We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Up”

The Jasper Planetarium
Ranked #12 of 56 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: ***OPEN DAILY*** Take a LIVE guided tour of planets, stars, galaxies, meteors, the Northern Lights in Jasper National Park and Dark Sky Preserve's first regular astronomy attraction - our air-supported dome. Our astronomy guides also offer a telescope experience that includes a tour of the largest telescope in the Rockies, tips on how to photograph the aurora, views of previous visuals on the last clear night and - weather-permitting - LIVE views through our telescopes of objects in space.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed August 19, 2015

This was one of my favourite activities during my time in Jasper. The presentation was informative and amazingly visual. During our presentation we interrupted it to go and see the ISS fly over us! And because the sky was clear, we took a peek at Saturn through the big telescope (you could see the rings!!). I ended up doing the Stargazing afterwards, and greatly enjoyed that too. We saw galaxies and different coloured stars from all over the universe. And we saw Shooting Stars too!!

Peter definitely knows his stuff and is only happy to answer any questions you might have. If you're in Jasper for a night, this is something you should definitely think about checking out.

Thank _ccap1989_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"northern lights"
in 16 reviews
"marmot lodge"
in 10 reviews
"dark sky preserve"
in 9 reviews
"telescope viewing"
in 6 reviews
"light pollution"
in 6 reviews
"aurora borealis"
in 4 reviews
"star clusters"
in 4 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 4 reviews
"milky way"
in 5 reviews
"meteor shower"
in 3 reviews
"small tent"
in 3 reviews
"big telescope"
in 3 reviews
"the international space station"
in 3 reviews
"guys running"
in 3 reviews
"comfy chairs"
in 3 reviews
"light years"
in 2 reviews
"audience participation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

159 - 163 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

Amazing!!!! This was so much fun! We saw al lot of stars, we even saw the "the northern light".. One of the best nights ever!!

Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We were at the Marmot Lodge for few nights and the perfect night to see shooting star. In the parking lot, we saw many people around a white tent. We were invited in. It was a mini planetarium
Very instructive

Thank Pisyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intro2001, Manager at The Jasper Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2015

Glad you happened by! It was my pleasure to share the universe with you. Thanks for your generous review & hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Rockies,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We booked a package that included the planetarium and star gazing. The planetarium presentation was neat. Very informative and I really like that is focused on the Jasper skies and it’s not just generic astronomy info that you could get somewhere else.
After 30 minutes or so we left the dome to do the star gazing. Unfortunately, against the forecast, it was really cloudy and there was not much you could see. Despite the unlucky weather, Peter and David made every effort to keep us interested, looking here and there for clears in the sky so we could see through the telescope the Andromeda Galaxy, Jupiter’s rings and a few other stars. Most of the people left after one hour and then the sky cleared up just in time to see the moon rise from behind a mountain and we also watched the International Station cruise above hour heads very fast. It was really cool.
It’s a great evening activity!

Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intro2001, Manager at The Jasper Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Hi Gabriela; Glad you had a great time! We certainly try to specialize in finding the wonders of the universe between all but the heaviest of cloud cover. Thanks for the kudos on the show too,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2015

A new attraction for Jasper at the Marmot Lodge, held in a small dome tent at present using a mish mash of garden chairs as seating. The show lasts about 40 minutes and takes you from the park all over the universe, with tales from the first nation about their constellations.
A remarkable talk and show from a man obviously passionate about astronomy, the show is a must for anyone remotely interested in the stars and very educational. There is ample opportunity to ask questions.

1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intro2001, Manager at The Jasper Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Thanks for your kind words about the show Andrew!
It was my pleasure to share the universe with you in Jasper Dark Sky Preserve
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jasper Planetarium also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Jasper Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing