We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, A Little Pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, A Little Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

A decent hotel that is located just north of Duncan BC.
Pro's
Good restaurant and bar,
Decent high speed Internet,
Comfortable bed and chair at desk
Good Service

Con's
Old rooms,
Noisy highway,
Rooms not clean enough
Over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreqTravler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    72
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
49
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed 1 night. The room was spotless and comfortable and quiet with comfortable bed and nice bedding. The bathroom is a little dated, but clean. The staff is super friendly and efficient. Smelled nice and fresh all through the hotel and room. We had an excellent dinner at the attached pub and also an excellent breakfast at the restaurant. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed at this property following a friends wedding. Upon check-in I was surprised to see that the decor was in alignment with any other hotel you would expect to see in any large city. The room had very modern furnishings, flat screen TV, nice colour scheme, comfortable beds and friendly service. Even though we only stayed for one night I was impressed with the quality of the accomodation and would recommend it to others and could confidently say it is probably the best is Duncan!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haybri2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

This hotel has been renovated fully. Small bar fridge in the room was convenient. Rooms are clean and have all that you need for a comfortable stay. We also stayed in a larger room which had a pullout couch, desk and murphy bed, and has enough space for a family of 4 to stay comfortably.
The staff went out of their way for our group and answered all our requests with an outcome better then we could have anticipated. We were disjointed checking in and they made us feel welcomed and handled this with a big smile, despite it being difficult for the staff. A big THANK YOY to Jeff and the staff!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ganges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Dirty threadbare carpets, heater not working, stale odor., fridge leaking water on carpet, overall a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank slarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The staff at the Bestwestern are always happy! very nice..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Stacy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed 2 nights for a course I was taking over the weekend with 2 others. We asked for a rollaway bed for the third person and one was placed in the room prior to our arrival. The rollaway bed was not very comfortable and it is a very tight squeeze to fit it into the room. Avoid the rollaway if you can. The double beds that were in the room are some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Its a bit much to need 5 feather pillows, but if you need them, each bed has them. Its really nice to see triple sheeted beds. I have had to pay closer to $250 a night to get that at other hotels. Bed spreads are usually the dirtiest thing you will ever lay on, but triple sheeting aleviates any concerns about bed spreads. The bathroom was clean but some additional tiling has been done around the tub and it looks a bit low budget with hints of mildew in spots. The A/C worked well and the temperature was stable. There was some noise from doors closing in the hall and a few thumps from other rooms, but I fell asleep because the beds were so good. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

My only complaint is the restaurant. I can't speak for their lunch or dinner, but breakfast is atrocious. I had an omlette the first morning and I had to keep checking to see if it was cooked since the egg was so mushy. The hashbrowns are deep fried hard wooden chips that might have been a potato in a former life. The second morning was very busy, they only had one server working and it took 50 minutes to get our food. They had blueberry pancakes on special and a young boy asked if he could have blueberries on his waffle. The server told him that they had to save the blueberries for the pancakes because if a lot of people order the pancakes they might run out of blueberries! Pretty sad. Two ladies walked in to eat breakfast but were turned away because they were saving the tables they had left for groups of 4. I guess if there are only 2 of you, you will not be permitted to eat at the restaurant. I was very, very dissapointed with the food and the service. Go for a Booster Juice across from the soon-to-be Future Shop (across the street - South) and avoid breakfast at the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkydiverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn

Property: Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Address: 6474 Trans Canada Hwy, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Duncan
Duncan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing