We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always yummy and healthy”

Alderlea Farm and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Duncan
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

The friendliest hosts around and the food is delicious. Nothing processed, all made from scratch. And the view is a bonus!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 176 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2017

We went on the weekend .A drive through rural Duncan witch was nice.
The property is like a farm The restaurant is a converted home a lot of atmosphere but way to small!!
There is a small counter where the people line up to order. Every one has to wait until the next person has looked at the menu and place their order,
When you are ready to go and could make place for the next customers to sit you have to stand in the same lineup to pay.
I ordered a sandwich and soup $ 14 The soup was a homemade with some tomatoes brown beans carrot The kind you you make at home. The burger was small and disappointing. about 3 inches ' The patty was dry For lettuce 2 pieces of flat kale The fried onions were nice. On the plate was a lick of mustard and mayo plus a few pieces of pickles. The trouble is the girl who takes the orders also serves cleans tables etc

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catharina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of lunch at the café a few days ago. The atmosphere is warm and inviting! I had the quiche and salad, which was delicious and my husband had the beef burger. We have lived on Vancouver Island for 16 years, and he said it was the best burger he has had since we moved here!!
We will definitely be back, bringing more guests to enjoy this quaint café!
Thank you Katy!!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2017

We made the short journey from Alderlea Farm Cafe on a dreary West Coast morning!
We were welcomed by John and Katy into their earthy, home-spun restaurant by pleasant conversation that warmed us right up.
We ordered the special of the day which was a delicious spinach cheese pie, served with beef bone soup and a fresh from the oven whole whet roll.
We will definitely return to try out a burger and beer or for Sunday night wood fired pizza!
This is a great find in the Cowichan valley!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank lillypuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Alderlea Farm and Cafe makes you feel at home while offering a European warmth and country-side ambiance. The drive to Glenora is definitely worth it - like stumbling across an exquisite eatery unexpectedly in Tuscana or Provence. Katy and John are the 'real thing'; offering a warm, gracious welcome, a delicious home-cooked, farm-to-table, organic meal, a selection of award-winning local wine and beer,and a stunning view of their farm. This is definitely one of our favorite places to eat!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nadinejoe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alderlea Farm and Cafe also viewed

Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 
Cowichan Bay, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 

Been to Alderlea Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.