We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfactory customer service”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsatisfactory customer service”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The following is from an email I wrote to Maligne lodge after a stay there in January 2012 - the final insult to the whole saga; they could not even be bothered to acknowledge my email or my concerns, be warned: I stayed at the lodge from January 2nd to January 5th. I was in Jasper to get married as I had pointed out at the time when I made my initial booking.
I had the misfortune however to be placed in Family Room 103, I was VERY disappointed with this room for the following reasons:
1) The back bedroom has no window to the out doors and it is extremely stuffy
2) The whole apartment was at 28C despite the heating being turned OFF
3) We had to have the ceiling fan going all night long which was noisy,creaky and completely ineffective
4) Due to the location next to the laundry there are water pipes right above the bedroom ceiling which have an airlock and bang and rattle every 11 minutes - yes I know this precisely as I spent a great deal of the night lying awake listening to them as the room was so stiflingly hot it was impossible to sleep !
The result - I had to get married after having barely any sleep. What is frustrating is that when one of the caretakers came around to take a look - and yes they acknowledged all of the 'known' problems - they said it was just a function of the room being next to the laundry and yes there had been complaints before. My question then, is why do you keep putting guests in this sub standard room and charging them the normal rates ?

When we got back from the wedding my husband asked if we could get a different room to sleep in (this would have minimised the fuss of all 4 of us that were staying in 103 having to move all of our belongings AGAIN) - but no, we were told that we would all have to vacate 103 and move to another suite. Although the room we moved to was significantly better, it did however mean that on my wedding day I had to waste an hour moving 4 people from one room to another.

Really, I do not think this level of customer service is good enough, nobody even apologised for all of the disruption caused. I would like to know what management has to say about this overall experience before I post this account on Trip Advisor which I think currently paints a rather too-rosy picture of your establishment.

............................. only radio silence ensued, hence the post .............................

Room Tip: This is very much a motel rather than a hotel - avoid the corner rooms by the laundry like the plagu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geolgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    234
    222
    96
    53
See reviews for
206
301
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

the rooms are clean and well set up, comfy king bed, fridge, pool, hot tub. The mid week price with lift tickets for Marmot was terrific. Location is a healthy walk from town centre, but a beautiful scenic walk too. Good and inexpensive breakfast available in the morning. The ski shuttle bus for marmot stops at the front door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiinbikinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

this was my first visit to Jasper, and i stayed at the Maligne lodge a nice hotel in beautiful jasper, the indoor swimming pool is a bonus, i booked my room through the hotel directly the girl at the front desk was super helpful.
when i will revisit jasper Maligne lodge is my home

Room Tip: Book through the hotel you get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel while skiing at Marmot, so I'll keep this review short.

Rooms are good - they clearly try to stand out from some of the other hotels in area. However, the bathrooms are in desperate need of renos. The previous renos are messy and while the bathroom is clean, its time they just completely re-do the bathrooms.

We opted to have breakfast at the hotel for the first time. It took 60 mins to get our food. I would have just walked out, but I was convinced to stay. Its ridiculous to wait longer than 20 mins for breakfast food. I won't eat there again. Head down the road to the Soft Rock cafe for better food and service at the same price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Maligne Lodge is a very old establishment with old decor and bathroom. However, can't complain about the beds - very comfy and warm. It's located at one end of the main street, so it's a slightly longer walk into the main part of town than other lodges. Not too good after dinner in the cold, fall winds but during the day, when the sun is up, it was a lovely stroll through the residential neighbourhood. There are better lodges in Jasper but you'd have to pay a higher price.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room which is pretty pokey. If you can pay extra, get a bigger room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_Steve_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

It was not inexpensive, but our stay was wonderful. The suite was really large & inviting, the bedrooms were large & the beds super comfortable. A full size kitchen was a nice bonus! The pool area was directly outside our door & the pool is great with kids as it is mostly about 3 feet; so not a pool for actually swimming, but fabulous for the kids to play in. Walking distance to downtown for eating out or shopping. There are definitely some maintenance issues within the room itself (small things like the bathroom fan & tub jets were broken, so they do need to fix up those things (esp. when you are in Jasper as you are already overpaying vs. other towns), but the room was quiet, enjoyable, roomy & comfortable!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, so can't comment on the regular rooms, but if you can afford a suite in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarai2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Maligne Lodge is a good professional Hotel to stay in Jasper. I had stayed here in 2009 fall and came back 2011 summer too mainly because it has value for money. It is located in the heart of the town with access to various restaurants and other souvenir shops. They have large parking space and checking in and checking out are all very efficiently done.
This was a trip with my son Anoop Karollil who works at Vancouver, my daughter and wife.
The room is neat and bathrooms too are quite hygienic. May be they can give breakfast too so one does not have to stir out in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are accessable without climbing stairs if you have baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devidas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.0 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,040 reviews
1.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
923 reviews
0.1 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,539 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing