We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and updated”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed there for a night in July in the tower section. I liked that one needs one's key card to enter the building...good security.
Room was lovely and very updated. Modern decor and nice flat screen TV. Also nice to have a balcony.
Denny's is the restaurant adjoined to the hotel and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast there. Food and service were excellent!
Also, it's located across the road from a Mall which can be convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yawellnofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    91
    88
    46
    40
See reviews for
101
78
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Planned to stay at the Sandman Hotel Kelowna for two nights August 2011. My family and i were going for a summer get away, and decided on the Sandman for a wonderful place to stay. Checking in all went well, but when arrived to the room it was all down hill. When arrived to the room we casually were unloading our suitcases, and our food into the fridge to stay cool. Then to notice the cleaning staff had not cleaned it out from the previous guests; left over fish & chips still in the fridge. Ok, so that was one thing that went wrong but it didnt end there. The washroom had NOT been cleaned, there was trash still in the trashcan and old towels in the bath. Now this is getting rediculous; next my sister noticed something on the floor, which we inspected to be dog food; arent the housekeepers suposed to vacum the rooms? Telling our other part of our family who we staying next door,they didnt have anybetter review. They found in their bathroom, old, used bandaids; how gross is that? Therefore we called the front desk to come clean it up, as we were going out for dinner expecting it to be cleaned when back in 2hours. Yet, when we came back nothing was different. Therefore we decided to packup and checkout as soon as we could, as we were not putting up with this. We did get our re-fund, but seriously shouldnt a hotel chain do better?
And this wasnt the end, we found a new hotel to stay in that was EXCELLENT! But when unpacking realized we had forgot some of our clothing at the Sandman. So we called back and asked them to please go to the room and retrieve our clothing and we'll be there to pick it up later. They agreed and said they would check and see if it was still there, but to our suprise they called back and told us our clothes werent there?! Ok, this is crazy. And they said the housekeeping saw nothing in the room and they had checked a new guest into our room. Putting into our minds that our clothing had been stolen, therefore we called the RCMP, when they arrived they got the same responce, all we could do is wait. Believing that our clothing each worth about $100 each was truthfully gone.
It was the next day when we recieved a phone call, they had found out clothing. But guess where? in their housekeeping unit, whoever cleaned the room took the clothing and had it in the laundry room. And bothered not to tell their manager or anything, and created a big hoop-la.
So over all, i would never recommend anyone to go to this Hotel, even though the staff may seem friendly and helpful. They dont have a clue what they are doing!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

When first coming into the hotel, we thought it was alright. But the room was awesome. It was definitely worth it, unlike a lot of other places. We had a car so it wasn't really a problem that it was further away from the beaches.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful bc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for a couple days of R&R with the family. Usually stay at a different chain in Kelowna, but thought we would change it up a bit this time. Got a Suite Room in the Tower and really enjoyed it. Perfect size for our family and everything was nicely appointed.

Two small things to complain about - 1) There is no stove in the suite, just a microwave, which kind of limits the ability to use the kitchen to the full. 2) It is quite the adventure getting access to the pool the first time you look for it. Not much signage, and poor directions at that. Once you've gone there once, then it's fine, but we had quite the adventure the first time around.

Other than that, like I said, we had a great stay and this hotel is now in the running for the next time we stay in Kelowna.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepy_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

the main hotel is old outdated, the relatively new tower is excellent.

The suites are top of the line, big kitchen, awesome oversized chairs in a decent sized living room, with 46" LCD HDTV. Balcony is a little tight, but more then enough room for two to enjoy a local bottle of wine, and if your 7th floor or higher, the view south is quite impressive.

If your key card becomes demagnitized, it's a bit of a walk around the main building to the front desk.

Nicest "Coast Hotel" room I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgarydave1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

4 of us stayed at the Sandman hotel in Kelowna in Aug for 2 nights. Had 2 rooms, a king room in the new tower on the 5th floor and a king suite in the new tower on the main floor. The building is pretty basic and the tower is newer than the other building. Even though the tower is newer, the king suite was pretty worn looking...a few stains on the carpet in the room and in the hallways. The king room on the upper floor was much cleaner but the view from the balcony was of an industrial complex. Bed was fairly comfortable. Noise level can be high as the doors tend to slam shut so you hear all your neighbors going out/coming in. We didn't try the indoor pool or the restaurant but we did use the front desk for directions and they were incredibly nice and helpful.

Location is not central to their main strip so a car is needed. We did see bus stops near by but can't comment on how good the public transportation was since we had our car. There are some fast food restaurants within walking distance including some that served breakfast.

Parking was free but there was one night where there were many trucks in the parking lot so I am guessing they 'rent' out some spots to truckers too. That night it was a challenge finding an open spot to park.

I would stay closer to the main street the next time as it was a much nicer tourist area.

Room Tip: Suggest an upper level room in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel because it is a pet friendly property. When we made our reservation we were told that we would not be guaranteed a "non smoking" room. This was the first tip off that it may not have been our best choice of hotel. Upon check-in we were provided a non-smoking room and we were thrilled... until we saw the room. To be blunt, it looked like a set piece from a horror movie.

The wallpaper had been hastily painted over with dark brown paint. The front door had obviously been kicked in at some point and was never repaired (the deadbolt was broken and the door was slightly hanging on its hinges). The bathroom was in dire need of a reno (picture moldy black grout lines). At some point the pictures hanging above the beds had been removed and had been replaced by a much smaller picture centered between the beds, yet the original picture holes were not filled or repaired in any way. The towels had black stains on them and when we were given new towels, they also had black stains on them. The view from the window was onto the courtyard pool, making the room very, very dark, and not at all private.

We went to the front desk and described the state of the room, explaining that NO ONE should stay in that room, EVER. We were moved to a different room around the corner. It was not a pet friendly room and the manager on duty didn't seem thrilled to be giving us a non pet friendly room, but at least he did.

The new room, although heads and shoulders above the last, still wasn't great. Although the wallpaper hadn't been painted over, it also had the bizarre picture frame issue with unfilled holes in the walls above each bed. The bathroom was in slightly better shape, and we had a working dead-bolt. Still had black stains on the towels however and the view was still the pool courtyard (directly overlooking the hot tub this time). This is perhaps a great feature if you have kids and want to keep an eye on them in the pool. But for us it meant a very noisy stay with no privacy. Thankfully we had a lot of wine touring to do and managed to stay away from the hotel for most of our stay.

I would most definitely never stay at this hotel again and I'd be leery of ever staying at a Sandman based on this terrible experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old part of the hotel. Stay in the new tower, or give this property a miss entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
641 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Address: 2130 Harvey Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6G8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna is located in the heart of the beautiful Okanagan Valley; a world class destination featuring an endless variety of summer and winter recreational activities, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Sandman Hotel
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing