We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally Located, and Close to Liard Hotsprings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liard Hotsprings Lodge and RV Park
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Centrally Located, and Close to Liard Hotsprings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Liard Hotsprings Lodge is a log cabin like building that is centrally located to the ever popular Liard Hotsprings Provincial Park. You can just walk from the door of the Lodge/RV Park, and you're right at the Provincial Park.

The inside of the lodge looks like a typical log cabin type house with 2 floors. They have a stuffed "kermode bear" in the common area near the television for people to look at. The first floor houses a restaurant and a common area with a television, and then the second floor houses about 10-12 rooms. The rooms are fairly nice, but they do not take into count the warm weather that the north sees during the summer.

The rooms are quite warm during the summer, and it is hard for you to open up the windows due to the fact that there are screens on them, and they are the typical windup window, so you need to take the screen off in order to access the window handles. They have a fan in there, but there is not much air that comes from it, so it makes the rooms very warm during the summer.

For the RV park area, they have some areas that have picnic tables, as well as electrical hookups. They also have use of bathroom facilities, and showering facilities, but to make use of these services it is 10$/person.

They also do not permit you to take their towels over to the Liard Hotsprings Provincial Park, so you need to ensure that you have your own towels with you;.

The restaurant is a typical cafeteria type theme, and has reasonably priced food, maybe possible a bit on the pricey side, but the quality is good.

Internet is very touch and go at this location, and you may or may not have access to these services when you stay here, we didn't.

You also have a chance of seeing some bison on the property. We didn't see any on the actual property, but we did see a family close to 5 km away.

Overall, I would recommend this lodging, but be prepared for warm and stuffy conditions in the summer if you plan on staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request either a room that is further away from the sunlight, or one that has acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    17
    17
    25
See reviews for
17
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had been driving all day and were looking for someplace to spend the night. The lodge looked fine from the outside but once we got to our room we were horrified.The room was tiny, hardly fitting for two adults. The bed was only a double and the wall sloped in such a way that you had to duck to make it to the bed. The bedding seemed clean but everything else was not. It looked like the whole room could do with a good dusting and the carpet was so filthy I kept my socks on. The bathroom was small and the floor tiles were coming off. To add insult to injury, we had to pay $125.00 for the night and this place was in no way worth it. In the morning the restaurant didn't open until 8 so we and most of the other guests packed up and left.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mouselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these British Columbia hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I was very surprised by how run down the place was. I have stayed here before, the management must have changed or something.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boocharlie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel recently decided to no longer accept dogs, claiming that it is in order to keep the rooms "clean". Well, I don't know what happened with new management, but the hotel was much cleaner when pets were allowed! Our room was filthy and reeked of smoke.

As for the restaurant, bacon in breakfast was bad... As in having sat in oil for 3 months. Staff denied it, and didn't do anything to fix it. Waitress looked like she had partied all night and couldn't have cared less about us, or anybody for that matter.

This property would have the potential to be amazing, and was very good for many years. Too bad new management is taking it to the ground!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whistlerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

I'll be honest I can't speak to the quality of the rooms here, but as for the restaurant, staff, and hot springs stay tuned.

For the best part first. The Liard hot springs have been and continue to be the most beautiful, most outstanding, and absolute BEST hot springs my wife and I have EVER experienced!!! A must stop even if only for 5 mins. My wife and I heard about them from a friend and thought we check it out on our speedy drive to Whitehorse. We only planned to take a 10-15 min dip but ended up being there almost 2 hrs. The setting is all natural with only a wooden walkway, deck and change room. Not like typical hot springs that are more like a swimming pool sized hot tub. Here you're actually walking on crushed river rock. Really my wife and I can't say enough about this place! We'll be stopping again in about a week when we drive back through.

Ok the food at the restuarant was basic but good and a fair price. And the staff were friendly. But bring your own towel! Or they'll charge you $10/towel to rent theirs!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
428 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

A very nice setting and a great location. We read where they re-opened this spring so we made reservations to spend a night on our way back from Anchorage.

Sadly it wasn't everything their web site described. The pictures didn't give a true idea of what the rooms were like. Now it is possible the other rooms were better. Our room was #11. After checkin we headed up to the room. At the top landing you could see the staining of the carpets. Maybe just the main hall. Into the room and things just went downhill. The bed was small and just didn't give the appearance of being clean. The room was set in a window alcove, so low ceilings. I mean like the "bump your head" at night kind of ceilings. The bathroom had a vinyl sliding door and was not in the best of shape.

We decided that we just couldn't stay there. We are not fussy people, honest. On this trip we spent 37 days on the road in a car, so every night was in a B&B, lodge or hotel.

I would suggest that if you plan to stay here, ask to see your room first.

The staff seemed pleasant, but didn't know alot about the amenities. They were very nice in providing our credit back. For us, we'll never plan another stay there, you know what they say about first impressions!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Location of this Lodge make it perfect place to stop but that is just the beginning , after entering this beautiful rustic log lodge the people were friendly and warming like family. Even though being to early in the season for the RV park to be open they let us plug our camper in front of the lodge. So in we went for some of the best food I have had in awhile there spicy chicken soup was fantastic and the people gave superior serivce but made you feel like you were dining with family. I will be returning soon and bring more of the family. We did the Northern cirle route and this was the best stop we had through BC, Yukon and Alaska. Not only did we seem thrilled with all the current vistors seemed happy too. We will definately be telling everyone about this gem up north! Thanks guys you made my son's day and still talks about our Liard stop!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8tOutdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near British Columbia
0.0 km away
Northern Rockies Lodge
Northern Rockies Lodge
#1 of 1 in Muncho Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 km away
Double G Service
Double G Service
#1 of 1 in Muncho Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
Folding Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Johnson's Crossing RV Campground and Motel
Johnson's Crossing RV Campground...
#1 of 1 in Johnson's Crossing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
Nisutlin Trading Post & Motel
0.0 km away
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
#3 of 10 in Fort Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liard Hotsprings Lodge and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liard Hotsprings Lodge and RV Park

Property: Liard Hotsprings Lodge and RV Park
Address: Mile 497 Alaska Highway | North of the intersection of the Alaska Highway with the Liard River, British Columbia V1G 4J8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,043 of 1,269 Speciality Lodging in British Columbia
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing