We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so tasty”

Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Bakeries in Kamloops
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Description: Swiss Pastries has served the community for over 35 years. We are proud to carry on the tradition of making and serving fine European style baked items which have pleased customers for generations. The company was originally started strictly as a bakery, and then in response to customer needs it expanded to include a cafe. It was a family business then and continues as a family owned business today. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We commit to offering only quality products made using the finest ingredients, served with pride. We offer gluten free and vegetarian options. Customers should be aware that they are however prepared in a non-gluten free and non-vegetarian environment.
Restaurant details
Description: Swiss Pastries has served the community for over 35 years. We are proud to carry on the tradition of making and serving fine European style baked items which have pleased customers for generations. The company was originally started strictly as a bakery, and then in response to customer needs it expanded to include a cafe. It was a family business then and continues as a family owned business today. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We commit to offering only quality products made using the finest ingredients, served with pride. We offer gluten free and vegetarian options. Customers should be aware that they are however prepared in a non-gluten free and non-vegetarian environment.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

If you haven't been, you really need to give it a try. It has delicious pastries, and lunch items, bread and buns. Really a great place to meet for a coffee.

1  Thank 538adriennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twisted R, Owner at Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words, we really work hard to provide the best experience we possibly can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2018

For years my husband and I have stopped for coffee and a pastry or sandwich at the Swiss bakery when we were in Kamloops for the day. However we finally have realized that what was wonderful is no more. The Swiss bakery no longer has great displays of many mouthwatering pastries. The selection on our most recent visit was pitiful. So we decided to have a ham & cheese croissant with our coffee. What we got was a cold dense bun, with a measly portion of ham & cheese, wilted lettuce and no pickle or anything to save it from our total scorn. It was awful and it seemed like they grabbed what was left from yesterday's lunch, and had been stuck in the fridge for a long time. Almost inedible and with a cup of coffee cost us a $20 bill. Never again. RIP Swiss Bakery!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dnidzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Recently, I was at a dinner event which I later discovered was catered by Chef Moutsos of Twisted Roots Kitchen and Catering who I think also owns Swiss Pastry. I was blown away by the quality of the food and the pastries! It can't be easy catering to a large number of people, but the food stood out, as did the service and the pride Chef Moutsos took in his creations as he stood over the table. I read some of the comments here and have to wonder at the pettiness of some complaints. I haven't been to Swiss Pastry in a few years, but I give two thumbs up to Twisted Roots!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank filleheureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twisted R, Owner at Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Thanks so much for the great review of our catering 'filleheureuse'.
We loved that you enjoyed both the hot food and the sweets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We had breakfast here. The food was good but small portions and expensive. It's right downtown on main street. Parking in front of the building (paid parking). The girl serving the food was very nice. We would go back if the portions were not that small.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaoliLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twisted R, Owner at Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us Paoli.

I'll take a look at our portion sizes to make sure this isn't a training issue and look forward to giving us a chance again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

this is a run of the mill café....very few pastries and baked goods and most looked like they were mass produced. I had a bean soup which was very good...but almost cold. Service was good, but not spectacular and the ambience is missing.....probably will not go back....the franchise coffee shops offer more.

Thank Footsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twisted R, Owner at Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Hello Footsac,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

I am sorry that you did not see our full array of house made swiss baking. We pride ourselves in one of the few establishments which makes everything in house, including our puff pastry, breads, cakes and croissants.

Sometimes we do get caught during the day running out of items, and as a bakery this is one of our issues we are working on to better prepare for full hours of service. You care correct on ambience, we need to improve our décor and ideas are in the works.

Hoping you will give us a try, we use local coffee roasters as well, something that you won't find in all of the franchise coffee shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Swiss Pastries & Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing