We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but a bit dark”
Review of Juniper House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Juniper House
Ranked #5 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, but a bit dark”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, especially the large bathroom.

It is not really a B&B though, as they don't offer breakfast (only coffee). It seems that that holds for several places in Jasper.

What I did not like was tha fact that the room was in the basement, with only relatively small windows. That would be okay, as you don't spend much time in a room when you are in Jasper. However, the windows are arranged in a way that it is almost impossible to open them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwood59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Juniper House is a wonderful place to stay in Jasper! Jen is a great host and went out of her way to make our stay a good experience. When we arrived, Jen sat down with us and went over the hiking, activities and dining in the area. We stayed in the king size suite for 3 nights. Next time we will plan on staying longer! The suite was very clean, and the shower was wonderful which was great after a long day of hiking. Robes and slippers are provided for an extra touch.....very nice! The bed was also very comfortable. There is cable TV or books on the area to read which we enjoyed at night. Dining and shopping are in walking distance. Loved the area and Juniper House. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Jasper. A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed in Juniper House for a week. My parents, my brother, and I booked both rooms. Our stay was absolutely perfect in every respect. The rooms were meticulously clean and tidied every day. The decor of the rooms was so nice. We really felt at home there. In particular, we appreciated the ability to have breakfast and the occasional dinner in the kitchenette in the King Suite. It does not have a stove, but a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, and china and cutlery.
Jennifer and Brent were very, very friendly and gave us wonderful tips for trips in the area.
I would recommend this B&B to everyone and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My friend was unused to B&B's and a bit apprehensive but, upon arriving at Juniper House, the apprehension was dispelled. We stayed 3 nights in the King Suite and it was wonderful. When we arrived Jennifer sat down with us and showed us various things to do and hikes ot take in the area. I had been to Jasper at least 4 times in the past and had not heard that Mount Edith Cavell is a must-do until Jennifer told us. She made some great restaurant recommendations also. The suite was spotless, nicely decorated and very private. We were free to come and go and did not feel as though we were being intrusive. Nice to have a B&B with a private guest entrance!

Jennifer and Brent are wonderful hosts, While breakfast is not provided, there were coupons for us to have a coffee each at the Bearspaw Bakery - most appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YKCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We spent four nights in the Queens Room. On arrival Jennifer directed us to the off road rear parking. A short walk through the garden led to the entrance of our accommodation so no problem with our luggage. After showing us our room, Jennifer spent time talking us through things to see and do in the area.
Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs and included tea and coffee making facilities. The fridge proved very useful for storing our fresh milk and other provisions. Keys to the entrance were provided so could come and go as we pleased.
Just a few minutes away from the main street and the restaurants meant we could stroll out in the evening to enjoy a meal and a glass of wine. Shops and a supermarket were also close by.
Juniper house ticked all the boxes for us. It was our first B&B experience and thanks to the care and attention of Jennifer and Brent it will not be our last.
The only down side was we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed three nights in the Queen Suite. The B&B is in a quiet are of town about 5 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. It also included off road parking.
The suite is well furnished and appointed and is accessed through a private entrance at the rear. The room was airy and clean and the bathroom had a great shower. Jennifer and Brent were very personable and extremely helpful in giving advice on the local area as well as providing a range of maps and pamphlets. This advice included restaurants, places to visit and walking trails, together with advice on where to see wildlife. The discount vouchers provided by Jennifer for Karuso’s and the Bears Paw were a particularly nice touch.
The bed was slightly soft for our liking. However, this is a personal preference, and would not influence our rating of what is an excellent B&B. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would readily stay here again on our next visit to Jasper.

Room Tip: It's popular so book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

King Suite. Excellent modern, comfortable,quite,very clean lower ground floor accommodation. Friendly,helpfull,kind hosts.Nice garden. Walking distance to town.Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strenyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.8 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.4 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.6 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 km away
Filia Inn
Filia Inn
#12 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper House

Property: Juniper House
Address: 713 Maligne Avenue | Box 2545, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Juniper House Jasper, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing