We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
110
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural horsemanship riding experience experienced riders chef martin trail riding wild horse saloon love horses beautiful trails clint eastwood wonderful weekend western canada night stay other guests comfortable bed wranglers volunteers molly
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 114 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

I spend 2 weeks at the ranch. Got there to spend lots of time on horse back. I really enjoyed every minute at the ranch. Grat terrain ( if you are an experienced rider, but beginnners will also be have great fun). I did several rides within a a group of beginners as awell as advanced riders. The crew was always able to suit rides (and horses) to the wishes and abilities of the riders. Super calm and educated horses, extremely sure footed!!
Met very nice guests there, and owners as well as volunteers were awesome!
I wished, I could have stay there longer.
Easy ride from Vancouver to the ranch.
If I will ever get the chanche to go there again, I will certainly do so.
To Bernadette, Martin and the crew: Thank you so much for the great times I could spend with you! I loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susik1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette C, Owner at Campbell Hills Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We had a wonderful time riding with you and sharing our natural horsemanship philosophy with you. Thank you for your lovely horse stories from back home. We wish you happy trails and hope to meet and ride together again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We recently had 3 night stay with our 2 teenagers, one of whom is horsey and one less so, but all of us loved our stay. Very impressed with natural horsemanship, blown away by the possibilities - why does any horse need to have a bit, ever?? And it is heartwarming to see these horses being so well liked after. We really liked waking up to a loud snort from the horses grazing right next to the cabin and opening the curtain to see them right there! Excellent and plentiful food (we had even considered bringing snacks for 17 yo son who eats a ton, but there was no need at all). The rides can be a bit long for those who don't ride all the time normally (which can lead to skipping of subsequent rides which is a shame). The staff were very attentive all the time, esp Claudia who drove us to the lake with 2 kayaks so we could have a paddle. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Astrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette C, Owner at Campbell Hills Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. Happy to read you embrace the natural horsemanship concept! We enjoyed riding with you guys and wish you happy trails. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

This resort was exceptional. The facilities are modern and clean and the staff is friendly. The couple who owns it have been operating it for 4 years after successfully running a restaurant in kamloops. They love horses and care for them well which means good riding for their guests. We spent Friday night to Monday morning there and rode twice Saturday and Sunday (2.5 hours each ride). Monday morning departure ride was only 1.5 hours but the ride took us to the highest peak. Views were magnificent. Be ready to ride up and down some steep slopes - the horses are sure-footed! Did some trotting and cantering each day. We also saw a big brown bear on our first ride. It watched us from a rocky outcrop but did not follow us. Martin is an excellent chef and each meal was well done with large portions. Something different for each meal. The 6 wranglers take turns guiding rides and helping out around the paddock, kitchen / dining room. No TV except videos but with riding, other guest company and meals, there was no time for TV anyway.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette C, Owner at Campbell Hills Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Your kind review just increased our excitement and anticipation for the upcoming summer season, as we get to have wonderful people like you back at the ranch! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the ranch with other travelers. It means a lot to us that you took the time to write this, and helps guests who are planning their summer vacation and embrace a natural horsemanship experience!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Campbell Hills Guest Ranch was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The accommodations are spacious and very clean. The food was all homemade and included lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. It all tasted very good. Although I was a non-rider this trip, my friends all loved their horses and the riding.

Room Tip: Maximum capacity is 16 so all rooms and suites are good. Some of the cottages have little kitchen and others do not.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Everything about this ranch is wonderful. We arrived and were welcomed warmly. It felt more like arriving at a friends place than a "hotel". The owners, Bernie & Martin, as well as the staff were fantastic. The accommodations were great. The food was phenomenal! I'm a pretty picky eater, and there was not one thing that was served that I didn't drool all over! The best part? - the horses! Being an English-style rider, I wasn't used to riding without contact - but wow!! What an amazing experience. Softness was the word of the day with Brandy. Literally a finger on the rein was all that was needed to communicate with her. What a wonderful job Bernie and her wranglers do with these horses! Such a pleasure to ride! We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette C, Owner at Campbell Hills Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review Heather. It was a pleasure having you and family here at the ranch. Lovely to see that riders and horses feel harmony while riding on the trails. We look forward to have you again. Bernadette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews