We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous farm to table food”

Alderlea Farm and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Duncan
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch today on our bike ride. Great farm setting. Food all home made, farm to table. A definite winner. Well worth the effort as it is off on a side road

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank PTG000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2017

We stopped at Alderlea Farm Cafe after a morning bike ride from Glenora Trail Head Park to Kinsol Trestle. It was the perfect spot to end our outing. I ordered the spinach quiche with a green salad--both of which tasted amazing. The ambience is lovely, especially sitting on the porch overlooking the valley. The service was very friendly and efficient (we were a group of 20 and they accommodated us very nicely).

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stop for lunch or dinner. A truly natural experience with beautifully home cooked meals, soups and pizza. We enjoyed the cabbage roll special and grilled cheese with farm bacon sandwich. Katy and John are very hospitable and a pleasure to visit with. They made special arrangements for us, which we really appreciated. An absolute must if you're in the area!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank LoveToTravel255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017

So delicious! Best soups, best burgers, organic, gluten free and vegan options, and that WOOD FIRED PIZZA! OMG! Can't ask for a more beautiful setting or better service. And I'll take some pie AND chocolate cake (to die for)!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leahburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

You arrive at Alderlea Farm and after you overcome being stunned by the beauty of the Southern view down into the lush valley and up again to the mountains in the distance, you find your way, noticing a luring choice of outdoor seating, through the lovely, informal entrance into the warmth of the café.

You have the strange feeling of being at home, making yourself comfortable, enjoying the Nature-based decor and art. You go to the counter to peruse and order the mouth-watering items on the menu (good luck trying to decide) being greeted with warmth and delight and you feel your presence is actually bringing genuine pleasure to inspired Cook Katy, who radiates deep joy in her work.

There's a beautiful feeling of authenticity as you co-create your experience. It's a popular place and you think it'll probably take ages to get served BUT sooner than you expect, the intoxicating smells wafting in the air arrive in front of you, gorgeously presented on your plate, tastefully decorated with flowers and such. Every bite is scrumptious and, if you're clever enough to go on a Sunday evening, Farmer John will bake you THE BEST PIZZA in his wood-fired oven that an Italian chef who I dined with last Sunday evening described as 'the best on the Island'! I believe it!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rivendellrhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alderlea Farm and Cafe also viewed

Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 
Cowichan Bay, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 

Been to Alderlea Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.