We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing people, amazing food...”

Alderlea Farm and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Duncan
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Organic and biodynamic farm and cafe. A real farm to table restaurant.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Beautiful rural setting but the real gem is the lady behind it all--Katie and the fantastic, fresh and wholesome food that she cooks and her ability to accommodate any diet--gluten free, dairy free etc. We have had lunches and dinners here numerous times over the past few years and have always been "wowed" by her excellent and most reasonably priced menu. The Alderlea Farm and Cafe is a true treasure of the Cowichan Valley...

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjgergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2017

When we arrived, the parking was back to the main gate. We wondered if we were crashing a private party but it turned out to just be a busy time. The lady who greeted us told us if we chose a wood-fired pizza, she would slip the order in ahead of the large group that was ordering. It came quickly and was very good. It was a hot evening and there was no room outside in the shade so we ate inside and were able to observe how friendly the staff was and how many repeat, local customers were popping in for their favorites. We left after not too long as it was so hot but I can see why the locals would return. A definite little gem.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Valbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Had dinner out here at the Alderlea Farm. What a wonderful experience. We didn't know we were in the right place as we drove up the driveway to a barking dog, and an older gentleman sitting on the front porch. Is this it? Yes, it is! Once you walk through the door, you see the restaurant, although, there is plenty of rustic and eclectic seating outside where you can take in the amazing views of this farm, and if you're lucky, a chicken may wander around your table outside. It was so peaceful out there, and the food is simple, tasty, down-home cooking. We had the chicken dinner with wine and and their home-made dessert. This is an experience not to be missed. Your kids will love it, as they're allowed to go see the pigs and cows and wander around the farm. We didn't have a chance to try the pizza, which is a big deal here, but definitely next time!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FelloTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Good food. Wholesome ingredients. A little too rustic for our taste - pizza ingredients were really large, made it hard to eat. Service was very casual. Imagine eating at an great meal at a farm friend's house. Tastey but very casual... a little organization and finess would take cute to epic.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank ginagY482RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

First time visitors from Nanaimo, French Creek and Victoria. This place is a keeper we all enjoyed the lunch and experience very much. Country, farm to table home cooked food just like when I grew up. I especially enjoyed my bratwurst, salad, fresh raspberry/rhubarb pie and crust. Presentation of food so nice. We also enjoyed meeting the owners/staff and scenery. Rhubarb was being picked as we were leaving. We will be back.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Comonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alderlea Farm and Cafe also viewed

Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 
Cowichan Bay, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Duncan, Cowichan Valley Regional District
 

Been to Alderlea Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.