We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Visit”
Review of St. George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barkerville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barkerville
Reviewed 2 June 2017

The hotel just opened up to families with kids again and ours, (with 3 kiddos), had a wonderful experience! We spent two nights here, enjoyed Barkerville thoroughly and were made to feel at home and welcome by Dave and Cheryl. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were delicious and traditional. Staying right there in Barkerville is a fabulous opportunity for extra exploration and adventure too! We would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelingmum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Rustic old world charm with excellent hosts, to the point of accommodating us even though we arrived a day too early. Our room(#1) was small and comfortable with mainly the bed and little else.... just like in the gold rush days. Breakfast in the dining room downstairs with other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank & Sus... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Owner at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks for being enthusiastic guests, and helping us to crack open our first season as the new hoteliers. It's a really unique experience to stay in the St. George, and it's amazing that it was built in 1880!! We love the balcony next to your room, and all the seating and lounging area downstairs that makes up for the charming size of the rooms upstairs. So happy we could accommodate your surprise arrival!! Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Grab a warm blanket and take in the fantastic views of this historic treasure from the street side balcony! Inn keeper & post master in period clothing was most helpful ❗️splendid bed and water pressure- best wishes as you winter over & thank you SO much for your kindness

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Host was rude to my company and I, didn't feel welcome at all. Didn't enjoy the company of other guests at breakfast because of this and breakfast was okay. Rooms were average on comfort level. Great fun in the town though!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank S-F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Owner at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Under new management since your stay. Hopefully we can bump up your star rating on your next visit. As the new owners of the St. George we have the advantage of 20 years experience in the Wells and Barkerville Tourism industry, and numerous tourism awards for our originality and service. Hope to see you here! Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in late May. We had booked room 1 with a four poster bed and ensuite shower room.
The hotel is very authentic and let you slips back into the late 19th Century.
The room as mentioned on the website is not very big, so ideal to just bring an overnight bag( which we did and left the rest of our luggage in the hire car) There are no cupboards or drawers to put things, but this wasn't an issue for us.
After being greeted by Saya and shown to our room, we went and sat out on the balcony and chatted to other guests, watching the street below.
The bed was very comfy and we slept very well. The bathroom is small but adequate for your needs.
At 7pm each evening you can go down to the parlour for tea/coffee and chat with other guests and Saya ( the manager) listening to the fascinating history of Barkerville. The breakfasts were very good, especially the pancakes. Everyone sits around a large dining table to eat. Juice and coffee/tea were available as much as you wanted. The only quibble I had was it would have been nice to have had bread/toast with jam or marmalade on the table to eat while the breakfast was being cooked. We certainly enjoyed our stay here and our visit to Barkerville, especially in the evening when it has closed and the hotel guests are allowed to wander around on their own.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank susieb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This year on our family vacation we hit the road and ended up at the world famous Baskerville. Its a blast from the past and to top it off we stayed a night in the St. George Hotel. A period hotel from the 1800's. The stay included a lovely home cooked breakfast to start your day off right. No big screen TVs, no cel phone coverage no wifi, just good old fashion conversation in the lounge area with our fellow travellers. It was surprisingly very nice for a change. The hotel is great shared washrooms (ugh) so fro longer stays it may not be great for some. At night you can explore this old west town and star gaze.

Room Tip: Stop in Quenelle to pick up snack food and any alcohol you may wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bdk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Talk about sleeping right in the middle of this historic town itself. Very comfy beds displayed with things of days gone by . Full of history to get you marvelling the lives of the go,d rush town and its people. Lots of stores and events to take in while you stay there .

Room Tip: All are good and quiet in evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: Main Street | Barkerville Historic Town, Barkerville, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Barkerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barkerville
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Hotel is located smack dab in the middle of Main St in Barkerville Historic Town. Depicted as the once infamous saloon & brothel of one Madame Fanny Bendixon, the St. George provides our guests a flavour of life in a gold rush town, with all the modern amenities. (Gentlemen, you must bring your own women!)Wind down your day in our comfy parlour & meet new friends from around the world & from your own neighbourhood. Our breakfast is sure to satisfy every appetite, from our famous omelettes to the homemade granola & fruit plates, served a la Carte. Make your accommodation part of your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Barkerville, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing