We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I have traveled most of the world and on a recent trip had the pleasure of staying at the LODGE for only a couple of nights. We were very fortunate to get the very end bungalow sandwiched between the lake and golf course. Thank God it wasn't one of those ultra-modern boxes but a proper rustic bungalow which allowed one to enjoy the natural surroundings. We were visited by some of the wild life but although expected, there were no bugs to speak of. I noticed a complaint about bugs in another review, try Africa... you have to tie yourself down in some places or the bugs will carry you away.. or South America where they simply eat you alive.

Our stay was far too short, the staff were wonderful and I loved that we could have a quiet romantic, candlelight hot dinner in our bungalow.... so far from the kitchen. I have stayed in over 700 of the best accommodations in the world and this was just fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,949)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,177 - 3,183 of 3,949 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our first time in Jasper, and we were so happy we booked this hotel. The service from every staff member was outstanding. Friendly, professional, and welcoming.

First... take your time driving to Jasper. We drove from Canmore and loved the drive. Our favourite stops were Bow Summit and Athabasca Falls. Just breathtaking!

The hotel grounds are very impressive. The log cabins around the lake look amazing and there are lots of activities for guests. Horseback riding, canoeing, hiking, swimming in the outdoor pool.... the property is surrounded by beautiful lakes and the mountains for hiking trails.
I would suggest booking a room with balcony and lake view, if you don't want to splurge on the cabin. The balconies are huge and give you a great chance to relax and enjoy the mountain and lake views.
The rooms and hotel require some updating. It looks old...however, it is spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable.
The hotel was quiet, but had a senior citizens group of 300 at the resort. Lorraine, the concierge blew us away with her service.
We had called to book a table at the restaurant in the hotel and had to leave a message. When we hadn't heard back from the concierge, we just went to the restaurant. (Cavells). During our appetizer, Lorraine approached our table and apologized for missing our call. She came to our table to personally apologize. This was shocking to us. It was at the end of her shift and her thoughtfulness really impressed us. She then treated us to a bottle of wine. It was not a big deal to us that our call was not returned... Lorraine's customer service was exceptional.

We did not expect anything in return, and the bottle of wine was a lovely surprise.

Our meal at Cavell's was excellent. Beef tenderloin.... amazing. Excellent service from Jeff. Thank you!

We will return to Jasper one day and will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: Book lake view balcony-beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you TSN_10 for taking the time to post this lovely review of The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Lorraine, who will be thrilled that she was able to make such an impression on her valued guests. Looking forward to having you back! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just visited JPL for the Easter EGGstravaganza weekend. I will begin with a positive report on the activities for the children...they were great! However, the resort is more than outdated and the prices for rooms & buffets WAY too overpriced! Everything from bugs in our rooms, yes bugs sadly; cracked walkways, chipped paint; uncomfortable beds in an upgraded cabin, etc!! I was hoping that with such outdated accommodations, the food would be outstanding. Just not so. It was, to say the least, average. So disappointing. Our room was never made up and we were out of it mostly (stayed 3/4 nights). All the scenery is breathtaking, I was very shocked at the low standards of the Fairmont hotel.

Room Tip: Can't. even the upgraded rooms were poor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

We are very disappointed to hear that our resort didn’t meet your expectations this weekend and sincerely apologize. As we are committed to making ongoing improvements to our guest rooms and facilities, your comments are very important to us. We encourage you to contact us privately at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com so we may get some extra information on which room you were staying in and address the issues. We thank you for your review of the property. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed at the Jasper Park Lodge for a course for the better part of a week at the end of February. When I think Fairmont I thought oppulence, but really, its important that you know ahead of time that this is really a set of Rustic cabins set amongst the beautiful Rocky Mountains with excellent service offered.
While there we ate in the ballroom most days and the food was pretty good most days. The selection got a little weary after a while, but I believe it was our company's choice of food, not the Hotel's issue.
The most surprising thing, in a pleasant way, was the service. Most of the people serving you are probably under 21, but they were extremely helpful and eager to assist you. They were happy to give you a quick ride to your cabin, without a complaint and more likely a sincere smile.
There is an indoor outdoor heated pool, and it was lovely for a late night swim (even in February!).
I can't say enough about the views though. There is an old saying that "the mountains will bring you peace" and it is very true at this resort.

Room Tip: The low 100 rooms look over the lake onto Mt. Edith Cavel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBL_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent a few nights at the Lodge after having been away for 10 years and was very sad with the changes. The old LODGE LOVE is gone. Prices remain high and the bang for your buck is just not there anymore.The scenery is still fantastic. Lodge is getting rundown looking.......perhaps its time for a splash of paint and a few repairs on the damage roofs and leaking rain gutters.
The dogs are the ones that seem to be getting all the attention. Sorry not a big dog person. Would not recommend this place to anyone but people who cant be away from there dogs for a night or two.
Sorry .........lots of other choices in Jasper ...won't be back

Room Tip: Not sure they did not get our right. Neighbors dog barked in the afternoon as was left alone all da...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your review travelbug840. We appreciate your comments and continue to make significant investments into the hotel, including roof repair, exterior painting and work on the pathways. These investments are ongoing and will continue throughout the remainder of the year to ensure we meet the needs and expectations of all of our guests. As a pet-friendly resort, we are committed to providing a space that is comfortable for pets and guests by creating designated “pet zones” which allow on-leash dogs to accompany their owners. Our guests are asked not to leave their dogs unattended in their rooms, and we apologize that this request was not met in your case. Again, thank you for your valuable comments and we truly hope we are able to welcome you back at another time. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed here during the weekend. Lovely staff! Great location and lovely food. The room itself was ok but the view was amazing. We did not book a lake side view so we must have got an upgrade.
The spa is also very nice!
Probably not woth the money but it was nice to stay for a night

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times before and our most recent stay ( March 25 - 28) confirmed that we had not failed to remind ourselves that this is a place that will always deliver on magnificent scenery that compares to any place in the world, peace and tranquility, fresh air and the perfect place to enjoy it all.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a lake view. If you drive from lake Louise, the Icefields Parkway is one of t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.4 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
424 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,593 reviews
4.0 km away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 17 in Jasper
619 reviews
1.4 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $265 - $967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing