We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
99
97
42
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
97
42
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe main highwaycowichan valleywestern hotelsbreakfast menuhotel restaurantnice beddingwifi connectiontim hortonsroom was cleanon siteattached restaurantroad noisefront desk staffnice restaurantswim meetwould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 263 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2018

I was hesitant to book here whilst reading all the negative reviews about the noise associated with the renovations here -- people were booking through third parties which failed to disclose the reno events and were unhappy when they arrived. BW is on the ball about this: a management rep called me to warn me about it in case I didn't know so I could cancel my reservation. She could not guarantee at what time the reno noise would start or stop but I kept the booking anyways and ALL WAS GOOD. Despite the exterior of the hotel looking like a disaster area with all the fencing (you couldn't tell it was an open hotel), inside we had a nice clean room that never heard any renovation noise during our Friday night/Sat morning stay. Friendly front desk, room was not outdated and the price was very reasonable (not the cheapest in Duncan but you pay for what you get). No breakfast included but the parking lot is beside a Tim Horton's -- how perfect is that? Looking forward when it's all done and ready, inside and out!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor! We are indeed under heavy construction and everything you have written is the true fact of our situation here. However, I am so pleased that our staff were able to make aware of this situation and allow you to stay comfortably. Our rooms have not changed in condition since we have started our renovations and we are so grateful you were able to have a nice rest with us. Thank you for your encouragement and positivity! We all need that here at the moment. We look forward to serving you again in the near future, and wish you safe travels until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Even though the hotel in under major renovations, they still have excellent rooms and service. Food is available in the attached restaurant/bar for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Location is great for us.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Laraine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review here on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased that despite our questionable exterior, you gave us a chance to serve you as a valued guest in our property. We are looking forward to finally have the outside to be as welcoming as our staff will continue to be, we welcome you again and hope to see you soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

When staying in Duncan I choose to stay here every time. The rooms are well prepared for the traveller and staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Although, close to the highway the traffic noise was minimal .

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Thank you, Terry, for leaving us a review here on Trip Advisor. We are so honored and humbled that we are the hotel of choice for you when staying in Duncan. We hope that we can exceed your expectations when the renovations are complete as well! We will continue to strive to keep this hotel one of the best in the Valley. Thank you for your review and encouragement! With our renovations, we have included a higher quality window framing and new glass, so the noise will even be less! :) See you again soon!

Warmly,

Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

I STAY There Every Tuesday And I would not stayany were other than there the people are very helpful there and they will go out of there way to help you and your stay very nice and the rooms are all ways clean and the food is great

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Craig,

Your review has been a great motivation for our staff, and thank you for your encouragement and support during our renovations. We are grateful for the service and quality our partner restaurant has to offer for our guests, and I am humbled to hear that our staff is willing to go above and beyond for your comfort. We will continue to do so and hope that with the completion of the renovations, we will be able to WOW you with even better rooms and service. Looking forward to the continued business you have with us, and thank you for being a loyal Best Western Rewards Member!

Warmly,

Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017

the only thing i had a problem with is the TV wasnt working but i was too exhausted to call down at the front desk i stayed in room 118. the only thing i would change at the restaurant is that maybe the servers would come back around more often to check on us when we were ready, but they were really busy?

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank angelh631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor and for expressing your concerns and experience. We apologize that the TV was not functioning during your stay. We are so grateful that you have let us know, so that we can remedy the situation immediately.

We apologize for the lack of service at our Restaurant... you have been understanding and kind to let us know that this has happened, and no matter what, the service should always stay top notch. I will be sure to forward this review onto our Restaurant Manager so that no matter how busy, our servers are always attentive to their customers. We appreciate your feedback, and we will get onto it right away!

We hope you will return to stay with us in the near future, we appreciate your business, and hope that we can serve you again with exceeding your expectations!

Warm regards,

Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews