We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't stop grinning! Must see if you like sky watching!”

The Jasper Planetarium
Ranked #10 of 22 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: YEAR-ROUND - One of the best evening things to do in Jasper! Join our astronomy experts to explore Jasper Dark Sky Preserve, an 11,000 square-km stargazing paradise. Take a guided 'tour' of local aboriginal constellations, recent Northern Lights activity, and more inside our domed theatre. This fun, f u n n y , inspiring, interactive audience-participation attraction is a great after-dinner activity for families, couples and others. ALSO come outside at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge where you can see stars, planets, galaxies and more through the largest telescope in the Rockies.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Highly recommended!!! The show was amazing and Peter is very knowledgeable of all things space. It was fun to play with the telescopes afterwards!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Keegansniffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"northern lights"
in 17 reviews
"marmot lodge"
in 13 reviews
"dark sky"
in 13 reviews
"light pollution"
in 8 reviews
"telescope viewing"
in 7 reviews
"solar system"
in 6 reviews
"aurora borealis"
in 5 reviews
"milky way"
in 7 reviews
"star clusters"
in 4 reviews
"meteor shower"
in 3 reviews
"small tent"
in 3 reviews
"big telescope"
in 3 reviews
"the international space station"
in 3 reviews
"audience participation"
in 3 reviews
"deep space"
in 3 reviews
"guys running"
in 3 reviews
"night skies"
in 3 reviews
Filter

218 - 222 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2015

The Jasper Planetarium is the newest attraction here. It is amazing, breath taking and very professional!. We liked it a lot and I can recommend it to everybody who wants to do something special. I liked it that it was showing the sky over jasper and the National Park. this makes it much more special.
Thank you for that

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank S_B6491120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intro2001, Manager at The Jasper Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2015

You're very welcome!

Glad you enjoyed experiencing Jasper's newest attraction,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

Jasper is the WORLD's second largest dark sky preserve, and we've all got this fascination with looking UP, at the majestic mountain line, and to the stars. Guarantee you haven't seen the Milky Way like you can see it here. Peter McMahon at the Planetarium gives a captivating 360 degree audio visual presentation of the link between our amazing landscape and the universe beyond. I even had the opportunity to see Jupiter through his telescope! My friend and I who attended were so excited, we stayed up to watch the Northern lights flash over Pyramid Lake later that evening! Thanks Peter!

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank BriannaHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

I had a great time learning about the stars and the northern lights through the amazing presentation and imagery. Great for anyone who is visiting Jasper and may not be able to check out all the fantastic landscapes here, as this program takes you to some of the most iconic places right from your seat! Peter was a great presenter, who took the time to answer everyone's questions with enthusiasm. I cant wait to attend some of the other events they'll hold this summer!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Frankie_jmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2015

We went with a 2 year old and 5 months old. This was our first trip to a planetarium, and we had a great time! I love the Dome in a Tent, Certainly a great view for young kids.
Peter the show guy is brilliant doing his job!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jasper Planetarium also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Jasper Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing