We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not even consider!”
Review of Trans Canada Motel

Trans Canada Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trans Canada Motel
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please do not even consider!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

As soon as I opened the door there was a TERRIBLE stench, lock on door and window was not secure, I did not feel safe, especially with all the strange people I noticed outside as I was bringing my belongings in. I was afraid to leave the window open to air out, not knowing what might walk by. I didnt want to leave my valuables in the car, afraid it would be broken in, but wasn't sure how safe they would be in the room as well if i went out. Side table and counters werent wiped, gross splatter marks on lamp, gross spoltches in bathroom floor, i was afraid to look at the tub/toilet/sink etc, i saw enough when i looked at the floor. extra pillows and towels looked thrown on the self, empty tissue box, the room obviously had not been cared for. These are the things I noticed right away, if the obvious things have not been cleaned, i cant imagine everything else! Not to mention the terrible decor, did not make me feel at ease. Total of 10 min in that room, now I need to take a shower, thankfully the owner gave my money back, even after telling me that was one of the "better" rooms. We went down the street and for $20 more, I can sleep in peace.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtenayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In two minds on this place, on the one hand it’s very cheap and is what it is – a basic motel the same location as pretty much every other motel in the town. On the other hand it’s quite dirty and old (e.g. there was a chair in the ‘swimming pool’ when we were there.

You get what you pay for, personally I’d pay a little extra next time for one of the other motels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The motel is located on the main highway away from the touristy spots. However, kamloops being a small place, most of the city attractions are located within a 15-20 mins drive. The rooms are quite spacious but the decor is a bit tacky/dated (expected as this is a no-frills motel). The pool was not operating and looked in dilapidated state. The place was being managed by an Indian gentleman and he was very accommodating of our requests. Overall, good place for just sleeping over night without expecting to be close to the nightlife/city based attractions.

Room Tip: try and get ground floor rooms with parking right in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This motel has definetely seen better days but I only needed a place for a single night and I was travelling on a tight budget. I found it shabby but very clean with firm but comfortable beds. This is not suitable for someone with mobility problems as there are no grab-bars in the bathroom which has a deep tub. It does not have very secure windows or doors. The door has a little chain lock along with a door handle lock. The windows don't seem to lock, there is no security bar for it and the screens all look lke they've been pried out at some point in time. But, for $70 a night, I had a clean room with a decent bed. I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sok30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Old place, I would suggest spend $10-20 more and get a nice decent place. During my stay, there was no water in the pool and no breakfast provided. It was cheap, might be good for budget minded people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaOilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This motel is located off Highway-1 about 10km from Kamloops town. For the rate of $49/night (excl. taxes), we got a room with microwave, a mini-fridge and hi-speed wi-fi internet! The pool was not working at the time we were there, but it was the perfect place to put up for a night. The beds were comfy, the floor was clean, the TV was working so everything was great. Bring a pair of ear plugs and you should have no problems with the traffic noise (if any). I think this was one of the best finds (in terms of value) in this region!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ak970097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innisfil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Booked a 5 night stay while on business and had to be the worst place I have ever stayed at. The first night distubances from unit above. at 4AM. FLOORS AND WALLS NOISY Second night room was not serviced was told housekeeping staff did not come. Had shower and when college went to have shower he had NO water for almost one hour. TV had bad speaker. Had to have internet in office reset, and very little band width. The second night room was clean.
The third night once again no room service, beds were not made, towels on floor, no cleaning done. Once again we had to insist on service.Sink has large chunks out of porcelan and the bed is proped up with a chunk of wood. AVOID THIS PLACE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank refind_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#35 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Panorama City Centre Inn
#31 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#21 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Valleyview
Kings Motor Inn
Kings Motor Inn
#33 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Valleyview
Lamplighter Motel
Lamplighter Motel
#38 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans Canada Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Canada Motel

Property: Trans Canada Motel
Address: 2505 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trans Canada Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Trans Canada Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing