We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the view”
Review of Ship Ahoy Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship Ahoy Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Decide what your priority is before you book here. If you want location and view, this is your place. If you want standard accommodations you will be disappointed. Firstly, the view is pristine. It's got a great waterfront location. It's quiet. The scenery is amazing. You can fish off the beach or the dock. If you want a beautiful Maine experience this is it. If you are looking for amenities forget it. The rooms are bare bones. You'll get a bar of soap - a thin, sharp slice. No shampoo no hair dryer. Carpet is indoor outdoor. The beds are hard. The pillows are thin. The tv reception? Meh. The deck was a bit scary, the pole wasn't attached to the ceiling. There's a building for continental breakfast. There is a selection of store bought danish, bagels and yogurt. Coffee and hot drinks available. Everything's a dollar. Don't ask for ice or a cup of water, that's not available. We were there for the view so the amenities didn't matter to me although the lack of shampoo did bother me.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ThePinkPolliwog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We have been here several times over the years. We like the building that is right on the water and you can sit on the balcony and absorb the scenery. No phone, WIFI at office and tv with limited channels. This is a great way to get away from it all and rest. Just wish the beds were a tad softer. Very clean and light breakfast items available for minimal cost.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1Seacoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Pros: Right on a quiet harbor
Private balcony
Comfortable beds
Very reasonable price

Cons: Very musty smell
Old & tired decor
13" TV that was all fuzzy
No wifi in room
Thin walls (can hear neighbors A LOT)

Breakfast food was in another building where everything offered was $1. We never ate there as we wanted a real full breakfast. We understand many people enjoy it here and are repeat customers. We will definitely not be.




Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

I read the reviews before I booked a nights lodging. Yes, you do have to print a form and mail a check, so what? Being a senior citizen I found this place to be familiar, they have not changed it, is original old time. There is wood paneling, and an older TV, no modern conveniences as a micro/refrig coffee maker or hair dryer. I can only speak about my room, a handicap accessible room in the waterfront building. It was CLEAN, spacious and had a very accessible bathroom. I have spent twice as much in popular hotel chains to not have the room accessible. I could tell they are working on some upgrades, new planks on the walkways etc. The mattress could use an upgrade, not sure about the other rooms. I was shocked not to have wifi available in the room, but getting "unplugged" and enjoying nature is good for all of us. To be close to the water, smell it, hear it, see it is really all you need. It provides a private patio to get connected to nature and let your troubles slip away. It depends on personal preferences and tolerance levels, but to me this was like going back in time to a simpler place. We should not forget what life used to be like.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

You will read reviews good and bad about Ship Ahoy. First of all you will not find cockroaches, rats or bugs. The place has age but is kept clean and neat. It is a very simple Motel, rooms are dated, yes. Televisions are old but being changed out but don't expect a large screen or crisp clear channels. Reservations will be your first clue, you have to either phone in or mail the form with deposit to them.

Ok so you've stuck with me this far so I'll tell you the secret, this place is just wonderful! You're thinking "I've read some reviews and the place doesn't sound wonderful".
The views will just message the stress out of you! The dated CLEAN simple room will offer you a dated, CLEAN bathroom with an excellent shower but the treat is to walk through to the other side of the room to the cozy little balcony with the incredible views. You can also walk over to the the ramp/gang plank down to the water to the float or dock. Throw a line in, catch some Maine Mackerel or Stripe Bass or sit on the old benches there and watch for the seals to come by. We saw an Osprey coming back with a fish in it's talons only to be attacked by a huge Bald Eagle for the fish soon another Osprey joined the first one to try to reclaim the prize. It was just amazing to watch!

I could go on but in the end Ship Ahoy is a very affordable place to relax and enjoy the best of Maine's coastal experience and nature. Plain and simple.
Boothbay Harbor is a few miles away if you need that tourist experience, but the Oasis will be waiting for when you've had enough and want to relax!

Yes it is NOT for those who need 100 channels to watch on a big screen or fluffy bed and bedding or granite/marble top vanity. Or don't want to interact with other guests and develop new connections. But it is a diamond in the rough! Stay away the rest of us love it!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Like everyone say, this is a no frills motel. Fifties style décor but if you want a clean room with a great location, THIS IS THE PLACE!!! For all the others who need breakfast, hairdryers, HBO and room service, go elsewhere. This is for the family, couple or individual that has to stay on a budget but would love to have a bayside motel. This place is great! There is free WI-FI but you only get reception in the office. It does have an outdoor pool and there is a restaurant that is only open in the morning that sells everything for a dollar that has muffins, donuts and coffee. They may have other items but we didn't eat there as the day we left was the first day they opened for the season. There is a dock you can walk out on and occasionally see seals or a ferret. We have also spotted Osprey, Eider Ducks, Mallards, and different types of gulls. It's away from the busy streets of Boothbay Harbor but less than 10 minutes away. There are 3 different buildings to choose from. The cheapest is the main motel building that offers rooms for $39 a night off season and $49 in season. Don't blink! You read that right! Those rooms are a bit smaller and they share a front porch. The other buildings are by the water and have bay views for watching the lobster boats come and collect their lobster traps as well as private balconies. They go for $59 a night out of season till July 1st then go up to $79 a night for the in season until Labor Day. Yep! You can really go on vacation and still stay on a budget easily!!! Like I said this may not be for everyone but we are so thankful that this place has been here providing affordable vacations for vacationers and their families. Thank you Ship Ahoy!!! The building closest to the water has views of the harbor and dock and the building that sits back a bit still has wonderful harbor views and the rooms are slightly larger with 2 sinks for inside/outside bathroom use. The shower has such forceful pressure that it feels like a water message. In order to get to Southport you travel over a rare swinging bridge that swings sideways to allow ships to enter Boothbay every Hour. Also we love to drive over to the Southport General Store for affordable breakfasts and sandwiches that you can take out or eat in their small cozy eating nook. We love it here and hope that if you give it a try that it will be one of your best vacations ever! While at the General Store you will see a small street sign that says Beach. Follow that road to a free, small sandy beach where you can see the Hendrick's Hill lighthouse. Quaint and pretty!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogranny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Ship Ahoy Motel isn't fancy - the rooms are basic, the grounds aren't photogenic, and to make a reservation you have to mail them a check. But if you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay on Southport Island then this is just about your best option. Close to everything you want, at half the price of your other options.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank sputnik1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ship Ahoy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ahoy Motel

Address: Southport, Route 238, Southport, ME 04569
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southport
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Ship Ahoy Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing