We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inattentive staff and dumpy rooms for pet owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We arrived on December 28th for an overnight stay that we had prebooked. There were two people at the counter, a trainee and her manager. After checking in, I asked the staff if I had done something to offend them as they were being rude and inattentive (to us and each other). The trainee said "No, we are just bored". And then they (the trainee and her manager) ignored us.

We had prebooked a room and had let them know that our pet was recovering from surgery so could we please have a quiet room away from the elevator. I asked if the room was near the elevator and the manager said "No." Period. She put us at the end of the hallway, in the "pet" wing, in a room that was next to metal scaffolding, that kids were running up and down.

The room smelled of stain remover, had an small older television, a bath-tub faucet that leaked, a bed that was so firm that a "good sleep" was impossible and was noisy, noisy, with the metal scaffolding being the play ground of young children. We will never stay in this place again. Nor would we recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Skip being kind, nice and forgiving. Demand what you need.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Please accept our apologies for the lack of service you experienced on your last visit with us. This is anything but the service we are striving to achieve. I have passed your comments along to the desk as well as security as the scaffold area is "off limits" to anyone except the crew repairing the roof.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have just stayed here for our 3rd time. We have family in Lethbridge so need to visit on a regular basis. We travel with our dog and were sick & tired of being stuck in a smelly smoking room (or ex-smoking room) because of her. The beds are so comfy with lots of pillows and crackly duvets. The front desk people all get gold stars from us and the wait staff seem to enjoy getting it right.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciagayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for the great comments ... it is super that you view our Hotel as a home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Recently, an overnight business trip to Lethbridge took me back to the Lethbridge Lodge. My last stay there was more than a decade ago. There are now choices in that modern city, but the Lodge remains an icon and was suggested by associates who live there. It hasn't changed a great deal. The staff continue to be young and friendly and try to be helpful. The room described as business class was comfortable if a bit sterile in decor and the windows viewed the outdoor parking lot, all that I was offered for view and for parking. It was as quiet as I had hoped and had requested. A late evening snack in the lounge offered an inexpensive pint and a dry and mostly flavorless quesadilla. Sulphorous bouquet from the adjoining pool and shrieks of gayety from frolicking kids provided unwanted distraction just like last time. Worn carpet, tiny elevators also unchanged from the wanted to be ignored. Updates are underway the note in the room promised. Next noon's lunch in the dining area was fresh and tasty and checkout was quick and hastel-free. I look forward to a return, in 2021.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougofCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay.
You will definately see some great changes if it is indeed 2021 for your next visit. We have completed almost 1/2 the roof repair & shall continue from there.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Cleanliness of room ... carpet, furniture and walls was terrible. Needs major cleaning. Smell was bearable but needs to be throughly cleaned.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness and ask for another room if not acceptable
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis_mellany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Best place in town to stay. Great lounge surrounded by indoor trees and pool area. Piano playing on weekends adds to the atmosphere. High end dining next to lounge as well. Hotel is right across from the mall, with the Bay department store. Great location on edge of town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your great comments & we are pleased you found the Hotel so convenient.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We always stay at the Lethbridge Lodge when visiting Lethbridge. It is well-situated and has a nice atmosphere with the atrium. The rooms are definitely dated, but the hotel is very clean and well-run. Front desk staff has usually been good and the Cotton Blossom lounge in the atrium is a nice place to spend some time at the end of your day. The breakfast restaurant is also very good, with some upscale breakfast choices and great staff. if you can get past the dated decor, this is a great choice in Lethbridge.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank tcf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay... We are pleased to announce our complete roof replacement (which is underway right now)... as soon as that is completed we are optimistic we will be addressing your observations.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at the Lethbridget Lodge several times. At no time was the room exceptional. This weekend was our most recent visit. Room was clean, however well dated. I'm starting to think that they must have our name flagged because we only ever get to stay at rooms in the non-renovated side. Absolutely nothing special.
Check in was delayed several hours and yet, they still want full rate for a room we were in for less than 16 hours.
Restaurant - very over-priced for an average breakfast.... Would have had a better meal at Denny's or Ihop... Wait! Ihop is opening in Lethbridge soon!

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hockey_Manager_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-2gdm-, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you for your review... this week we will finish the complete replacement of all beds & linens in the Hotel. It sounds like you we have missed you by a couple of days. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel & are sure you will appreciate the difference.
Sincerely,
Gregory Moon
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Lethbridge
204 reviews
4.7 km away
Best Western Plus Service Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Sandman Hotel Lethbridge
Sandman Hotel Lethbridge
#17 of 20 in Lethbridge
110 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lethbridge
4.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 320 Scenic Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range: $101 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, Sandman Hotel Group's newest hotel, is southern Alberta's premier lodging and conference facility. Offering 190 guest rooms, including 28 courtyard suites and 30 business class rooms, elegant options for your speakers and VIPs, and three delicious on-site dining options. Enjoy our recreational facilities with our indoor pool and hot tub, located in our beautiful courtyard, and take advantage of our fitness room situated on the first floor just off the main lobby. Complimentary guest parking, high speed Internet, and the scenic surroundings of the hotel all bring you a sense of comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethbridge Hotel
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing