We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of St. George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barkerville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barkerville
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The in character owners, taking on the personality of those from 1870 lead us through historical story telling making the evening fade away far too quickly. Breakfast was to die for. The whole Barkerville gold rush experience was inhanced by staying here. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theimps2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

This hotel was a perfect stay in Barkerville. It is right on the Main Street which has a balcony to sit and just watch the stagecoach and horses go by. It is so authentic, everything is to period. The rooms are small but very comfortable. The hosts David and Cheryl are lovely warm and friendly people.
The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and freshly made. A great place to stay right in Barkerville.

Room Tip: We had a room right on the front but all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Felt welcome right from our first steps into the St. George's ..... lovely parlour area where we sat and enjoyed other guests company and a cup of tea. Our room(#4) was perfect....small and compact with its own bathroom. Bed was comfortable as were the pillows!! Breakfast was delish......more than what we expected.....fruit, eggs, toast, potatoes one morning and fruit, pastries, and frittata the next morning.....both mornings you could also have cereal and yogurt...Coffee and Tea too !! Our hosts had great suggestions for activities inside and out of Barkerville which was appreciated. If you are looking for a back in time experience stay at the St. George's B & B, you won't be disappointed !!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TomasoVernon_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

The hotel just opened up to families with kids again and ours, (with 3 kiddos), had a wonderful experience! We spent two nights here, enjoyed Barkerville thoroughly and were made to feel at home and welcome by Dave and Cheryl. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were delicious and traditional. Staying right there in Barkerville is a fabulous opportunity for extra exploration and adventure too! We would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelingmum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Rustic old world charm with excellent hosts, to the point of accommodating us even though we arrived a day too early. Our room(#1) was small and comfortable with mainly the bed and little else.... just like in the gold rush days. Breakfast in the dining room downstairs with other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank & Sus... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Owner at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks for being enthusiastic guests, and helping us to crack open our first season as the new hoteliers. It's a really unique experience to stay in the St. George, and it's amazing that it was built in 1880!! We love the balcony next to your room, and all the seating and lounging area downstairs that makes up for the charming size of the rooms upstairs. So happy we could accommodate your surprise arrival!! Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Grab a warm blanket and take in the fantastic views of this historic treasure from the street side balcony! Inn keeper & post master in period clothing was most helpful ❗️splendid bed and water pressure- best wishes as you winter over & thank you SO much for your kindness

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Host was rude to my company and I, didn't feel welcome at all. Didn't enjoy the company of other guests at breakfast because of this and breakfast was okay. Rooms were average on comfort level. Great fun in the town though!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank S-F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Owner at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Under new management since your stay. Hopefully we can bump up your star rating on your next visit. As the new owners of the St. George we have the advantage of 20 years experience in the Wells and Barkerville Tourism industry, and numerous tourism awards for our originality and service. Hope to see you here! Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: Main Street | Barkerville Historic Town, Barkerville, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Barkerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barkerville
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Hotel is located smack dab in the middle of Main St in Barkerville Historic Town. Depicted as the once infamous saloon & brothel of one Madame Fanny Bendixon, the St. George provides our guests a flavour of life in a gold rush town, with all the modern amenities. (Gentlemen, you must bring your own women!)Wind down your day in our comfy parlour & meet new friends from around the world & from your own neighbourhood. Our breakfast is sure to satisfy every appetite, from our famous omelettes to the homemade granola & fruit plates, served a la Carte. Make your accommodation part of your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Barkerville, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing