We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
207
205
66
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
205
66
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking heart of downtown continental breakfast independent hotel hard boiled eggs facing the street bernard street perfect location included in the room rate fresh fruit prospera place stay there again within walking distance small balcony flat screen tv the hotel manager parking spot
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 517 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2016

We loved our two-night stay at The Royal Anne Hotel. The downtown location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shops. Our second floor room had access to a huge rooftop patio, which really increased our living area. The room itself was well-appointed and had a very comfortable bed. There is secure, underground parking included in the room rate, as well as a good continental breakfast. The hotel's commitment to customer service is evident, which we appreciate very much.
Our only complaint is that the walls are thin and we could clearly hear the guests in the adjoining room and their radio.
We will definitely stay at The Royal Anne the next time we visit Kelowna.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Prairiedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAnneHotel, General Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Prairie Drifter,

We sincerely thank you for the "EXCEPTIONAL" review!

In direct response to your observation about clearly hearing your neighbours. As you were located on the 2nd floor, those are adjoining rooms & sound does tend to travel through the doors with much more ease than in non-adjoining rooms. In efforts to control sound transfer, we are in the process of installing insulation between the adjoining doors, in efforts to eliminate sound transfer & are scheduled to complete the project within the month. Taking it one step further, we are in early planning stages of increasing insulation between guest room walls throughout the hotel. That will likely be our next major project.

It's so rewarding to know guests such as yourself, are thoroughly enjoying the hotel & all the convenient & wonderful amenities the hotel offers. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best possible experience & to have you leave us not just satisfied, but pleasantly delighted with your stay.

That you LOVED YOUR STAY, despite your issue with sound transfer says it all & we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Christa Park ~ Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this jewel of a property this week, not only we were treated well but so was our little Bichon,

Even to the point that the room staff had dog biscuits,

I highly recommend this if you are looking for a place nestled in the heart of downtown Kelowna, with staff and amenities that have not forgotten the true art of making the guest feel welcome.

Micheal

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Micheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAnneHotel, General Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Micheal,

Thank you so very much for the fantastic review!

As many of our staff members have pets too, we appreciate that your pet, is very much a part of your family & that travelling can sometimes be unsettling for an animal.

We have plans in store for our pet rooms in future, but for now we're content knowing that both you & your pet felt well treated & really at home with us.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you! We're tickled to be considered a "Hidden Jewel" & sincerely thank you for the opportunity to earn both your repeat business & your high recommendations.

Warm regards,

Christa Park ~ Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel continues to have updates completed and the recent replacement of the sliding doors that open onto the balconies is one of them. They have installed modern sliders and moved the heating/air conditioning unit from the outside wall but they haven't updated the black out drapes so there's a big part of the new door that the drapes don't cover; in place of new drapes they have placed black landscaping fabric over that portion of the glass which looks pretty tacky, it also doesn't block out light. My room had recently (the same day I checked in) had some drywall work done by the new air conditioner, so recent was the work that the drywall mud was still wet and the worker left a dirty rag on the desk. Oh, and it seems that they no longer provide anything other than lotion in the room. I had to get soap from the front desk and both times the room was cleaned no shampoo or anything else was added to the bathroom.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank blubouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAnneHotel, General Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear Blubouie,

Let me begin by saying we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, our guest room upgrades may have caused you, during your recent stay.

As you can imagine, removing our old AC units from our windows, replacing them with state of the art AC/heating units and replacing each balcony door in every guest room is no small task! In addition, there's a very short time frame, or window of opportunity to complete major upgrades such as this one, prior to high season. As well, the hotel has been extremely busy this spring, so rooms are being rented out as quickly as we can have them ready.

For the most part, despite the enormous undertaking & fantastic improvements...the upgrades have gone very well. Yes, as you've noted, there are minor cosmetic touches that remain to be done & on occasion, our hard working maintenance team can be forgetful & leave traces of their work behind...... such as the rag on your desktop. We do sincerely apologize for that oversight!

We have begun the installation of gorgeous new blackout drapes & sheers on our top floor & are just waiting for the remaining drapes to be sent to us. We ordered a beautiful fabric from out of country, which resulted in a fantastic final product.... and an unexpected delivery delay.
In the meantime, as you've noted we have covered the gap in our new windows with landscaping material in an effort to ensure guest privacy. We've attempted to minimize the temporary 'tacky look' as much as possible. I can't say it's been our best decorating job to date, but most guests seem to appreciate it's a very temporary measure & the end result will be both effective & stunning.

Finally, although many guests prefer their own personal products, we absolutely provide more than just lotion in our guest washrooms. In addition to both a hand & bath soap, we provide shampoo, conditioner & body lotion in every guest room.

As I don't know who you are, I'm unable to track down your room number to determine which of my housekeepers, attended & stocked your guest room. I can tell you we have 2 brand new housekeepers on staff, that just started training last week. There's a very good chance one of our new girls cleaned your room & forgot to restock the amenities for you. I'll be sure to print out your comments so my housekeeping team is aware of the oversight & thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We thank you for staying with us & hope you'll return when the updates in our beautiful guest rooms are complete.

Warm regards,

Christa Park ~ Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

The room was exactly as pictured on the website, but better.... beautiful towels, new a/c unit and large flat screen TV. From check in to check out, every single staff member was professional, friendly and polite. The continental breakfast had a great selection and we really enjoyed our meal at O'Flannigans as well . Try the mushroom caps! The downtown location is very handy to the beach and close to many restaurants and coffee shops.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeborahCarrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAnneHotel, General Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for your fabulous review! We couldn't be more pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us!

As management, we discuss & ponder every aspect of our amenities & how our decisions & choices ultimately affect a guests stay with us. To know your guest room was more than you expected, that you noticed the quality of our towels & were pleased with our breakfast choices is a sure sign we're on the right track.

Thank you as well for your recommendation for O'Flannigan's Pub Deborah! It's a great little pub, with a wonderful ambiance, great entertainment, a wide choice of brews & really delicious food. As a visitor to the Pub I'm not certain if you're aware, but the Food Network Canada, recently recognized O'Flannigan's Pub as one of the TOP 12 pubs in Canada to celebrate St. Patrick's Day!! Quite the honor & no small feat to earn that prestigious recognition.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay & sincerely thank you for your 5 star review.

Warm regards,

Christa Park ~ Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Nothing wrong with appearances as this is a nice little boutique hotel, but they need some sound proofing. You could hear everything. Staff were great, location was great, room was clean, but we heard everything outside of our room all night. Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HotMale47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAnneHotel, General Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you this past week. I believe I may have spoken to you in our breakfast room yesterday & thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

in our efforts to further enhance guest comfort, our current focus & deep investment has been focused on soundproofing the hotel from exterior street noise. After spending a TON of money, we've added super quiet, energy efficient balcony doors & amazing heating/AC units in each guest room. We've even gone so far as adding acoustic drapes in our guest rooms....not a feature the average hotel invests in.

The result of these wonderful upgrades? Beautiful, SUPER QUIET guest rooms, that cut out exterior noise splendidly. Brilliant!!
Conversely however, the rooms have become so quiet guests can now hear the inside of the building. Who would have thought?
We're a 40 year hotel, and they just didn't insulate back then, like they do in our current day......The pros & cons of an older, charming building.

So back to the drawing board! Our next major investment in guest comfort will be increasing insulation between our interior walls. Our wonderful owners are committed to guest comfort, so we're prepared to make that investment. Silence is our mission, guest comfort our goal!

We hope your travels bring you our way someday, so you can check us out!

Warm regards,

Christa Park ~ Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews