last weekend that the Lodge would be open. The season was actually extended by one week to accommodate our group and another. Overall, our party of four hikers had an excellent time and enjoyed the fact that we had the place pretty much to ourselves. As for the hospitality, we had no complaints and did our own thing while the staff did there's (closing up for the season). We had some luck fishing and were happy to sleep in warm comfortable cabins at the end of the day.The food was great (chicken casserole the first night and lasagna the next along with salad and home baked bread). We were given plenty of lunch (home baked buns with cheese and thick slices of ham, fruit and cookies or squares for dessert). I did notice that they were in shut down mode but this did not affect our stay in any big way. There had been an early season snowfall two days earlier and I suspect that the staff were anxious to get the horses and supplies out. Was this an expensive weekend? Well I can't think of anything to compare it to as the overall experience was hard to beat. We hiked into a remote and pristine location, enjoyed home cooked meals, comfortable cabins, 24 hr access to hot beverages and snacks and the privilege of leaving our camping gear at home. One of my best memories is waking up before sunrise to the sound of bells clanking and going outside to find pack horses grazing outside my cabin door. Another was the spectacular views and the hike both in and out. No complaints here.

Room Tip: This accommodation offers a rustic and casual experience.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We had read many reviews of the lodge and were so excited to hike in for a 2 night stay. The hike itself was stunning! You would be hard pressed to find any place more beautiful than this back country! Our weather was perfect and we had a great day hike. It took us close to 8 hours. When we arrived we checked into our cabin and went for supper. It was lasagna, salad and garlic bread, with squares for dessert. The next day was cold, windy and some snow with barbecue steak for supper
We paid $900 for our 2 night stay. We were the last guests of the season and we felt like it. The food was average, nothing extra, a dried out bun, 2 cookies and an apple for lunch both days. We felt like we were receiving anything they could find that was left over before they closed the lodge. Break it down and it cost us $450 per night. Lasagna, dried bun lunch really didn't cut it! We understood the need to "finish up" with the food they had on hand, but really we should have received a discounted price. Sarah was not there and if it wasn't for the wrangler, Randy, we would have totally been dismissed as end of season riff raff. We didn't feel like we got the value. No electricity, no central heat, one small lantern for our large cabin, no hot water. Not really sure what the money was for!! We had been so looking forward to living off grid, but without excellent food to help fill the void, we were disappointed by the price. If a discount had been offered, my review may be a little different. At this price, not worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candace182203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Everything about this place is magical. The scenery, the wilderness, the lodge, the people, the food, the horses. If you have never been in the backcountry of Western Canada you havent lived. Kable and Sarah work hard to provide comfort to their guests in such a remote and amazing place. I will never forget this trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator446142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

Amazing staff, amazing food, amazing views. Backpackers can hike into the cabins, but you should 100% do the horse trip. The horse trip is a total of 5 days. Day 1 is spent riding to the cabins. Day 2 has an option for a day ride or you can go for a hike, get in one of their canoes, go fishing, or just relax. Day 3 is a rest day for the horses and you can do whatever you want other than a day ride. Day 4 is the same as Day 2. Finally, Day 5 is your trip back to the trailhead. The entire journey is stunningly cheap.

Room Tip: Bring a fishing rod!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoV4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews