We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay after 9 hours of driving across Saskatchewan!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Miami, Manitoba
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay after 9 hours of driving across Saskatchewan!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We found the hotel to be clean, the personnel friendly, the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. We had supper in the lounge and had great service and the biggest taco salad we`d ever seen!! Would have liked to have used the hot tub but too many kids in it...perhaps a couple more hot tubs would be a good idea. If you`re looking for golden plated luxury don`t book a Travelodge but if you`re looking for a relatively quiet retreat from the highway the Travelodge is a great place to recouperate!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabycakesHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Dear guest,

We are so happy that you found a relaxing spot here in Medicine Hat. You are right, that IS a long drive from Manitoba!

We appreciate all of your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you next travel to Alberta!

Best regards,

All the staff and management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    79
    69
    57
    44
See reviews for
135
35
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

This used to be a great hotel that I stayed at when I was younger. When business took me back to Medicine Hat, this was the first hotel that I thought of. Strangely enough, the service was better than some 4 or 5 star hotels and resorts that I have stayed in. They were polite, quick to help and overall, amazing.

The hotel itself is stuck in the sixties. Unfortunately there aren't many options in Medicine Hat and this is still one of the better ones. The rooms weren't really all that quiet (trait of all older hotels) but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless, with an amazing shower!

Don't expect the ritz, but still not all that bad - although they are slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Sydney,

Thank you for recently voicing your opinion. At the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, we value your input and find your honest opinion to be a valuable tool to improve our hotel.

We are working on improving out hotel and look forward to having you back in the near future to witness the positive changes in our hotel.

Thank you again, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I booked this hotel to gain Wydam reward points...this hotel in not in the program. We will not be booking here again. TL needs to re-think there opting out of the program. This hotel is very outdated and is over priced

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt.mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat in August 2009. We truly take all of your concerns seriously.

Travelodge Hotels and Thriftlodge locations across Canada do not accept Wyndham guest rewards, however, we allow you to "double dip" by earning up to 4000 HBC reward points per stay, as well as 10 points per dollar for Travelodge Guest Rewards.

We hope this gives you something to look forward to during future Travelodge stays within Canada.

We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandon mb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This hotel is very dated and rundown. The hotel and rooms were clean but in need of a total renovation top to bottom. The common areas smell of stale smoke. The pool area is the one bright spot. They could build a new hotel around the pool area and it would fit in nicely. The wireless internet was great and the continental breakfast was very basic. All in all there are better values to be had in the Medicine Hat area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brent84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Sir,
We are excited for some of the future changes to enhance our guest's experiences while at our hotel.

We appreciate that you took the time to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor. We spend countless hours ensuring our guests are more than comfortable while at our hotel. We have our hallway carpets cleaned often as well, we have a public space person who has the responsibility of ensuring all the public areas are clean and enjoyable.

Our hotel is not brand new, we spent all of our extra time focusing on maintenance and housekeeping. Ensuring our guests are comfortable and safe.

We sincerely appreciate all of your thoughts on our hotel and will continue to provide all of our guests with a welcoming, friendly, clean hotel while in Medicine Hat.

Yours in Hospitality,

The management team at the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

My family & I stayed one night on our way through Medicine Hat. My husband, 2 children & myself had one room, and my parents had the room next door. Our room was not very clean. There was lots of dark hair on the floor in the bathroom and the rugs looked like they hadn't seen a vacuum recently. Under the bathroom sink, there was a tile missing in the corner and it looked like there was mold or something growing down there. I didn't actually crawl under and take a look. As I have small children, that didn't make me happy! As well, they were quite dated, definitely could use some upgrading. On the other hand, my parents room was incredibly clean, and much brighter and nicer. Considering they were right next to each other, I thought that was strange. However, the water park was really great! I told my husband that it definitely helped redeem the hotel in my eyes! My kids had a blast! Overall I'd say it was just ok, considering the state of the room. But compared to another hotel in the city that we stayed at on the way home, this one could have been considered a 5 star!!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arms_n_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat during your journey.

Our hotel has changed management since your stay with us. The new management team focuses mainly on room cleanliness and consistency from room to room.

Our hotel is not brand new and we have recently taken on an extra maintenance man to assist with ensuring our hotel exceeds standards set for us by the Travelodge brand.

We value and appreciate all of your opinions and will ensure that all of the issues you have discussed are rectified.

Thank you for sharing your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyburn, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

We were travelling back west and didn't want to drive all the way back, in one day so we booked the hotel thru Expedia we thought it would be a good way to relax with the waterslides and keep cool.
The temperatures was in the mid thirties, and I thought our room was equipped with air conditioning. I even had the maintenance guy come to check it out and he told us the hotel is on one system a low or faint air blowing. Well I went down to see if there was any fans available but that was a waste of time. So the only thing that kept us cool was swimming in the pool and the waterslides. which were fun!! but sleeping with the window wide open all night wasn't my idea of relaxing! we could of just set up a tent and saved a $120.
The wireless internet hookup is a nightmare, it isn't a automatic hookup it is a manual. I am not a computer savy but it has worked every other hotel I have been at.
The only good thing was the Homesteader restaurant the service was good and the meal prices mediocre.
For hot prairie days if you want air conditioning I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Liked — The restuarant
  • Disliked — No airconditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mysteriousjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Travelodge Hotel during your travels to Medicine Hat. We appreciate that you took the care and effort to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Yes, our hotel is on one system for heating and air conditioning which circulates cold or hot air to the guest rooms, however each guest room is able to turn the temperature in their room to fit their heat requirements.

Since your stay, we have switched our internet service provider and have wireless routers throughout the hotel and there is 24 hour technical support available to all guests.

On behalf of all of us, thank you for choosing the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2003

I like the Travelodge, they have great waterslides for kids (and adults) ;) The rooms are clean and nice and there is a good restaraunt right in the building.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Good day,

Thank you for rating our hotel on trip advisor!

Since your last stay, we have installed a brand new waterpark, featuring a supersonic waterslide, kiddie's wading pool and hot tub. It has something for everyone.

Thank you again and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
5.4 km away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
0.4 km away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#7 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
3.8 km away
Imperial Motor Inn
Imperial Motor Inn
#10 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat

Property: Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Address: 1100 Redcliff Drive South-west | Alberta, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat you will find all 85 of our guest rooms to be clean, confortable and easy on your wallet. We have many amenities to ensure you feel like you are at your "home away from home". From our indoor waterpark with waterslide, hot tub and kiddies wading pool to our buffet breakfast or our extensive menu in the lounge there is something for everyone. We are suited for all your travel requirements from business to teams or just for that special weekend getaway. Our breakfast room serves a flavorful Hot Full Breakfast Buffet daily from 6:30 am to 10:00. Come and relax in the our wonderful lounge, Bar 403 with its amazing patio. Great food, great staff, great patio and great fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Medicine Hat
Travelodge Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Travelodge
Medicine Hat Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing