We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one good dish”
Review of Beijing Restaurant

Beijing Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 364 Restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: North Shore
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Friends always recommend their lunch buffet... not worth it at all. There wasn’t one choice that was actually tasty. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank stacieac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

The Au brothers have sold their business with Peter and Simon moving back to China. The remaining brother, Gary, is now with another restaurant. Since their departure the food taste and quality are no longer the same, leaning more towards “Western-Chinese” than authentic Chinese. If you’re after authentic Chinese, this is no longer “THE” restaurant in town; see my review about Gary’s House of Kwan....

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank kentw893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Old chef is gone, new one on board, food is rather tasteless. Don't order shredded beef in chili as you will get some mystery meat which is not beef, chunks of whatever not deep fried and not the recipe from the menu. Very disappointed, offered a credit, but definitely not going back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We were not too hungry but felt like something other than burgers etc as we have been traveling for the last few weeks. Came across this on TA and saw it was rated high so gave it a try. Didn’t read the reviews or would have passed. It was actually quite good. We each had the combo for one, I know, but we were not motivated tonight and shared. We both enjoyed the food an service. Our server was very nice but a bit hard to understand. She changed up one selection at no charge as she told the boss “need to keep customer happy”. We would come back. The food was fresh and well prepared and a good size as well.
Give it a try, but be more imaginative as the dishes we saw coming out sure looked good. Great value for the dollar.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 682pyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Like others, the Old Beijing was our go to. After tonight’s food that was delivered tho, the New Beijing is off our list. Less food for the money, Lemon sauce for lemon chicken tasted of oil and water, chow mein had no flavour, and the other meals were all a poor distant to what we use to have. We also asked for rice for 6 people. We got one large rice delivered. Enough only for 2, maybe 3 people. This showed us care was not taken to please the customer, and it seems all that is considered is how to cut costs on food. I find this very insulting. Hopefully the cook and management will decide to have more pride in their food and service soon or they will likely find themselves out of business.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mummy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beijing Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Beijing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing